10/22 punkin amps 236 +9/170 pmps 223 Q on Bupe

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin's doing fine this morning - everything normal. i went btb after taking care of him and he'd disappeared downstairs by the time i got up.

retrieving the youngest daughter from college this morning so she can join us at a memorial service tonight. so it will be a busy day - it takes 4 hours to drive back and forth from her school. my son has promised to check punkin at +6 for me. not expecting him to go too low but i want to keep an eye on what this dose is doing for punkin.

happy caturday!
 
Re: 10/22 punkin amps 236

Have a safe trip. It's good you have your son who can be a back up tester for you.
Punkin, surf real nicely, k?
 
Re: 10/22 punkin amps 236

Glad Punkin is well and I've missed you at night, too. Can you imagine:
Ok Julie...now 1 tsp MC and then lather, rinse, repeat, OK???
BAAAHHHHAHHHAHHHA Lordy, I've missed you girl!

I've been so super exhausted getting ready for the boys to come but hopefully once they are gone and I'm caught up on rest, I'll see you at night again so we can do some WCG stalking :lol:

Glad you get to see DD but I'm so sorry for the circumstances.
 
Re: 10/22 punkin amps 236 +9/170 pmps 223

Hi Julie! Looks like Punkin is doing pretty well!! I know it'll be good to see the DD, though I don't know the circumstances of the memorial. I hope it all goes well.

And you're right...I'm very lucky Champ isn't an acro...but I would like more consistent, better numbers!!! I'll just keep my nose to the grindstone!
 
Re: 10/22 punkin amps 236 +9/170 pmps 223

the memorial service was for a 79 year old man who was still living life fully til the week before he died, so while we're sad and will miss him, he had a fabulous life and i am blessed to have known him. the service felt like a real celebration of life rather than a time of mourning. the world needs more people like him - he was one of a kind.

i'm trying to figure out this bupe. i want to hit the sweet spot with the bupe first and work the lantus around it. the vet suggested .2ml on the bupe, but said if it was too much his pupils would be dilated (which they've been dilated for more than a month from the tumor) and he might act out of it.

we started him on it thursday evening with a .2ml dose - his BG plummeted down into the 60's. that would seem to indicate that he is in some discomfort, which is causing his BG to rise. I thought it might have been too much, though, mainly because he didn't ask to be fed. maybe his internal alarm clock was just switched off by it, but we know how much punkin likes to eat, and for him to not ask to eat seemed like maybe the bupe dose was too much.

friday i decreased his dose to .15ml - a decrease of 25% - to see if we could relieve his pain without having him out of things. yesterday and today he seems pretty alert and is asking for food. he still doesn't want to be held, so now i'm thinking it's not enough. although this morning my DH gave it to him and i'm suspecting from his comments that he didn't really even try to get it at his mucous membranes. it absorbs through his gums, so you have to get it inside his lip but not so that he just swallows it, because that won't do anything.

tonight i increased his dose of bupe back up to a skinny .2ml.

i don't really know how bupe works - if no one sees this tonight i may ask tomorrow. do they get used to a dose? what i mean is, the first day he seemed a bit uber-relaxed like a noodle and his BG went down. will he get used to it and get less out-of-it as he continues on a dose?
 
Sorry I can't answer your bupe questions Julie, I just wanted to stop by and tell you I watched Punkin's video from yesterday and that is exactly how Leo acted and looked on bupe! Pupils all dilated and glassy looking, and major major purring too. When Leo had his dental the vet gave us .3 mls TID......that's a lot isn't it? Leo was pretty stoned and not eating and just sleeping, the vet told me it might be too much and thats how he would act, and to taper down to BID doses, so I gave .3mls twice a day and he was back to himself! The dosages are based on weight I think, and pain severity (so my vet told me) she told me she was giving the dosage for severe pain which was the .3ml, plus Leo weighs 18lbs. It seemed like Leo got used to it but then again I tapered down his dose too. I'm not sure if any of this will help you out, but I hope you find the answer for sweet Punkin!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top