Question: 10/27 Blackie PMPS 113, +3 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55090

Blackie's feeling fine; grooming, drinking water, chasing after anyone that gets too close to her. All is good. :-D

Question: Is Blackie a good candidate for more frequent dose reductions? The reason why I ask because with her previous dose reductions, and those rather low nadirs, I've had to fight her with almost every reduction to get her back to being stable by feeding HC. I appreciate any insight in this.

MY WISH: For God to continue to help heal Lori's broken heart... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help heal those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 10/27 Blackie AMPS 110

Great start for Blackie! Glad she is feeling so good. Raining and 40 here this morning. Yay!! Hope you are getting some too. Have a great day Angela!
 
Re: 10/27 Blackie AMPS 110, +2.5 65, +3 66, +4 66, +5 65

Hi guys ... what a nice run of numbers for miss blackie .. No wonder she's sleeping it takes a lot of energy to beat off the other kitty intruders :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 10/27 Blackie AMPS 110 +2.5 65 +3 66 +4 66 +5 65 +7 98

+7 98

She came into the office. I heard her at the LB, and she decided to seek me out. I guess I can't hide for long. :lol:
 
Re: Question: 10/27 Blackie PMPS 113

I'm not sure I understand your question. Dose reductions are given when:
Tight Regulation (Tilly) Protocol said:
  • The cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week,
  • If the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate day. (We've modified this to allow for one drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat.)
  • If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl
The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

It's not a matter of how fast or slow reductions are given. It's a matter of when the numbers meet the criteria based on the protocol. If you're fighting to keep numbers from dropping, you can reduce by 0.25u vs. shaving the dose.
 
Re: Question: 10/27 Blackie PMPS 113

SHE'S LOOKING SO GOOD!

And want to thank you for the peroxide tip in Binks' condo...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top