11/1 Gracie PMPS 239 NEW DOSE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

10/31 Recap:
AMPS: 91 10th cycle 1.25u lev
+3: 145
+5: 173
+6.5: 161
+9.5: 147
PMPS: 156 11th cycle 1.25u lev
+3: 197
+5: 192
+8: 155
+10.5: 86


Good afternoon Lantus Land!!! Another late day for us....dealing with DM issues and getting my DS to TX to care for her. :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:

Gracie had a blue bounce yesterday and started clearing during the night. She caught me off guard this morning....her AMPS was about the same as her +10.5 but even still I checked her at +1.5 and she was at 72....surfing from AMPS but I knew she had to onset so I gave her some 8% and waited until +3 to recheck her as there was nothing to tell me that she was going to head downwards....but downwards she went and gave me a 33 at +3!! So she got some 8% and karo then and at +3.5 and now she has decided to zoom zoom to 132 @ +6.5. I hope she slows down and turns around or at least doesn't bounce into the next floor. She has earned a reduction but I am only going to shave it and probably will shoot through any bounce....may even shoot early if she really zooms up.

She, Tobey, and Gus had a fabulous time at the party last night. Gracie's little soft paw pads were a little scruffy from all the dancing she did with Tarragon and BigMac!! Tobey had "cimmamum" infused pumpkin cake crumbles on his whiskers and all through his fur. Thanks to all (esp Moonie and Rusty) for helping old Gus on and off the bus. They were all very teary-eyed but happy that they got to see our sweet GA Teddi through the veil as well as all the other LL GA sugarbabies and civvies. Butthead looked quite dashing as Van Gogh. I wish I had been with them to see Teddi......we miss her so much....still look for her everywhere and her presence is so palpable sometimes that it is uncanny.

I posted Gracie's labs as a tab on her SS. Took me a while to go back and enter the last year's worth of labs but it's in there now. I love how her triglycerides have come way down and I attribute that to the fish oil we give her :-D

Hope everyone has a great day today. And Gracie....come back down Lil Stinka....your liver does not need to chime in today.
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105

What a way to clear the bounce! Slow down please Miss Gracie! She is still looking really nice though!

Wow, I just got my order from iHerb w/ the supplements for the raw recipe. I only ordered on Sunday! I may call you later to discuss things.
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105

Hi Marje, wow with that 33 and looks like she came up nicely. I hope your Mom wasn't hurt too seriously, and she recovers okay. From what you've said, she sounds very strong willed, so that's all in her favor. I hope Gracie now surfs and not too much drama. Wasn't that a great party! Maggie said she really enjoyed meeting Gus and also seeing your sweet Teddi thru the veil. Have a nice restful evening if Gracie allows. :smile:
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105

HOLY CROW, LIL G MONEY!!!


AND...

sending vines to your mom...

Ann & Maggie11 said:
I hope your Mom wasn't hurt too seriously, and she recovers okay. From what you've said, she sounds very strong willed, so that's all in her favor.

hhmmm...a strong-willed woman in your family???
amazing :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140

Still surfing the blues....hope she comes back down for PS. I would have thought the karo would have worn off and we didn't give her that much 8%.

Linda: yes...alot of up and down for recently but all things considered on Gracie's previous journey with Lantus, these are pretty flat numbers for her! :lol: :lol: :lol: And settle she did!

Ann: I know....totally unexpected. Paws crossed that this little dip did not cause her liver to freak out and you know what. Cool on the iherb. Please call any time.

Ann: she did but I gave her .5 ml karo to get her up. I don't like fooling around in the 30s and I want her out of them quickly. DM has alot going on....she didn't fall again...it's residual pain. She's extremely strong willed. She makes me seem like a total wimp :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I always ask her "why can't you just be a sweet little old lady?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Celi: yeah....she likes to leave a dose with a bang! Thanks for the vines for DM....yours, too. Oh yeah...our family has p-l-e-n-t-y of strong-willed women!
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140

What a day Miss Gracie has had. That must have been a little shocker this morning when you got a 77.

Hope your mom is ok and sending lots of prayers your way.
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140

Hi Guys,
I saw that 33 and thought: whoa! Good thing you checked on her!! Let's hope the bounce remains in the blues. We all seem to be working on finding that "just-right" dose

Rusty reports that Gracie and Tobey had a great time last night. Gracie was the queen of the dance floor, and Tobey looked so much like a lemur that no one noticed that he ate all the "cinnamamum" cake. Glad that they and Gus got home safely.

Enjoy the evening. Sending healing vines to your mom,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140 +10 225 ??

Question for any experienced lev users:

What do you think about me checking her at +11 and if she's still going up, shoot her early? What would be my cutoff number for NOT shooting early? I was going to shoot through the bounce so can I shoot her current dose 1.25u until she clears the bounce like I did with lantus and then take her down to a sk1.25u or is it not good to shoot early AND shoot the current dose when they've earned a reduction?

Also...can I get her back on schedule by shooting late 30 mins tomorrow night and 30 mins the next night? The 7/7 shooting time really works nicely for us.

Thanks very much!!

Georgia: not really surprised with the 77 as we were monitoring her last night and she was coming down. It's like her to drop at PS. But when she was surfing at +1.5 and I gave her something to bump that number up a bit before onset, the +3 shocked me!!

Ella: Tobey!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Sending healing vines YOUR way, Ella!
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140 +10 225 ??

That's a tough one! I'm also feeling my way, but I think I would take the reduction this evening (Gracie earned it) and shoot at the usual time. WWJD? Maybe she or Libby or Sienne will give their opinions.

Good luck!!!

Ella
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140 +10 225

Thanks Ella. Did a +11 and she is the same as +10 so I'm not going to shoot early.

We'll see what she is at PMPS before we determine whether we will shoot through the bounce. That's a tough call since lev has such a late onset.
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140 +10 225

Nice numbers Miss Gracie. I wish I could help with the dose question, but I can barely muddle through Lantus! ;-)

Our PC told us that Zener was wanting fish oil, so we got some and he acted like we were poisoning him. We contacted out PC again and she suggested a brand for animals. So, now we have it and he still won't eat it. We've even tried it in pill pockets, his new fav. How do you get Gracie to take the oil?

So glad that Teddi made an appearance at the party. I'm sure he knows how much all his feline friends miss him too. :YMHUG:
 
Welllll I was going to shoot through the bounce but this is the problem with lev....she might not zoom zoom until after +3. BUT I just didn't want to take a chance of giving her the 1.25u that gave her the 33 today and have her come back down fast and low. That would be like Gracie. So...I took Ella's advice and shot on time and shot the reduced dose. I just shaved....sk1.25u...tiny drop. half drop. Gracie....you can do this....just ease on back down into blue little girl!

Anne: We use the 2Docs Essential Fatty Acids for Small Animals...I think that's the name. Anyway, Gracie would not eat it in her food, lick it off our fingers...nuttin. So we bought some bonito flakes which she LOVES and I just squirt it on those and nom nom nom down the hatch!!
 
Tee hee... with all this attention on our dearly departed across the veil, of COURSE our little LL Princess would make sure our attention was diverted back where it belongs!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Message received, Lil' Stinka!!!

Hope you all are having a wonderful night!
 
Hi guys - no clue on the Lev question. Looks like you decided not to shoot early. I think I would have done as Ella suggested, as you ended up doing. Shaving too is good I think IMHO. I hope she holds the reduction, and that she can continue with the good numbers.... unlike some other kitty I know. :roll:

I too was going to ask about the fish oil, as I would like to try that wit Elsa... wondered how much you used etc. I see you answered Anne, so I will look for that. I just had no clue on what and how much to give.

I hope all goes well with your mom.

and... what nice Numbers for Gracie - wow on the 33, and a good catch! Bet that woke you up. :-D Good luck with the new dose! nice on the inclusion of Gracie's labs with her SS stuff. I know what a pain it was to bring them all in - I remember when I added Mannie's. But it sure is helpful to see it all in one place!
 
Come on Gracie, you can do it this time. You said so w/ that 33, didn't you?

Sorry I didn't call earlier, between our shot time, your shot time , your dinner time our dinner time an sorting out the printouts, you must be in bed by now.Tomorrow is another day. Ni Ni
 
Re: 11/1 Gracie AMPS 77 +3 33 +5 105 +8.5 140 +10 225 ??

sorry, between work and family matters I never made it back on the computer last night, but wanted to answer your questions because they're good ones. it looks like you decided not to shoot early, but i wanted to reply in case history repeats itself.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
What do you think about me checking her at +11 and if she's still going up, shoot her early? What would be my cutoff number for NOT shooting early? I was going to shoot through the bounce so can I shoot her current dose 1.25u until she clears the bounce like I did with lantus and then take her down to a sk1.25u or is it not good to shoot early AND shoot the current dose when they've earned a reduction?

you don't want to shoot the current dose early when a kitty has obviously earned a reduction that cycle. you can do one or the other:

  • shoot through the bounce with the current dose at the regular shot time
or
  • shoot the reduced dose an hour or two early (never shoot more than 2 hours early)

obviously, the third option is to take the reduction and shoot at the regular shot time.

there isn't any cut off number per say. the idea behind shooting an hour or two early is to get insulin into the cat sooner than later because you know the numbers are already too high and/or will just go higher. since you're looking at approximately another 4 hours after the shot before onset occurs with levemir, why not shoot an hour or two early when you're already seeing a substantial rise? it's the substantial rise that you're looking for when thinking about shooting early.

edited to add: here's the tricky part...
what one would consider a "substantial rise" is relative to the individual cat. for some cats it would mean a rise into the 200s or 300s. a substantial rise for a tightly regulated kitty who is carb sensitive may only mean a rise of 20 - 30 points. this cat may still be in green numbers and shooting early might be ok. ECID. it's all about the individual cat and caregiver... knowing the cat's response to food and insulin... availability to monitor... and experience and comfort level of the caregiver. clear as mud? :-D

Also...can I get her back on schedule by shooting late 30 mins tomorrow night and 30 mins the next night? The 7/7 shooting time really works nicely for us.
shooting late to get back on schedule isn't a problem.



hope this helps! congrats on the reduction!



for those following this thread...
shooting early is a technique not recommended for newbies. however, it is a tool which is available under certain circumstances. please ask about it if you think it's something that will benefit your cat in a specific situation. experienced members will assist you. monitoring closely to see how your cat responds is a must when deviating from the tight regulation protocol.
 
Jill:

Thank you so much for that wonderful explanation. So in hindsight, I probably should have shot the reduced dose early and maybe could have kept her a little lower than she went up. I was looking for a zoom zoom number like she used to do; while she did have a good increase (90 mg/dl) from her +8.5 number, I wasn't sure if that was enough or what she would do after. Although I should know that with lev, she would typically come up and then go back down. She's been pretty flat since +4 last night.

I appreciate you taking the time to give us a great learning lesson. I totally understand.....next time... we'll do it! Thanks again, Jill.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top