Anne & Zener GA
Member Since 2011
After "one of those nights", it's a bouncy Caturday. flip_cat
Yesterday
11/04/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 259, 3rd cycle @f0.75
+2 271
~5 184
+10 99, 4 pill pockets with 3 mg zobaline & 2.5mg pepcid ac
PMPS 207, 4th cycle @f0.75u
+2 86
+2.5 77
+2.8 88
+3.1 92
+3.8 83
+4.3 105
+5 101
+6 135
+7.3 202
Today
11/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 437, 5th cycle @0.75u, 1.55oz 8%
+2 384, 1.1oz 8%
Not surprised by the big bounce after last night's cycle and good fuds fest. We opted to keep shooting the f0.75u through the bounce and not take the reduction yet. My question is - last night, Zener earned a reduction dropping into the 70s on the alpha trak (40s on human meter) and we had to work pretty hard with HC and treats to keep him up. But, we have had a hard time with him holding reductions since we've been below 1u insulin. We've bounced up and down on the current dose a couple of times. Would love advice on when we should take the reduction this time - when it looks like bounce is breaking, or should we have him earn a reduction more than once before reducing the dose?
Also, I have a queestion about Zener's perisistent weight loss. We weight Zener every week since his diagnosis. Since his transition to wet food, he has a steady weekly loss averaging about 1 oz and today was no different - 12lbs 3.5oz, down 1.5oz from last week. He seems so much smaller than his 14+ lbs 8 months ago. Our vet told us several months ago 12 lbs would be a good weight for him, and we were shocked. Now he is almost there. His appetite has been a consistent issue and we use fortiflora, pepcid to help with his appy, we have not been able to increase his amount of food very much. Is this weight loss something we should be worried about and if so are there any options to increase his caloric intake?
We got about 3" of snow last night, so snow shoveling is the order of the day. The kitties are not volunteering. ;-)
Yesterday
11/04/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 259, 3rd cycle @f0.75
+2 271
~5 184
+10 99, 4 pill pockets with 3 mg zobaline & 2.5mg pepcid ac
PMPS 207, 4th cycle @f0.75u
+2 86
+2.5 77
+2.8 88
+3.1 92
+3.8 83
+4.3 105
+5 101
+6 135
+7.3 202
Today
11/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 437, 5th cycle @0.75u, 1.55oz 8%
+2 384, 1.1oz 8%
Not surprised by the big bounce after last night's cycle and good fuds fest. We opted to keep shooting the f0.75u through the bounce and not take the reduction yet. My question is - last night, Zener earned a reduction dropping into the 70s on the alpha trak (40s on human meter) and we had to work pretty hard with HC and treats to keep him up. But, we have had a hard time with him holding reductions since we've been below 1u insulin. We've bounced up and down on the current dose a couple of times. Would love advice on when we should take the reduction this time - when it looks like bounce is breaking, or should we have him earn a reduction more than once before reducing the dose?
Also, I have a queestion about Zener's perisistent weight loss. We weight Zener every week since his diagnosis. Since his transition to wet food, he has a steady weekly loss averaging about 1 oz and today was no different - 12lbs 3.5oz, down 1.5oz from last week. He seems so much smaller than his 14+ lbs 8 months ago. Our vet told us several months ago 12 lbs would be a good weight for him, and we were shocked. Now he is almost there. His appetite has been a consistent issue and we use fortiflora, pepcid to help with his appy, we have not been able to increase his amount of food very much. Is this weight loss something we should be worried about and if so are there any options to increase his caloric intake?
We got about 3" of snow last night, so snow shoveling is the order of the day. The kitties are not volunteering. ;-)