11/11 Bailey PMPS 123, +1 97, +2 96, +4 69, +6 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
Good morning Lantus Land,

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56186

Bailey is at 163 this morning. confused_cat I think I should probably shoot but I am wondering if I should wait and get another test first?
I noticed this morning that her ears have little scabs on them :sad: I'm not very good at poking I guess. I would like to give her the day off from extra testing since the weekend is coming up. She has been trying to get away from me when I get out the lancet... poor kitty.
She was a little pukey this morning... threw up a hairball and a little half-digested food about an hour ago.

Anyway, happy Friday!
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163 - shot or no shot?

Hi Melissa,

I am a relative newbie too and can't give advice. I see on Bailey's ss that you have given her shot at even lower bgs. I'm wondering if you are more concerned about her being pukey than just her 163 bg?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163 - shot or no shot?

are you able to monitor her today?

that's a high enough number to be safe shooting, imo, always given the caveat that you must monitor. every time you change the game plan of shooting the regular dosage on time, seems to me that it will set you back in progress. you'll get back on track, but if your goal is to have her go off of insulin, or even to simply feel better, staying the course is the way to get there. the more you are consistent, the better it is for her body, the more effective the lantus is and the sooner you see the benefits of using lantus.

perhaps i'm not the one to answer about a day off from testing. there are 2 reasons i would never skip - one is that we need to know more about how bailey's body responds to the insulin. she doesn't have enough tests yet that we can say we know much. knowing more let's you predict for the next similar circumstance. i think of the ss like a jigsaw puzzle - the more pieces that are there, the clearer the picture becomes. if you shoot the 163 now, and at +3 bailey is at 130, and her nadir is about 75 at +6, then the next time you are faced with the decision on shooting a 163 you will have a very good idea of what might happen in the next 6 hours. right now you simply don't have enough data.

the other reason is for safety. personally, i just don't think it's safe to not test. without testing you don't know how low they go. one time very early on i tested punkin at +3 and he was 35 or so. nearly caused my eyes to fall out of my head!

i think we people overestimate what their ears likely feel. consider when a cat is in a fight - the ears are always the casualty. punkin has had as many as 20 pokes in a day and he still comes to be tested. it simply can't be that bad. the things you can do to help - use the neosporin with pain relief and always make sure you apply pressure to stop the bleeding before it bruises.

unless there she is obviously sick (not a hairball) and acting sick, i wouldn't worry about the pukus. doesn't sound significant.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163

Thanks guys, just second-guessing myself today. I am going to go ahead and feed/shoot. DH can keep an eye on her this afternoon. I think we will just get a +6 and PMPS today... and save the extra pokes for this weekend when I am off work.
I pet her and give her treats at testing time, and she likes that. She has just been flinching and trying to get away when I actually go for the poke, and I worry that I'm hurting her. It may just be because I get so nervous. I don't know.
Oh well.. hope everyone is having a good day!
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163 - shot or no shot?

FWIW, Donny went through a phase of having a lumpy/scabbed ear from poking. I felt horrible about it. But it healed within a few weeks and looks perfectly normal now. Whether the ear just got used to it, or I got better at it, or changed lancet types, who knows. I never used neosporin or ointment either. I do know that I use thinner lancets now than when I started, but generally people here recommend the thicker ones initially so it's easier to get blood.

I agree this is a safe number to shoot, if you can test. Or decrease the dose just a tad if you are nervous.

MJ&Donovan

edit to add: you're both still very early in the game. You will get less nervous. Bailey will feel better. The "Oh crap, here comes the pokey lady again" behavior will decrease. Initially Donovan was very suspicious of me, and then developed the uncanny ability to disappear right before shot time. That stopped. Give it time.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163

you're right mj - i think punkin tried to escape me for about 2 weeks, then he knew what was coming and there was no getting out if it. so he gave in. he also liked that chicken treat! i'm sure that has a lot to do with him tolerating the testing. he LOVES his boiled chicken! :lol:

they get used to it - i think all of the cats do - i'm not aware of any that are skittish after a while.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163

Melissa: one number that I think you ALWAYS need to get is a +2. In general, a +2 number should be roughly the same as the PS. If it is not (it's lower), you could be in for an active cycle and you probably need to do more than just a +6. There has been many a time when a +2 saved Gracie from going to low because I caught her early. Some cats are "divers" on lantus and you don't yet have enough data to see if Bailey will be one. If she is, you'll learn when to be vigilant for that dive. Hopefully, she is going to be a level kitty but you never know.

So even on lighter testing days and days when she is higher....it's always good to get a +2 to start with after the PS.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

DH forgot & was late with the +6.. we have a +7 instead. Not bad, eh? He is going to keep an eye on her tonight.
Marje, I have not really been doing a +2 very often. I will have to work on that. I hope she is not a diver.
Hopefully we both get used to testing soon. It has already gotten a lot easier! I just felt like such a jerk when I felt the scabs on her ears today :cry:
Just a few more hours and I am free for the weekend!
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

Just keep up with the ointment. I put it on Gracie's ears after every poke. well...first I hold a damp cloth to her ear very tightly to prevent bruising and then put a tiny dab of ointment on. It keeps her ears soft.

Are you going to shoot at 12 tonight or are you still on the 12:30 schedule? If her number is low, don't feed, post and ask for help. I'll set my clock to check on you for whichever time you are shooting.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

Hi Melissa,
A little Neosporin creme with pain relief applied to Bailey's ear at night will help it heal overnight. I prefer the creme to the ointment because it absorbs quickly and is not greasy. Are you using the lancet in a lancet device, or are you free-handing? There are proponents of each method. I have tried both and found that the lancet device is the better choice for me because it delivers a poke that is always uniform and very quick (freehanding I often didn't poke fast enough and had to be careful not to tear the skin). I use the thin, 30-gauge lancets and set the lancet device on either 2 or 3 (somewhere in the middle).

It all gets easier. Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

I will be testing at 12:30, I will post my result. Thanks for checking in on me!
I have been putting Neosporin pain relief on the ear before I poke it. I am free-handing the lancet - the lancet device was harder for me to use and she doesn't like the clicking noise. Maybe I am not poking fast enough. I don't think I am tearing the skin, except when she tries to bolt at the exact moment when I am poking! :-D
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

Ok...that's 11:30 my time so I'll check in. I know I'll be up as Gracie's last meal is at midnight my time.

We tried the device, too, and Gracie did not like the clicking by her ear. I wish she had let us use it but no way!! :lol: I guess I could try again but now we're all used to this.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

somebody suggested to me that we click the lancet device by punkin's ear frequently, not connected with poking, to desensitize him from the noise. it seemed to help - he doesn't mind the noise at all. we set the lancet at 4 when we started and still didn't always get blood. sometimes it went all the way through, sadly. now we have it at 1 and it always bleeds. i think in every way this gets easier as you get more practice.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91

Hi Melissa

Just wanted you to know I'm here whenever you get a chance to post Bailey's +12.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

Hi Marje,
PMPS = 103. What do you think?
I don't want her to get off track by skipping the shot.. but man, that's pretty low.
I can set an alarm and check her tonight if I need to.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

You have a couple options:

1. you've shot a 105 before and this is the same number basically. You can shoot but you will need to do a +1 and +2 and then perhaps additional test from there depending on what she's doing. Normally I would stay
up but I'm still haggling with my cold so I wouldn't be able to walk you through low numbers.....

2. you can stall a bit and check her every 20 minutes (do not feed) and then when she starts to rise, you can shoot her 1u. Still test at +1 and +2 and go from there. The only issue with stalling is you have to make it up
in either 15 mins/cycle or 30 min/day until you are back to your normal time.

3. you can shoot a BCS (reduced dose) now but you will still need to monitor her as she may still have some shed action from this morning.

4. you can skip....not the best option.

What do you feel comfortable with?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

I am thinking option 2 or 3. If I go with a reduced dose what would you suggest? (Her normal dose is 1 unit)
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

If you shoot a BCS, you could go with either .75u or .5u. Again....you still have to test because she'll still have the 1u shed but she "might" give you some higher numbers...ECID.

Either option 2 or 3 is going to require you to test tonight until you know she is at safe numbers. Normally, I would have no problem doing the sleep/test thing with you and getting up to check on you. But I just
will not be able to due to this cold and Gracie has kept me up a few nights in a row. She's giving me a tiny break tonight.

There is a link in my signature block to "How to Handle Low Numbers" that would tell you what to do if she starts to come down below 50. You have HC food (gravy), karo, and plenty of strips right?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

I totally understand, and I appreciate you walking me through this now. Yes, I have all those supplies. And I understand the carbs are short acting, so to keep testing if I need to use them.
It's already been 10 minutes so I think I will wait another 10 and re-test. If she is going up at all I will feed and shoot 0.5 units. I will get a +1 and +2 and go from there. Don't worry & go get some sleep :smile:
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

Ok...I'm really sorry. I think this is the first time I've ever had to crap out on someone.

Yes...if she gives you a low number, feed a tsp of HC gravy (you don't want to get too much food in her), and retest in 20 mins. If she is not above 50, then lather, rinse, repeat....in other words, do it again.

If she drops below 50 or doesn't come up with the HC gravy, then give her just a bit of karo...like a drop or so with the gravy and retest in 20.

Once you get her up, you must continue to test until she has gone about two hours without food/karo and you've gotten two rising numbers.

Does that sound ok....are you sure you'll be alright?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

Gosh MJ...hate for you to do that...it's already late your time. It's totally up to Melissa.

Melissa: a few other quick things. The 103 is your +12; PMPS will be the number you actually shoot.

If you shoot 30 mins late tonight, then you can shoot 15 mins early tomorrow morning and 15 mins early tomorrow night OR shoot the same time tomorrow morning as tonight and then make it all up tomorrow night by shooting 30 mins early to get you on your normal time.

I'll check in with you in the morning....actually, I'm still feeding Gracie her +5 so I'll check back in before I hit the sack and see if you have your next number tonight.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

I'll wait a bit longer. I'm a night owl anyway, and no work tomorrow so I can sleep in :cool:
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, PMPS 103

Ok, I tested again and she was at 95. I know that's practically the same number, but I think I am going to hold off for now. I want to try and shoot something tonight but not until she is going up a little.
Go ahead and go to bed. We will be OK. My hubby is here & awake & we live 5 minutes from an emergency vet (not that I think it will come to that!)
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103

Ok....and MJ said she'd hang out a little longer so keep posting your numbers for her.

Her 95 will be a +12.5, etc. Again...my apologies. I thought earlier I'd be ok but I think I'm actually running a temp and I'm on my own the next three days/nights.

Hope you all get some rest. And I hope Bailey has a lovely surf tonight.

See you tomorrow. Thanks for understanding.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103

You shot the full 1U this morning, yes? It's not on your SS.
You did shoot a 105 on 11/1, but if you want to feel safer, shoot 0.5U tonight.
Will you be able to get more data over the weekend? Curious to see if she stays nice and flat and those nasty pinks/reds don't crop up again.

MJ
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103

MJ, yes I am hoping to get a good curve on her this weekend. And I don't really trust that 105 on my spreadsheet... I was really new at poking and that meter was kinda wonky. I am thinking 0.5 is the way to go. I will test her again in 10 minutes and post the #.
ETA: I did shoot the full 1 unit this morning, it's on the SS now! Thanks!
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103

OK, I'll wait and see what the next # is.
I asked Anne and Muffin to keep an eye on you after that since she's on the west coast.
You could give a high carb snack after shooting as a pre-emptive strike if you wish. It's really tough to predict what her numbers are gonna do. A nice flat high green surf would be ideal.

MJ
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103

Hi Melissa. I can stay for a while if you need help or moral support or just a pat on back!
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

Hello, Anne!
Ok, she is 123 now. Gonna feed (other kitties are getting impatient!) and shoot the BCS dose. I will continue to post my #s but if you need to go to bed, I think we are going to be fine.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

Ok, I'll stick around as long as I can stay awake...Are you shooting .5u then?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

123 without feeding is a good sign. Hopefully she won't give you any surprises.
Thanks for stepping in, Anne.
Night...

I-)
MJ
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

Yeah I just gave 0.5 units. Better than nothing but hopefully won't bottom her out. So onset is usually around 3 hours with Lantus, right?
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

I wanna say more like 2 hrs, but ECID. And that's if I remember correctly :roll:
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey AMPS 163, +7 91, +12 103, +12.3 95, +13 123

Just a reminder, the 123 will be your pmps...you can put the other tests in the comments column on your ss or in the +11 box like "+12 103 +12.5 95". I'm here waiting for your +1, but I'll probably have to go to bed after that, unless something dramatic is happening.
 
Re: 11/11 Bailey PMPS 123, +1 97

My +1 is 97. Not what I was expecting but not really dramatic. I am going to try and sleep a little but I will set an alarm to get a +2. Good thing tomorrow is Saturday!
Thanks for hanging out with me tonight, I appreciate it!
 
Great job last night, Melissa!!

I feel bad that I couldn't stay up but glad MJ and Anne were there. Looks like you had a super night!!! Great curve management!

Let us know if you have any questions this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top