11/26 Mikey AMPS +10/366 PMPS 313 +1/279 +4/292 +10/291

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248

in answer to your question from Mikey's Condo Yesterday the choice in food depends on whether or not mikey needs to gain weight.

a little bit of carbs is ok - if you consistently feed mikey the same foods your insulin will become the right dose for that amount of carbs. what i feed punkin most of the time is about 4% carbs. if i changed it to consistently be 8% carbs, i'd have to tweak the insulin dose to get to the right amount for 8% carbs.

kinda depends on what you want to do, but you don't need to (and i would guess probably shouldn't) try to get to no carb diet.

your subject line is perfect. :-D
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248

Thanks Julie for all your answers :-D

I will be gone for about 7 hours later today from around 3-10. Anything I need to do? Should I leave food for him, wet? He seems to eat it as soon as I put it down. I don't think it will last very long.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248

Hi Jennifer:

Hope you saw my message on yesterday's condo (I posted it this morning in response to your +3). Sorry about the typos...I wrote it on my phone while I was in bed :lol: :lol:

Subject line looks great. Sorry I missed your question on the food. I agree with Julie that it is better to stick with a food that is under 5% carbs. What I found out by feeding the 0-1% carbs for Gracie (remember, ECID) is that it wasn't enough to control her numbers and she was diving like crazy. Mikey doesn't seem to be a diver but that could be because of what you are feeding him so if you are going to change from 8% carbs, I'd go to something in the 4-5% first and see how he does and if his numbers stay stable.

I would leave some food out for him if you are gone that long today....any chance DF can get a test in? Alot of folks use automatic timed feeders so the kitty doesn't eat it all right away.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248 +2/287

BG at 1:16 287

DF is working so he can't test while I'm out. I will leave Mikey a little food before I go and get an out the door test and make sure I test him as soon as I walk in the door tonight. I read a story somewhere about a woman who went away and when she got home didn't test her cat right away. Long story short, the cat was low and by the time she unpacked and tested they had to rush the cat to the vet and the cat didn't make it. It's a sad story but I'm glad I came across it and was also told by someone in LL the importance of getting an out/in the door test because now I know.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248 +2/287 +3/300

I saw that, too, and unfortunately, it isn't an isolated event; however, most of the ones I have read about, the kitty was not on lantus. In this case, she didn't say. Even still, a kitty can hypo on lantus/lev so it's not worth
the gamble. Glad you got that +3 as you headed out. This may be a surf day for Mikey.

Have a nice time....will check in with you later.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248 +2/287 +3/300

There have been two cases in the past month where the poor bean came home to find kitty in hypo crisis. The first doesn't seem to have been a lantus kitty, but the latest one (Jasper) was. Both tragic cases, but hypo's can happen with any insulin, so absolutely the "in the door and test" practice is a great idea.
Carl
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS 248 +2/287 +3/300 +10/366

I'm just glad I came across the story because if I didn't I don't know if I would have realized the importance of and "in" and "out" the door test. At least, though the stories are horrible, it caught my eye and I can say I learned from it.,which for me is important. Even "bad" things happen for a reason.

So I came home after 6 hours his BG was 366 at +10. I wasn't expecting it to be so high. Any thoughts? I'm still figuring out the whole #'s thing. Marjorie, when you say
This may be a surf day for Mikey.
that can be even though his numbers are high(er)?
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +10/366 PMPS 313 +1/279

Hi Jennifer:

To answer your question, yes....a kitty can surf in blue and I thought Mikey might come down and hang there. Looks like he had other ideas!

And to respond to your question on Gracie's condo...yes she was bouncing but not because of the reduction. She bounced because on Thanksgiving night, she fell from 193 to 20 in two hours because her shed was so full. Bouncing can be caused by quick dives and/or lower numbers the liver is not used to even if the numbers aren't that low. The liver releases glucagon and counterregulatory hormones to raise the BG to what it views as a "safe" number. If a cat has been hanging out in the 300s, the liver becomes accustomed to that and so any lower numbers causes it to react. As the liver gets used to the lower numbers, the bouncing often will stop. For Gracie, she has really minimized her bouncing since being on levemir but that fast drop and being that low really got her liver going.

Normally, cats on levemir do not onset until +4 and so I often do not check her until +3 or +4; she nadirs late...often at +12 or even after I have given her her next shot. I only checked her at +2 because I had been gone and wanted to see how much she was continuing to come down. Gracie likes to keep it real ;-)

It looks like Mikey is bouncing tonight. It would be nice to know what they bounce off of.....sometimes it seems to come out of nowhere. When he's this high at PS, you just need to get a +2 and see where that is in relation to his PS. Tonight...just grab your before bedtime test and then what you normally get when you wake up.

I think a couple more cycles and we see what he is doing but it's looking to me like he may need a little more insulin shortly but don't raise his dose just yet. We'll let you know.

Hope you get some rest. Ni Ni.
 
Re: 11/26 Mikey AMPS +10/366 PMPS 313 +1/279

Mikey's appetite has risen with his #'s. He woke me up pawing at the door and meowing really loud (his meow is like a moan. almost like talking,kind of scary and was super hungry. I jumped out of bed because I thought I heard him throwing up and got so nervous, but he wasn't. (when i came home earlier today he had caughed up a hair ball) I took his BG which was 292 just because I was already awake.

What do you consider a before bedtime test? Since I shoot at 11am the PMPS or the +1 is usually the last before I go to bed, then I either set the alarm and try to get up or like tonight he woke me up.

Also, I know you mentioned the possibility of raising his insulin. Should I try a lower carb food first? I think I read somewhere that the food carb % should match the insulin dose, or something like that. It's late so I might just be tired ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top