Barn Cats R Us
Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57423
Thank you all, for your concern, and guidance. You are all helpful, and funny...and funny is always helpful. I'm managing a house of 12 pets; 10-former "Barn Cats", and 2-"Drooler's...who hate me for all the attention the FD's are getting. Sometimes one, or two, will crash & burn just to get my attention. So, I'm often "running late", and sometimes "disappear", to have my nineteenth nervous breakdown, chest pains, and/or possible mini-strokes. This is one of "those" days.
Concern: Marilyn needs about 150 mL's SQ LR fluids; which I'll be giving shortly. I've been giving them PRN as noted on her SS. My concern is regarding protocol with SQ fluids, and the Lantus "shed". The "Health" folks advised giving fluids on the opposite side of the last insulin site; however, this was during Humulin usage. I think I read somewhere that SQ fluids, and Lantus, don't play nice together. I've been keeping her Lantus on the left side, in preparation for any unfortunate, future, fluid needs. Any knowledge in this area will be most welcomed. Thanks everyone. Deb
11/28 Marilyn:
AMPS = 444
+2 = 445
+2 Ketones = 0.7 mmol/L
+5 = 339
PMPS = 494
+2 = 507
+5 = 482
+7.5 = 175 mL SQ LR Fluids
Couldn't wait (or PM anyone) for advice on the fluids. Marilyn was "crunchy dry" & showing some Ketones. Clark was "crashing & burning" within minutes of me typing that description above. Basically, I had to get her hydrated before I had two basket cases. I made sure her fluids fell to the right...with her Lantus sites all on the left. Don't know if that helped the "Lantus vs. fluids" situation...but it helped her to walk funny.
+8 = 468
Thank you all, for your concern, and guidance. You are all helpful, and funny...and funny is always helpful. I'm managing a house of 12 pets; 10-former "Barn Cats", and 2-"Drooler's...who hate me for all the attention the FD's are getting. Sometimes one, or two, will crash & burn just to get my attention. So, I'm often "running late", and sometimes "disappear", to have my nineteenth nervous breakdown, chest pains, and/or possible mini-strokes. This is one of "those" days.
Concern: Marilyn needs about 150 mL's SQ LR fluids; which I'll be giving shortly. I've been giving them PRN as noted on her SS. My concern is regarding protocol with SQ fluids, and the Lantus "shed". The "Health" folks advised giving fluids on the opposite side of the last insulin site; however, this was during Humulin usage. I think I read somewhere that SQ fluids, and Lantus, don't play nice together. I've been keeping her Lantus on the left side, in preparation for any unfortunate, future, fluid needs. Any knowledge in this area will be most welcomed. Thanks everyone. Deb
11/28 Marilyn:
AMPS = 444
+2 = 445
+2 Ketones = 0.7 mmol/L
+5 = 339
PMPS = 494
+2 = 507
+5 = 482
+7.5 = 175 mL SQ LR Fluids
Couldn't wait (or PM anyone) for advice on the fluids. Marilyn was "crunchy dry" & showing some Ketones. Clark was "crashing & burning" within minutes of me typing that description above. Basically, I had to get her hydrated before I had two basket cases. I made sure her fluids fell to the right...with her Lantus sites all on the left. Don't know if that helped the "Lantus vs. fluids" situation...but it helped her to walk funny.
+8 = 468