12/3 Simon PMPS 305 Question please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
After posting a nice green number last night, Simon has bounced up into the yellows again this morning. Hoping for another good cycle today with some blues and greens possibly? I hate to think about increasing his dose again but since he had those nice numbers yesterday, I am going to wait and see what happens today.

No complaints from Simon today. 4 out of 5 P's in place. He is too lazy to play right now and is snuggled up by the heating vent in his bed under the kitchen table.

Thinking of Rocket and Claudia this morning and praying the vet visit goes well and prayers to all our LL kitties and beans going thru difficult times. And many, many prayers for Jill and Mike.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57730
 
Re: 12/3 Simon AMPS 277

Hopefully Simon will clear this bounce quickly and stick more with the blues and greens. I don't blame him for snuggling up with the heating vent. My guys do that, too...and if I were smaller, I'd join them :lol: !

Have a great Saturday, Georgia!

Amy
 
Re: 12/3 Simon AMPS 277 +6 254

Hi Georgia, hope Simon comes down into some nice blues and greens. A lot of kitties here are all snuggly today with the temps being cooler. Have a nice weekend.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon AMPS 277 +6 254

As Linda said "bounce back down" :lol: :lol: I'm with you on raising the dose when they get nice greens but then bounce like this.....it's kind of frustrating. I know when Gracie is at a higher dose, the bounces almost go away but then
it's a constant battle to keep her BG up; lower doses...bounces. I know you will find the right dose for Simon.

I hope all is well with you and the fam. Thanks for all your support lately and thoughts for my DM. You all are the best.
 
Stinkus pinkus!! And to make matters worse, I am pretty sure I did a fur shot. I am almost 99 percent sure.

Question: Are there other cats that have had the same problem as Simon? He went almost a year without any problems, steady blue and green numbers on a low dose (.75 or lower). Now he is so high and the dose is high. Is this common or do you think something else is going on? I haven't changed diet and Simon is acting fine except he made a little noise when I tested his ear tonight. It might be a little sore so I put some neosporin on it. I am just so frustrated and also worried that he is sick. He was just at the vet and had a senior blood panel and has finished his AB for the UTI. Should I take him back to the vet?

Also, since I did a fur shot, should I wait until Monday to increase dose to see what is going on?
 
I wish I could offer any advice at all Georgia. But I don't have anything helpful. He's eating well and acting normal?

I will send hugs your way. Hang in there.
 
Well, first off, Simon is not on that high of a dose. Maybe in relationship to Simon's Lantus history, it's a higher dose but it's not that high.

Is your vet planning on running another C & S to make sure that the UTI has cleared? I'm honestly wondering whether the infection has cleared. Usually, once the ABs kick in, BG numbers drop back down. It doesn't look like that's what's happened.
 
Re: 12/3 Simon PMPS 305 +4 320 (fur shot)

Sienne, yes, I guess I should realize that 1.75 isn't that much of a dose but it is just scary to me since he hasn't ever needed that high of dose. Thanks for calming me down.

Ok, I am a really bad bean. I am confusing Cleo's bloodwork with Simon's. Simon had an upper respiratory problem, not a UTI. Both of their bloodwork was done a few weeks apart so I mixed them up. You can tell I have been sick with a bug...I am not thinking straight. Simon seems all better from the URI but could he still be having problems from it without symptoms?

This +4 leans definitely towards me doing a fur shot tonight. When I gave him the shot, his fur was all wet and not from just residue on the needle. It was alot of wet fur. I think I need one more day of rest!
 
Sending you healing vines, Georgia.

Check out Leo, Trixie, Rusty....all were green/blue on fairly low doses and all have had to go up to come back down. Jill said to Ella that sometimes cats lose regulation for no reason and you have to take them up. Rusty has really been doing much better and has earned several reductions.

Hoping for better numbers for Simon and for you to feel much better. I'm sorry you've been sick.
 
((((Georgia)))) That is so frustrating, to see Simon's dose go up and you're doing everything the same. These cats sure know how to drive their beans crazy. :lol: :lol: It's extra hard when you're sick too. Hope you've been able to rest up a bit this weekend. You're a great bean. Simon Is a very lucky kitty.
Liz
 
feeling for you - you're feeling yucky and trying to figure out what's going on with the kitters. if you had a fur shot it will clear. don't worry and see what he's like in a couple more cycles.
 
Hi Georgia,

Just to add to what Marje said about Rusty: I was in denial for a long time and couldn't figure out why he wasn't getting his old greens and blues on his old doses. We had the bloodwork, the urinalysis, a dental, etc.--all pretty much OK--and I finally began to "get it". Jill, Sienne, and Libby all told me not to hang on to a dose that wasn't working, and that sometimes you have to go up to come back down. And Jill said that sometimes there is no reason why a kitty loses regulation on a specific dose--it could be a change in metabolism, it could just be "the cat". And Lisa (Do Lou) gave me "words of wisdom" that I keep in mind all the time now: "the biggest variable in FD is FD itself".
Rusty is doing much better since I began aggressively to raise his dose according to the protocol and not just coast along hoping for a change for the better. I run into little setbacks, but on the whole, I am pleased with what he is doing right now. And I have been able--I hope--to sneak the dose down.

So don't worry. Once you are feeling better yourself, you will be able to look at Simon's data with fresh eyes. I hope that your cold is over and am sending you some healing vines.

Ella & Rusty
p.s. I hate fur shots!! Since I started shooting in the scruff I am pretty much able to avoid them (I used to give at least 2 a week, often more!)
 
Hi Georgia - not too much more I can say that hasn't already been said. Sometimes their needs just change - it could be as simple as that. I am with what the others have said - hang in there, and be as aggressive with dosing , as you are comfortable with. Sorry for the fur shot... always a bummer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top