DD & Tinkerbell
Member Since 2009
Well, the 12/14 condo never got done on 12/14, so i decided to start that one that is now about 30 hrs behind by opening her a 12/15 condo at 1 a.m.! What was supposed to be an "in and out" trip to check the infection around the e-tube wound to LVRC (~1.5 hrs from home, ~2 hrs from THS) at 10 a.m. turned into an all-day'r...they found that Tawny had broken one of her sutures loose, had to sedate her and re-suture. They were swamped all morning and at noon Dr. Amanda told me she was going to try to get to her w/in the hr...i went and got me some lunch (what a rare treat that was) and came back, fell asleep curled up in a corner on a sofa in the lobby, and 2 hrs later they had to call my name 3 times when Tawny was ready to go. WoW. Lunch and sleep. WoW. :lol: Get to THS w/Tawny at closing time, closed up, 45 min's to the house, fed everybody else, medicated Tawny, tube-fed her, made 3 batches of liquidated Recovery mixed w/water (not using Clinicare, her BGs are too high & it's 25% carbs i think s/one said), strained it, and here i am.
LVRC checked her for ketones, too, NONE. I caught a pee at the house about 10 p.m. & again, NONE.
So in trying to catch up w/2days of condos, i'll start w/the truly utterly awesome Karrie, who has posted & PMd me for 2 days as we try to put the action plan together:
Done & doing, see above subject line & below...
She is definitely on a Kibble kick. The s/o dry is the only thing she will consistently eat on her own. LVRC prescribed the Urinary S/O, not the diabetic one. I have a bag of Royal Canin dry diabetic food here that was given to me recently.
She likes the Recovery, she likes it better mixed w/Clinicare but i think s/one posted CC was 25% carbs.
She like the Wellness Chicken, not the turkey so much.
Mostly she just licks the gooey parts off the wet, or licks the "gravy" if i add water, but today she did actually eat chunks out of a bowl of wellness ckn.
Her dischg pprs say on the Recovery she would need 200mls per 24 hrs. I cannot figure out if this is her normal need, or her healing need. That doesn't seem like much to me. so is the 1.5 times (or is it 2.5 times?) the normal need is 1.5 or 2.5 times 200, or is 200 it?
Yes a calorie count would be incredibly helpful. converted to mls of any given food. (i ain't asking for much, am i?)
I have a lg postal scale and an old-fashioned non-digital baby scale, guess i'll start there.
I plan to raise her dose in the morning if her BGs are still really high, despite what the clinic says. i don't have any recent nadir and she is for today (12/14) pretty much off dry, but i would like to go a whole .5u but i know the protocal recommends .25u, She is too high, 490 at pmps. Could the sedation have spiked it this high?
she is going to THS w/me so i can watch her. 3u BID right now.
I am falling asleep, got to go...bbl...
This action plan Karrie recommends is just the ticket, if we can put s/thg together.
Desi
LVRC checked her for ketones, too, NONE. I caught a pee at the house about 10 p.m. & again, NONE.
So in trying to catch up w/2days of condos, i'll start w/the truly utterly awesome Karrie, who has posted & PMd me for 2 days as we try to put the action plan together:
Karrie and Maverick said:When you open your condo today can you call DKA dosing advisors in your subject line?
Can you also repost my questions? Some still need to be answered by you![]()
Done & doing, see above subject line & below...
Done. She is really high tonight, and only had 1/2 of a quarter cup of S/O dry at the clinic Wednesday 12/14 as far as dry food goes. Otherwise she has consumed between eating on her own and being finger fed & tube fed about 1/2 - 5.5oz can Wellness Ckn (finger fed & licking it up out of bowl), the S/O, 1/3 can of Recovery she will eat on her own and another 1/4 can via tube feeding. I plan to tube feed her again in 4 hrs.Karrie and Maverick said:So we need to get an action plan together.
1. Managing her BG - you have to do this. I will leave this to the insulin experts. Can you call them in your subject line?
Karrie and Maverick said:2. Food. We have to get calories into her. They say to feed what ever she will eat. What will she eat consistently. Since she has a feeding tube you do not have to be scared = if she doesn't eat enough you can tube feed. We will figure out calories. So can you list what you think she eats well (and enjoys eating)? brand and flavours. If you think she is on a kibble kick maybe we can switch to high calorie Innova, Evo or Wellness Core - a lower carb kibble. List the wet foods also.
She is definitely on a Kibble kick. The s/o dry is the only thing she will consistently eat on her own. LVRC prescribed the Urinary S/O, not the diabetic one. I have a bag of Royal Canin dry diabetic food here that was given to me recently.
She likes the Recovery, she likes it better mixed w/Clinicare but i think s/one posted CC was 25% carbs.
She like the Wellness Chicken, not the turkey so much.
Mostly she just licks the gooey parts off the wet, or licks the "gravy" if i add water, but today she did actually eat chunks out of a bowl of wellness ckn.
Karrie and Maverick said:You have Recovery and Clinicare and wellness Chicken which is 200 calories for 156 grams.
Her dischg pprs say on the Recovery she would need 200mls per 24 hrs. I cannot figure out if this is her normal need, or her healing need. That doesn't seem like much to me. so is the 1.5 times (or is it 2.5 times?) the normal need is 1.5 or 2.5 times 200, or is 200 it?
Karrie and Maverick said:3. Huge question for you guys. What is your best guess for the calorie count we are aiming for?
Karrie and Maverick said:Desi may have to feed a couple times over night. The FAF group needs to know also. They are helping just with tube feeding and getting enough calories - nothing around the diabetes.
Yes a calorie count would be incredibly helpful. converted to mls of any given food. (i ain't asking for much, am i?)
Karrie and Maverick said:They have recommended an accurate scale. But I understand that with DKA its not just about maintaining weight like it is with FHL. Can you guys give me a crash course here and I will share it with FAF?
I have a lg postal scale and an old-fashioned non-digital baby scale, guess i'll start there.
Karrie and Maverick said:We will work out a plan around insulin, calories, how much to supplement via the tube.
I plan to raise her dose in the morning if her BGs are still really high, despite what the clinic says. i don't have any recent nadir and she is for today (12/14) pretty much off dry, but i would like to go a whole .5u but i know the protocal recommends .25u, She is too high, 490 at pmps. Could the sedation have spiked it this high?
she is going to THS w/me so i can watch her. 3u BID right now.
I am falling asleep, got to go...bbl...
This action plan Karrie recommends is just the ticket, if we can put s/thg together.
No, no SQs, does she need to? She drinks a lot of water.Sandy and Black Kitty said:Hi there!
For a kitty recovering from DKA, you want to feed at least 1.5 times the calories required under normal circumstances.
The feeding tube will be a great help with getting enough calories into Tawny.
Is Tawny getting any SQs?
i did not know this...one more reason to up her dose w/next shot.Sandy and Black Kitty said:Keep the following in mind-
Not enough insulin + not enough calories + infection leads to ketones.
Desi