12/16 Tawny PMPS 401; +2/297

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
OK, I am suppose to hoot in 10 min's. Need dose advice, here's the quickie version:

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58684, she surfed those low blues mid-cycle (SS is updated).

This a.m.: drop her off @ LVRC, pulled a BG b4 I got her out of the Jeep, 122 @ +10.5. Give yesterday's data & the 10.5 to clinic, tell them she needs her shot @ +12, left her meds, etc., went off to job interview.

Come back to clinic 6 hrs later, the infection is much better, they tell me they dropped her dose to 2.5 (this apparently is based on the data I provided). I pull a BG @ +4 b4 I get on the road w/her in clinic parking lot & she's @ 535! WHAT! 535? talk about your rebound.

so I get to THS, pull another BG @ +7, 590.

@ +11 (home now finally) she is 414.

And I don't think she ate at the clinic. She put on some weight tho, up to 9.4 lbs. s/b ~ 12-13.

So do I go w/the 2.5u or pretend it was a BCS hoot and leave it 3u?

It's time to hoot....
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny Vet - Need Dosing Advice Quick Pls!

Weeellllll....IMHO (and please get others), I'd put her back to 3u tomorrow morning because she is prone to ketones and because she has just been in blue and didn't earn a reduction.

How did the interview go?
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny Vet - Need Dosing Advice Quick Pls!

Hi Desi,
I think I would shoot her normal amount. Lantus doesn't like inconsistincies in dose. The big jump may have been owing to vet stress. I'm not a skilled dosing person, but I don't think a huge jump like today's could be from a slightly reduced dose given only once. I hope someone else will come along, but that's what I would do.. Great news that the infection is getting better.

I'll check back with you tomorrow. Hope your interview went well.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny Vet - Need Dosing Advice Quick Pls!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Weeellllll....IMHO (and please get others), I'd put her back to 3u tomorrow morning because she is prone to ketones and because she has just been in blue and didn't earn a reduction.

How did the interview go?

Not tonight Marje? I haven't hooted yet....
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny Vet - Need Dosing Advice Quick Pls!

Come back to clinic 6 hrs later, the infection is much better, they tell me they dropped her dose to 2.5

Oopss....sorry; I misread and thought the vet already gave her a shot tonight.

Yes...I would give her the 3u tonight. Sorry sorry sorry.
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny Vet - Need Dosing Advice Quick Pls!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Come back to clinic 6 hrs later, the infection is much better, they tell me they dropped her dose to 2.5

Oopss....sorry; I misread and thought the vet already gave her a shot tonight.

Yes...I would give her the 3u tonight. Sorry sorry sorry.

I agree, i just hooted the full 3u, pulled another bg - 401 - looks like rbc is breaking? but i don't think she ate much today, am tube feeding now, then gotta give her meds, be back in a little bit.'

i aced the interview!!!!! he wants to talk to me again on monday!!!!
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny PMPS 401 hooted normal 3u

Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, I would have kept the 3.0u dose, as well.

It's nice to have validation...thank you ladies!
 
Re: 12/16 Tawny PMPS 401 hooted normal 3u

Hey, that was some great 'hooting of the 3.0 dose and way to go on the job interview! Good luck for your second visit! :lol:
 
If this was rebound it is breaking.

She does not want to eat on her own again, I have not offered her any dry, she will lick one or two bites off my finger, then she's done. She will lick a couple bites off my finger, then she's done.

I just tube fed her another 40mls Recovery. Alarm is set for 2 hrs from now.

The dark circles under my eyes look like bruises, like i've been in a bar fight and have 2 black eyes. I guess I have been in a fight, a fight for Tawny.

She's worth it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top