12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311 +7/313

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311

Hi Jenn:

Glad you took him up. I'm sorry that my DM issues and work and Christmas have kept me from checking in on you all every day. But I'll do better :-D

Sometimes kitty just needs more insulin and you may find that you have to take him up more per the protocol. Two things I would suggest:

1. If he hasn't seen the vet lately, it might be worthwhile to have a good physical, some blood/urine, and a good assessment of his teeth done.

2. if you are using the same pen you started with, it's been more than 28 days. Yes....you "should" be able to use the entire pen but alot of folks here change them out regularly at 28-30 days to avoid numbers getting wonky. It may
not be the pen at all; and I can't remember if you might be using a vial. The vial should last longer if you are storing it properly. Do you have your pen/vial in a refrigerator drawer where the temp stays constant and do you have
a thermometer on it to make sure it's falling in the correct range?

Hope you are enjoying your Marc's daughter's visit!
 
Re: 12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311

I totally understand Marje. I haven't been logging in as much because of family in town and trying to keep up with work.It's a crazy time of year but I love it, especially in NY.

Mikey was at the vet the week I got him. Physical was good. blood/urine all ok with the exception he is diabetic. He is scheduled for dental cleaning on 2-1-11 (february is a special month here for dental health so we get a discounted rate)

I am using a vial that was given to us when we got him that I think is from September. The date on the box says 9-12-11. I am storing it on a shelf, i figured in a drawer we open and shut too often so it would shake the liquid too much. Should it be in the drawer instead? I don't have a thermometer. Where would I get one? I do have an additional pen here if I needed to start new.

The step daughter that is here is actually my ex husbands daughter. I basically raised her and we are very close. She comes up here when she has off from school. Most people think it's crazy but to me it's important she has a positive female role model, no matter how we are "related". She gets along with Marc very well so we are having a lot of fun!
 
Re: 12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311

mmm, i posted at the same time as you and didn't see your post.

your lantus may be no good. i think it's fine to store it on a shelf in the fridge (you do mean in the fridge, right?) but it does lose potency and if it's been in use since september, that's pretty long. some people get months out of it, some seem to just get 1 month. if you stop seeing the numbers you were before, that's a good indicator that the lantus might be toast. when i look at mikey's amps 299 to a +6 of 311, i would wonder if it's gone. if i were you, i'd probably get a new pen.

btw, google for a solostar pen coupon and for your first order there's usually one out there for $25. if you can find someone to sell you 1 pen they are about $41. my Save-On pharmacy will sell a single pen. most pharmacies will sell the box of 5 together. a pen @$41 holds 300units of lantus, a vial @ $114 has 1000 units. most people have doses small enough they can't use up a vial before it goes bad.

the prescriptions are separate for a pen and a vial - you have to get a new one from the vet if you want to change between those 2.
 
Re: 12/22 Mikey AMPS 299 +2.5/319 +6/311

Hi Jenn:

You can get a refrig thermometer at any store. If you open and close the drawer alot, then it might not be the best place to store pens. But the temp will be more constant because every time you
open/shut the frig, if it's on a shelf, the temp changes more then in a drawer.

I think I would definitely start a new pen and see what it does but be sure you watch him closely. If the problem has been old insulin, it might take a little to refill his shed or he could come right back
down. If you look at Gracie's SS, she hasn't been doing well since early Dec and I finally decided to change pens....and voila....she's back down in the 40s today.

Have a great night...that's super that you are still so close to your stepdaughter.
 
ok. i will try a new pen this morning. It's already about a month old but has never been used. does that matter? it has been in the refrigerator the whole time.
 
All Lantus has an expiration date that's printed on the pen. As long as the insulin isn't past its expiration and you've stored it properly and it's unopened, it will be fine. I have pens sitting for quite some time in my refrigerator.

FWIW, I store my insulin in the back of a refrigerator drawer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top