carolyn & jesse (GA) & spock
Member Since 2009
last post
Wow, it's been a couple months since I've given a Jesse update.
I had a scare on the 21st when I realized that Jesse's tail was dead. Just lifeless. I took him to the vet and X-rays showed lots of poo in his large intestine. He stayed overnight for an enema. He got no shot for the PM and the next AM when I picked him up (it was too late to give the AM). He's on 10 days of Albon (an antibiotic for intestinal issues). His numbers didn't seem to suffer too much until PM on the 22nd when he went into the red. :shock: His tail was also limp again and he hadn't poo'd since coming home. So last night he got 1/8t Miralax and at PM +6 he poo'd!! Oh happy day.
This morning's AMPS was 106 and +6 was 64.
If that's not the surprise of a lifetime! He's been at 2 units since the 19th and not had any green yet. I had probably kept him at 1.75u for too long, but he was showing normal nadir numbers.
OT - I will be moving soon and talked to my vet about putting 3 of my cats on Prozac for spraying (I'm moving to a rental that has carpet). She seemed to think that she would need to compound it (adding to the expense) and suggesting Elavil. I know many here have used Prozac. Can anyone give me more info on it? She said a side effect of Elavil is zombiness but that it has flexibility on dosing. Any advise you can offer would be greatly appreciated since I'm going from owning to renting and really don't want to get evicted :-|
Hope everyone has a happy holiday. Mine aren't much having no family and only a couple of friends. And I had to let my CRF kitty Kiah go yesterday. But you know what I keep saying? It's going to get better.
Bless this board and all of you!
Wow, it's been a couple months since I've given a Jesse update.
I had a scare on the 21st when I realized that Jesse's tail was dead. Just lifeless. I took him to the vet and X-rays showed lots of poo in his large intestine. He stayed overnight for an enema. He got no shot for the PM and the next AM when I picked him up (it was too late to give the AM). He's on 10 days of Albon (an antibiotic for intestinal issues). His numbers didn't seem to suffer too much until PM on the 22nd when he went into the red. :shock: His tail was also limp again and he hadn't poo'd since coming home. So last night he got 1/8t Miralax and at PM +6 he poo'd!! Oh happy day.
OT - I will be moving soon and talked to my vet about putting 3 of my cats on Prozac for spraying (I'm moving to a rental that has carpet). She seemed to think that she would need to compound it (adding to the expense) and suggesting Elavil. I know many here have used Prozac. Can anyone give me more info on it? She said a side effect of Elavil is zombiness but that it has flexibility on dosing. Any advise you can offer would be greatly appreciated since I'm going from owning to renting and really don't want to get evicted :-|
Hope everyone has a happy holiday. Mine aren't much having no family and only a couple of friends. And I had to let my CRF kitty Kiah go yesterday. But you know what I keep saying? It's going to get better.
Bless this board and all of you!