Linda for Weezer
Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.
Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.
Yesterday’s Condo
Recap of yesterday
AMPS 352
+4 393
+5.5 408
PMPS 329
+2 310
+4 272
+7 293
+10 310
Weezer successfully got rid of the pesky hairball last night. I’m sure that was part of her higher numbers. I also think she was bouncing a bit from the lovely run of low yellows she enjoyed Tuesday.
Since Weezer’s double whammy diagnoses of acro and IAA last week, I have put a lot of thought into our goals for her and how to reach them. In reality, she probably will never go OTJ. What I really want for her is to be as healthy, and as comfortable, as she can be, as long as possible.
Insulin is obviously the major key in her treatment. Following the TR protocol absolutely works to give sugar cats the best chance at remission, but it may not be the best course for Weezer. I have noticed for quite awhile that when I raise her dose, her BG rises too. We call it NDW, but I’m wondering if it isn’t insulin resistance. It makes sense that a functioning immune system would react to an increased amount of a “foreign material” introduced. Weezer’s immune system seems to be hyper-vigilant. As a high dose kitty, protocol calls for larger and more frequent dose increases. That would have had me increasing her dose as early as Monday, 12/26 by as much as a whole unit. I didn’t make that increase. Tuesday was her best day ever. A whole day in lower numbers had to be good for her. Although it is never possible to know with absolute certainty what would have happened as a result of an action not taken, her history makes me all but certain that her numbers would have risen on Tuesday if I had given her that increase. Yesterday her numbers did go up, but as I noted, there were a couple of other things at work, the hairball and a possible bounce, which seems to be clearing.
I want to give her whatever time it takes to fully work a dose before challenging her system with an increase. When I do increase, I plan to try fattening the dose to see if I can avoid the reaction she has typically had to increases. As an example of how I would use this theory: she typically clears bounces quickly, so, if her numbers today aren’t better than yesterday, I will increase by maybe .25 tomorrow. If this plan works and I can inch her numbers down into the blues and low yellows, I will be pleased. If it doesn’t work as I hope, I’ll go back to TR. But I must give her the chance.
I apologize for the extra long post, but this is a pivotal point in our plan of action. Although I want to try modifying the TR protocol by following Weezer’s lead, LLTR is our home in this struggle. I value the advice, suggestions and support we have received here and very much want to continue to receive it. Even more importantly, I treasure the part each of you has come to occupy in our lives. I want to remain a part of this community. I have added a line to my signature and to our SS to inform that we are not following the tight regulation protocol and to caution anyone unfamiliar with our circumstance that our dosing is not to be followed.
As an aside, I added a column to our SS that shows her daily average. I have found it very interesting to have this additional bit of information.
Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.
Yesterday’s Condo
Recap of yesterday
AMPS 352
+4 393
+5.5 408
PMPS 329
+2 310
+4 272
+7 293
+10 310
Weezer successfully got rid of the pesky hairball last night. I’m sure that was part of her higher numbers. I also think she was bouncing a bit from the lovely run of low yellows she enjoyed Tuesday.
Since Weezer’s double whammy diagnoses of acro and IAA last week, I have put a lot of thought into our goals for her and how to reach them. In reality, she probably will never go OTJ. What I really want for her is to be as healthy, and as comfortable, as she can be, as long as possible.
Insulin is obviously the major key in her treatment. Following the TR protocol absolutely works to give sugar cats the best chance at remission, but it may not be the best course for Weezer. I have noticed for quite awhile that when I raise her dose, her BG rises too. We call it NDW, but I’m wondering if it isn’t insulin resistance. It makes sense that a functioning immune system would react to an increased amount of a “foreign material” introduced. Weezer’s immune system seems to be hyper-vigilant. As a high dose kitty, protocol calls for larger and more frequent dose increases. That would have had me increasing her dose as early as Monday, 12/26 by as much as a whole unit. I didn’t make that increase. Tuesday was her best day ever. A whole day in lower numbers had to be good for her. Although it is never possible to know with absolute certainty what would have happened as a result of an action not taken, her history makes me all but certain that her numbers would have risen on Tuesday if I had given her that increase. Yesterday her numbers did go up, but as I noted, there were a couple of other things at work, the hairball and a possible bounce, which seems to be clearing.
I want to give her whatever time it takes to fully work a dose before challenging her system with an increase. When I do increase, I plan to try fattening the dose to see if I can avoid the reaction she has typically had to increases. As an example of how I would use this theory: she typically clears bounces quickly, so, if her numbers today aren’t better than yesterday, I will increase by maybe .25 tomorrow. If this plan works and I can inch her numbers down into the blues and low yellows, I will be pleased. If it doesn’t work as I hope, I’ll go back to TR. But I must give her the chance.
I apologize for the extra long post, but this is a pivotal point in our plan of action. Although I want to try modifying the TR protocol by following Weezer’s lead, LLTR is our home in this struggle. I value the advice, suggestions and support we have received here and very much want to continue to receive it. Even more importantly, I treasure the part each of you has come to occupy in our lives. I want to remain a part of this community. I have added a line to my signature and to our SS to inform that we are not following the tight regulation protocol and to caution anyone unfamiliar with our circumstance that our dosing is not to be followed.
As an aside, I added a column to our SS that shows her daily average. I have found it very interesting to have this additional bit of information.
Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.