1/7 Cali PMPS: 330 (Dose Increase)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Cali's lowest number on this dose (7 cycles) is a 213 - so yes, i'd go up .25. see if others weigh in.

as far as today's numbers - you know she just seems kinda high and flat overall. there is a 20% meter variance allowed, which would make a 300 and 330 basically the same numbers.

i'm not sure exactly what you're asking about the food. most people feed with the shot and then more within the next 4ish or so hours. people adjust their feeding times to try to flatten out kitties who have numbers that dive, but that's not cali. i feed punkin with the shot and again 3 hours later - and i test him at +3 and don't think it's food-influenced. in general, you don't want to feed within 2 hours before the shot time only to be sure that you are giving a shot to a safe number that hasn't been increased because of food. does that make sense?

what meter are you using?
 
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

Morning....did you see my post your condo yesterday? Both Sienne and I suggested you take her up .25u this morning if she did not have a blue AMPS so it would have been fine to give her 1.75u this morning:

I agree with Sienne that you should take her up .25u tomorrow morning to 1.75u if she continues this tonight and does not give you a lower (blue) AMPS. She's had more than six cycles to clear the bounce. Some cats will take longer but, in general, we look at 72 hours. She's had 13 cycles since her last blue numbers and she's been on this dose six cycles now.

Julie is right that with meter variance, Cali is just flat. But....sometimes it's difficult to account for why kitties do what they do. In the year that Gracie was on lantus, I think she may have had a "normal" lantus curve a couple of times. Because we are dealing with hormones and little feline bodies, it's hard to say why they go up some times when we think they "should" be coming down.

Hang in there and we'll be looking for that dosecrease tonight :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

I agree with Julie and Marjorie. It looks like it's time to increase to 1.75.
 
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

Sounds good, we'll go to 1.75 for tonight's shot. I picked up some new food at a local pet store. Nature's Variety, EVO and Wellness. All of which are grain free. We'll see how Cali takes to this too!
 
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

Best of luck with the increase...
use that extra juice wisely, Cali!!
 
Re: 1/7 Cali AMPS: 318 +3=336 (question)

I'm starting to think there's no such thing as 'normal' for a cat, I'm betting they don't even have a word for it in meow language, and if they worked out what normal meant they'd probably do something deliberately different just to throw us off! Good luck with the dosecrease.

Serryn
 
PMPS: 330

Increase dose by .25, so we are currently at 1.75 units.

I also gave her canned EVO (chicken). Fingers crossed for a good night!
 
Good luck with the dosecrease!!! Come on Cali....work it!!!

Don't be upset if she goes up before she comes down. Sometimes a new dose, at first, raises the numbers. Just be prepared and don't be worried. We're keeping an eye on her numbers to help you figure out what's going on ;-)
 
f991adda-ae87-4ff3-ad3f-340e94fcb56a.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top