1/7 Sid AMPG 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Very Active Member
Obviously at 25 this morning, sid got no insulin. He was like a limp rag when I pulled him out from under the bed to test him. His numbers have increased but his lethargy has not gotten any better. On the bright side, he is eating on his own, but I know he feels like crap. He will barely lift his head when I or one of the other cats approaches him. I know you all will freak out when I write this, but I am considering not giving him any insulin at all tonight and see what happens. He got .75 last night and ate pretty well yet he still dropped this morning. I just want to see what his numbers do by not receiving any insulin for one day.

This dropping so low every single day cannot be good for his body. We are going to an internal specialist on Monday and I am hoping for some answers. His bloodwork indicates a definite infection and he has been on clavamox for over a week plus he was on some kind of injectable AB at the emergency vet.

His current vet does not want to change the AB at this time. One vet (not his current one) reviewed his results yesterday because his current vet was off duty and told me it is indicative of something going on with necrotic tissue (cancer) and then his current vet called me today to review the results and told me it is an infection and to keep doing what I've been doing with fluids, insulin, and the AB. I couldn't ask questions because it was a VM and the clinic is now closed.

I would appreciate any thoughts. What would you do if Sid were your cat?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60287
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

The only input I can offer is that sweet Sid is your kitty, and I think you know what's best for him, Lydia :-D
still holding you and the boy in heart and thoughts...

images
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Prating for sweet Sid to feel better--It so sucks when they dont feel well--I know how you feel..
Healing vines to Sid & to you!
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Hi Lydia,
I am sorry that I cannot be of help with regard to Sid's issues, but just want you to know that we are thinking good, positive thoughts for your visit to the specialist on Monday. As for tonight's shot, perhaps give a reduced dose? The shed will affect the bg numbers in any event, but at least you might have fewer drops and spikes tomorrow, especially since you did not give a shot this morning. (technically your subject should read AMBG, since you did not shoot). See what some of the more knowledgeable people say.

Lots of healing vines heading your way tonight.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Lydia:

Please test for ketones if you're not giving insulin. Infection and little/no insulin could result in ketones developing so testing will give you a chance to prevent adding something else for you to worry about.
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Hoping the specialist will be able to give you a definitve answer about Sid. We're thinking of you.
 
Re: 1/7 Sid AMPS 25 +1 71 +2 72 +3 166 +4 201

Very sorry about Sid. My heart goes out to you. I hope the antibiotics will allow Sid to feel better if they can reduce the infection.

Was the vet pretty sure the necrotic tissue was causing the problem with infection? The difficult part about necrotic tissue is there is no longer a blood supply to that dead tissue and it makes the a/b not be able to be delivered via the blood to do it's work. If the infection is in the surrounding area then the a/b could probably help. It is a difficult situation and you do the best you can. ((((Hugs))))
 
Thank you for all the advice and well wishes. Sid right now is Hi as I'm sure everyone can imagine. By about 4:00 today he was over 500. I also posted about him on the CRF yahoo group and someone on there recommended a phos binder because his phosphorous is so high and that might contribute to him feeling crappy. I think that is a great idea and I have some here (I have a CRF foster cat named Whisper who got the binder for a short time). No vet even mentioned giving him a binder for the phos level. :-x

He actually has perked up during the day and was walking around and eating. He also tried to jump away from me when I gave him his fluids and medicine. (He doesn't like the fluids at all...) So I feel better about that.

I will test for ketones though that will be a challenge (maybe) as Sid sprays rather than squats in the litter box. I will try to catch the spray with the little test strip. I am considering buying the ketone/bg glucometer. I know I've read there is one available. I may do that depending on what we find out on Monday.

I did talk to someone I know personally who is a veterinary pathologist. I only called to get her take on the bloodwork and if I should be really worried or not (I don't like to impose on her so I only call her if it is life or death. I think I called her once with Jake and now so 2x isn't bad). She gave me her opinion about the bloodwork and helped explain some of the items. Basically that Sid has many things going on and that his levels have to be judged over time and a condition can't just be determined based on a couple of tests. A non functioning or low functional bone marrow response (which Sid may have with the reticulate and HCT values) can indicate preleukemia or lymphoma but she said it is a good sign that he is forming some platelets. She also said that it is possible his WBC and neutrophyl values are higher from stress of the fluctuating bg levels and being at the vet for so many days. She told me to expect some of the bloodwork to be repeated on Monday. She put things a little bit better in perspective for me and explained things thoughtfully and I appreciated that. She called Sid a "brittle" diabetic. I've never heard that term before!
 
Lydia,
That was me suggesting the binder in his food...a PHOS of 7 is pretty high even if the vet doesn't tell you that...the range on the lab report includes kittens which need higher phos in their food so the range is totally misleading...

hope Sid does better once the binder is in place...remember (from the links i sent you) that the binder tends to constipate them...so you gotta watch for that and it becomes a balancing act...

hang in there...

hugs to you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top