1/10 Mikey AMPS 225+7/239 PMPS 140 +1/245 +2.20/223 +6/269

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

Mikey has been sleeping a lot today. I didn't want to wake him up but I probably should have because his BG was probably a lot lower that it was just now when I took it at 10:35 it was 140. I assume it is "safe" to shoot the 2.5u? I will test at +2 because I have a feeling he will be low tonight, do you think?
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

yes, it's the lowest you've shot, so you always want to get a +2 and see how mikey's aiming. if it's lower than the preshot, you can expect you're going to need to monitor more carefully. if it's higher, then maybe mikey will be flat or rising. no way to know in advance.

mikey is looking great, though. when i look at his ss i can see the overall numbers reducing along with the dose. great job managing him!

eta - and yes, i would hold the dose. he hasn't gone below 50, and i don't think you've missed any really low numbers, so you just hang in there in the meantime.

see if anyone else has a 2cents worth to suggest. that's what i would do, at least, as long as you have strips and high carbs you will be able to steer him if he does get low tonight.
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

thanks Julie, I did PM Marje as well. For the most part I want to post what I am thinking so that you all can correct me if I am wrong. It's not rocket science but sometimes for me it feels like it is :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

I totally agree with Julie but when someone possibly shoots a dropping number, I always recommend they also get a +1. You want to be sure he is getting a food spike and coming up.

The reason I say "possibly" is because we don't know if Mikey came up and then got a second dip (which is not a dropping number) or whether he's clearing a bounce and just kept dropping into PMPS. If this is the case, he may or may not continue to drop after PMPS. So a +1 will tell you. And, of course, then get your +2.

Great job and I'm so happy to see Mikey coming down!! Yippee!!!
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

Ok, I will get the +1 and +2. I had to switch the "flavor" of his food. He wouldn't eat what I have been feeding him and that is TOTALLY out of his character. I didn't feed him as much as I normally would because he has had very little appetite today and if there is an issue tonight and I need to get his #'s up I didn't want him to be too full.

ANy other suggestions when they don't want to eat? He is always starving so I never thought this would be an issue.
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140

You definitely want to keep an eye on his BG if he doesn't want to eat.

Can you try some freeze dried chicken treats or bonito flakes on his food as a topper? That's what we do with our kitties if they are being picky.
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140 +1/245

So his +1 was 245. Can that be a food spike even though he barely ate?
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140 +1/245

Depends on what he ate. If he ate a higher carb food just so you could get him to eat, yes. But this looks pretty high so I'm thinking he may be on his way up......
 
Re: 1/10 Mikey AMPS 225 +3/241 +7/239 PMPS 140 +1/245

It was still Friskies. I have been feeding him supreme supper and he wouldn't eat it so I broke out the ocean fish and that's what he ate a bite of. If I remember from the food list they are all between 5-7 carbs. I'll test again at 1 am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top