1/17 Thumper PMPS @ +11 373 +2 457 +3 440

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
I haven't posted since Sat when I raised her dose to 1.25 since she's just been running way too high I just knew I was going to raise the dose to 1.5 this morning. She had been acting a little "off" & I was starting to think she was going to have another pancreatitis attack so I gave her 100 ml fluids last night. Her SS is updated but here's her #'s from last night

PMPS - 467
+4 - 304

Imagine my surprise when I got up this morning to an AMPS of 56! :shock: :shock: We are now an hour past shot time & she's stll at 56. These are the test's I've gotten this morning

+12 - 56
didn't believe it so in 3 mins I got a 53
54
56 - last test was right at +13

I have to leave for work in 10 mins & she hasn't had any food...she's getting mad. DH will be home & can test & shoot but I need to feed her. UGH.....why doesn't she do this when I'm gonna be home?!! I'm going to get one more test but then I really need to let her eat, problem is what to do next?

Edit to add: it's 1 hr 15 mins past shot time & she's now at 62. What should I do?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

+14 - 76

She settled down so I didn't feed her but DH is home. How long should I hold off feeding? I don't know if the new dose finally kicked in or if this is due to the fluids?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

Also when I do shoot do I keep the same dose since we are late?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

Can you afford to be 2 hours off schedule? Your shot time tonight will need to be no more than 30 min. earlier.

Do you have strips and HC food and can DH manage to monitor and handle dropping numbers if that happens?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

I'm ok being late tonight and if we can move up by 30 mins I will be ok tomorrow. I have all the supplies I need & he will be home this morning. Should I go ahead & feed & shoot now?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

You've not shot this low before. If you and your DH are OK with shooting, I would go ahead. At the bare minimum, DH will need to test at +1 and +2. You shoot your usual dose. Also, your AMPS is whatever the current test number is.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 56

+14.5 - 84

She's rising and DH does make me a litte nervous but if we wait any longer I won't be able to shoot tomorrow morning. Ugh....I don't think I have any other choice?

Edit to add - I went ahead & had him feed her & shoot. I'm hoping he doesn't run into any trouble....I'm not gonna be much good at work, I'm totally distracted! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84

Remind DH that he can check as frequently as will make you worry less. You can get a +.5 vs. a +1 if that will help. The idea is to keep an eye on the numbers so you don't get caught by surprise. Also, remember that it takes about 2 hours for Lantus to kick in and numbers are rising.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84

Hi guys .. nice shooting! I am sure your DH will be ok with thumper .. He can always post here, if he needs advice .. I know it's hard to leave our kitties when all we want to do is stay home and take care of them, but you gotta do what you gotta do, right? Hang in there, I'm sure thumper will do just fine!
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84

Hi Barbara and DH

Just checking in to see if Thumper is still going up? It's great that she was rising but it's important to keep checking and making sure where she is headed today.

I'll be home and checking in this morning.

Thank you! Great job on the shooting today!!!
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84

Sorry, I had to go do some work! :lol: That is in between calling/texting DH. He can do everything but he's not so good at keeping up with exactly WHEN to do it, then it takes him forever. :lol:

+1 - 128
+2.5 - 159

Hopefully she won't go too high. If she is high enough at regular shot time can I go ahead & shoot? It would be about 2 hours early if so. I'm just thinking I want to try to keep her from going so high again. I guess only time will tell if it was just the effects of the fluids from last night. I know typically they do bring her BG down but I never expected that much.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159

Barbara:

Thanks for the updates.....we wanted to be sure all was ok. Glad to see she is coming up.

If she is high at her regular shot time, which would be +10 from today's shot, you "could" shoot early but remember it acts as a dose increase. I think I would feel more comfortable, since you haven't shot early before, if you
only shot one hour early. You have to be able to closely monitor her. I would not shoot more than two hours early and if you decide to do that, you just need to be very careful and test her.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159

Unless Thumper is sky high, I would be reticent to shoot 2 hours early. One hour, if she's in pinks would be OK. I think it's best to be conservative until you know how Thumper responds to an early shot. (Otherwise, you may be back on your shot schedule but you'll be up all night checking to make sure the numbers don't tank.)
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159

I'd be shy about shooting 2 or even 1 hour early. I have done it myself, however I had all sorts of historical data -and watched like a hawk.
She went from 467 to 56 in 12 hours, and it's unknown if 56 was the lowest she saw overnight. When I see a way low AMPS, it makes me think a reduction may be on the horizon, it's just a matter of catching the number signals .
If you do shoot more than 30 mins. early, I'll add my voice to the - "you must monitor closely" chorus . Be sure you are prepared to guide the numbers if need be.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159 +4 165

+4 - 165

I'm going to leave both of them alone for awhile. :smile: I have to call him then it takes him forever to get back with me....at one point this morning I was about to leave work cause he wouldn't respond. :roll:

I will post what her BG is tonight when I get home & go from there. I should be able to get there around +10. I'm hoping the dose increase kicked in & this wasn't just from the fluids. Thanks for the help & I will be back around 6:30 EST if anyone is around.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159 +4 165

Barbara,
Wow! Nice day for Thumper. It doesn't matter to her what type of insulin you give her, she's going to keep you on your toes!

Make sure and tell DH that he did a great job today when you get home. :smile:
Carl


Pssst, hey thumper.....iz not efen clowse to full moon......
Bob
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper AMPS 84 +1 128 +2.5 159 +4 165

carlinsc said:
Barbara,
Wow! Nice day for Thumper. It doesn't matter to her what type of insulin you give her, she's going to keep you on your toes!

Make sure and tell DH that he did a great job today when you get home. :smile:
Carl


Pssst, hey thumper.....iz not efen clowse to full moon......
Bob

She loves to keep me dancing! DH, I don't know about him.....he does ok but now I see 1.15 written down..."what's that, I ask him?" He replies "well I think I went past the 1.25 line." I tell him there is no 1.25 line (we've gone over this before) so he says "well I think I went closer to the 1 unit line"!! I didn't say anything to him....he tries & after all those doses are hard to measure. He could just refuse to do anything....but then we would have a fight. :lol:
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +2.5 159 +4 165 +9 319

Ugh....what a difference a few hours make. It's dinner time & normal shot time. See my response to Carl about the insulin dose this morning, I'm pretty sure she didn't get 1.25...maybe a fat 1 unit? From the posts above I understand I shouldn't shoot but can I go ahead & feed her with the rest of the group? By the time I get over all that we will be @ +10. Help.....I don't know what to do!

confused_cat
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +2.5 159 +4 165 +9 319

Ok, the natives are restless, I'm about to get scalped....I'm going to have to feed them. I will get one more reading but I'm suspecting it won't be much different.

Edit: Boy was I wrong...she's up 100 in an hour. I don't think I want to wait 2 more hours to shoot??
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +2.5 159 +4 165 +9 319

Barbara,
You didn't plan on shooting until +11 or +12, right? In that case (although I might be wrong but it sounds like time is an issue here), I say go ahead and feed the herd before they start biting your ankles
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +4 165 +9 319 +10 421 YIKES!

We are 1.5 hrs from shot time but since she's so high can I go ahead & shoot? I got that 421 about 1/2 hr ago then I let her eat.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +4 165 +9 319 +10 421 YIKES!

I'm not sure what time you shot. You could have shot an hour early. That was an impressive bounce.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +9 319 +10 421 +11 373

I went ahead & shot 1.25 @ +11

Now I have no idea how to fix my SS!!!
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper PMPS 373 +2 457 +3 440

I suppose I should stick with 1.25? I think the fluids had a big part in the lower numbers today but I guess there's no way to tell what really happened. Do I still need to wait the 3 days to see if this is a bounce? I had planned to go up to 1.5 today since she had been so high but now what?
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +9 319 +10 421 +11 373

i don't think i would increase the dose because of the low number this morning. if i were you, i would hold, let this bounce clear - and ohmy thumper is quite an impressive bouncer! - and then reassess the dose again. if the lower number this morning was from the fluids, it'll show up later with thumper getting higher. then you'll know the fluids did it and not the dose.

good job handling all of it today, barbara. i'm sure that was a little nerve-wracking! kudos to your hubby too. i hear ya on the "i'm not going to complain because . . . " :lol: sometimes it's easier to just try to regroup later if you need to.

you might want to prep a used syringe for your husband to show what the dose looks like - pull up colored water to show the dose as a comparison sample. i've done that when the vet tech was giving a shot for us.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +9 319 +10 421 +11 373

i don't think i would increase the dose because of the low number this morning. if i were you, i would hold, let this bounce clear - and ohmy thumper is quite an impressive bouncer! - and then reassess the dose again. if the lower number this morning was from the fluids, it'll show up later with thumper getting higher. then you'll know the fluids did it and not the dose.

good job handling all of it today, barbara. i'm sure that was a little nerve-wracking! kudos to your hubby too. i hear ya on the "i'm not going to complain because . . . " :lol: sometimes it's easier to just try to regroup later if you need to.

you might want to prep a used syringe for your husband to show what the dose looks like - pull up colored water to show the dose as a comparison sample. i've done that when the vet tech was giving a shot for us.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +9 319 +10 421 +11 373

If you shot at +11, I'd put that info in your comments. If the +11 was 373, that becomes your PMPS.

Just a suggestion: If you see a drop of over 160 points from pre-shot to +4, you might want to set an alarm and get another test in at +6 or so. I'm just guessing here, but we don't know if Thumper was lower than the 50s you were seeing before you shot this morning. It's possible that the fluids did drop his numbers but there's no way to know.

If the bounce clears before 3 days, you can evaluate the dose then and increase if necessary. Otherwise, it could take up to 3 days for the bounce to clear.
 
Re: 1/17 Thumper +9 319 +10 421 +11 373

julie & punkin said:
you might want to prep a used syringe for your husband to show what the dose looks like - pull up colored water to show the dose as a comparison sample. i've done that when the vet tech was giving a shot for us.

I haven't done the colored water but I did show him on the syringe....right before I left this morning! I even told him once he got it to 1.5 to just twist the plunger & let a drop out at a time. He just doesn't listen very well. He told me tonight I should get a syringe that had the proper measurements. ohmygod_smile He knows very well I use human supplies, I just don't think he gets the fact that humans don't dose in these small increments. When I told him this was as good as it gets he said "there's got to be a better way to measure, you just don't have it!" :roll:

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you shot at +11, I'd put that info in your comments. If the +11 was 373, that becomes your PMPS.

Just a suggestion: If you see a drop of over 160 points from pre-shot to +4, you might want to set an alarm and get another test in at +6 or so. I'm just guessing here, but we don't know if Thumper was lower than the 50s you were seeing before you shot this morning. It's possible that the fluids did drop his numbers but there's no way to know.

If the bounce clears before 3 days, you can evaluate the dose then and increase if necessary. Otherwise, it could take up to 3 days for the bounce to clear.

I think I fixed it on my SS, I put the 1.25 @ +11 then put PMPS was +11 in the comments. I thought I had changed the subject but I will go fix that now.

I see what you're saying about last night, that never crossed my mind. I saw that 304 & thought she was going to continue as she had the last few days. Never in a million years did I think she would drop so low even with fluids! I would say it was very possible she was lower. I'm glad she sleeps right beside me now, although I know that's not a guarantee she would wake me up.

Thanks for all the help!
 
there are so many factors with our little ones and managing everything, aren't there? like a little juggling act - i think once you've learned to manage a diabetic cat that dives, you can manage anything!
 
there are so many factors with our little ones and managing everything, aren't there? like a little juggling act - i think once you've learned to manage a diabetic cat that dives, you can manage anything!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top