1/19 Weezer AMPS 329, +4 300, +6 292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 274
+4 263
+8 332
PMPS 275
+2 308
+5 317
+10 345

This morning we are raising her dose to 13.75. Unless there is real action today, tomorrow we will increase to 14. That will spread the .5 unit increase over two days and hopefully avoid this rise in her BG that dose increases often trigger.

Last night Sandy with Black Kitty had an interesting observation and question for us. I don't think many of you had a chance to see it, so I will copy here:
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I was reading something in a magazine this morning about exercise increasing insulin sensitivity. (this was in humans).
It got me thinking if it has the same effect in cats.
Once BK regained some of his overall health, he became a crazy-boy. zooming around, chasing his tail, attacking the throw rugs. . .
(he has not changed - he is a big play-play kitty)
Maybe all the activity made some contribution to breaking the IAA . . .

Is her majesty generally active?
And my response:
Linda for Weezer said:
Unfortunately, her majesty is not. Her most active play generally has me rolling her foil ball for her to swat, and then me chasing it down if it goes out of bounds. She will sometimes jump to catch String when I flick it at her, but not for long. Because of the acro she has an overgrowth of tissue in her respiratory system which can cause breathing problems, so I don't push her too hard. It' a ticklish balance.
I have mentioned her snoring in the past; it is actually stridor. I wouldn't call her breathing labored at this point, but it continues to intensify and is a concern.

This morning we got in about 5 minutes of String play. She actually reared up to snag it a couple of times, but most of the playtime she spent on her belly, ears perked and tail twitching. She's pretty good at snagging it if I flick it low enough. I'll make it a point to get in a couple of play sessions everyday. Even ear perking and tail twitching is exercise, right? And now I've gotten my exercise and am ready for the day.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 1/19 Weezer AMPS 329

Hope the dosecrease does the trick to bring Weezer down.

Tarragon has asthma, so I know how hard it is when they have breathing issues. Sounds like Weezer knows her limitations as well and would rather watch you jump around than actually do it herself. :lol: Hope you have a great day Linda!!
 
Re: 1/19 Weezer AMPS 329

Hi guys .. well there were a couple nice yellow spot checks yesterday .. maybe she can bring those back today .. I know it must be tough balancing everything out with all her issues but you are doing a great job of it .. good luck with the dose increase .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/19 Weezer AMPS 329

Hi Linda, good luck with Weezer's next increase. That's an interesting observation about the play time and insulin resistance. Sounds like Weezer enjoys those playtimes with you.
 
Re: 1/19 Weezer AMPS 329

Hoping this dose crease will be the breakthrough one!!--Moonie is pretty lazy player too--she was quite active before--Love to see Weezer in the blues--Sending Hugs & Love to you both--Have a good day!
 
Re: 1/19 Weezer AMPS 329

Good luck with the dose crease Linda. Weezer, how about making an appearance on the blue floor so you avoid more juice?

Was Weezer ever an active playful kitty? Or is this something new for her?

Have a great day ladies.
 
Hi Linda and Weezer, hope the dosecrease brings Weezer down. Zener isn't real active either because of his CH. He does like to watch the string though. :-D
Liz
 
Hoping the dosecreases work well, for Weezer.
What about walking on a leash.. just short little walks.. following the mommy around that has a bit of boiled chicken in her hand? J.D. hasn't played in 7 years. When I brought Ginger home as a kitten, he stopped for some reason.
But even a little walking, some fresh air, something new to look at, some extra praises and pets. He looks forward to.
Maybe, you already walk him, and I've just missed it.
 
Hi Linda & Weezer and good luck on the dosecrease. Maybe this will be this breakthrough dose! Any kind of playing is good both for Weezer and for the two of you as a shared pleasure. Sometimes a new toy helps when the kitty becomes blasé and just sniffs at the old ones. When the thrill wears off, I put a toy away for a while and then reintroduce it.

So play on, Weezer. And get your mamabean to get you a new toy!

Enjoy the evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
I'm not at all caught up but wanted to say hi and thank you for the good wishes. Hoping for Weezer to find a nice safe dose that works well for her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top