01/21 Sam Siam pmps 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

donna & sam siam

Member Since 2011
Well, snow is melting but still very icy & lots of people w/o power. Sounds like it will be that way for several days. The guys are working soooo hard but just when they fix one, another goes down. Wind storm last night just made things worse. We are one of the fortunate ones. Sam is good, as lazy as ever laying around the cozy wood stove! Had a question in my condo last night (after we got power on finally!). If you get a chance please check it out in case you have any thoughts. Thanks and have a safe day everybody!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61644
 
Re: 01/21 Sam Siam amps 101

I think the general position on the FreeStyle Lite meter is they read way too far out of the standard variance to be useful for regulating on the tight regulation protocol.

I used the FSL for a while until I had Atlas' fructosamine test done to set a standard for the vet. The variance was way to far off. To the point that they told me Attie was poorly regulated vs. my hometesting numbers. I stopped using the meter immediately and switched back to my relion from Walmart. Higher numbers, but more realistic numbers. Which led to much better regulation results and converting my vet to totally supporting me.

Freestyle Lite Meter Comparison at Low Numbers
 
Re: 01/21 Sam Siam amps 101

Beth,
Thanks so much for the input and especially for the link! Very interesting! It seems the consensus is that it is more off in the higher numbers, but I found the same with Sam's numbers below 100. For example, 45 vs 80, 43 vs 93, 59 vs 80, 50 vs 85 with the lower numbers being the Freestyle Lite. I'm going to keep using my other meter and check it again vs my hubby's Bayer Breeze. Just don't like to worry that much! Again, thanks!

Just checked my meter vs Bayer breeze & Freestyle Lite (on myself). 115, 116 & 103. Not a huge difference in my numbers although the first two were exact. But since Sam's were so different, gonna chuck the FL.
 
Re: 01/21 Sam Siam amps 101

I'm glad Beth found that post for you because I was going to look for it. I didn't post in that condo but I also tried the FS LITE and got consistently lower numbers. I sent it back....even though it appears to be a strip issue, I just didn't want to deal with it.

I think Rosalie made a great point about higher numbers. If a meter is reading 150 and my others are reading 250, my kitty could be above renal threshold and I wouldn't know it at 150; I'd think she was in healing blue. This happened to Morgaine.

Sam is looking super!
 
Re: 01/21 Sam Siam amps 101

Once again this wonderful FD home has come to the rescue to save some sweet little kitty lives. You guys are awesome. Thanks for sharing and for such knowledgeable help! :YMHUG: Did y'all read about Cupid on MSN home page? Someone shot this sweet little stray kitty with an arrow! He is healing very well thanks to a wonderful vet. Poor thing! o:-)

http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/vi...c+videos&rel=msn&from=en-us_msnhp&form=msnrll
 
Sam continues to look great.

There was an interview with Cupid's vet on the Today Show this morning. Cupid was there. What a sweet kitty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top