Violet and Garland
Member Since 2011
Hi everyone! Hope yalls week has been fabulous so far 
Garland has been doing great with the exception of her numbers. Spunky, happy, energetic and eating well. But those numbers are continually flat pinks. :YMSIGH:
I raised her dose this morning to 4.0. Her ketones a few days ago on the urine strip was negative, today I decided to do a meter check. 2.3. Thats higher than I would like, but its not crazy high... its "trace". I can only assume its because shes not getting enough insulin. Its so bizarre, her numbers are like Im not even giving her any insulin at all. But shes taking a pretty high dose. (?) I dont know. Her numbers have been puzzling to me for a while now. She's on a new pen, no fur shots, eating her normal FF classic... I dont know. :YMSIGH: I guess Ill just keep raising according to the protocol until those numbers start to come down
Condo 1/19
QUESTION: I have been doing the one in the middle (always been nervous to do the third one) But should I go ahead and start raising her dose by .5 every 3 days if these numbers continue? Instead of .25 every 6 days?
:shock: And just now re-reading this quote (after all the times ive read it before), I just realized its every 3 days, 6 "CYCLES", not 6 days... Dang, Ive been doing it wrong
Garland has been doing great with the exception of her numbers. Spunky, happy, energetic and eating well. But those numbers are continually flat pinks. :YMSIGH:
I raised her dose this morning to 4.0. Her ketones a few days ago on the urine strip was negative, today I decided to do a meter check. 2.3. Thats higher than I would like, but its not crazy high... its "trace". I can only assume its because shes not getting enough insulin. Its so bizarre, her numbers are like Im not even giving her any insulin at all. But shes taking a pretty high dose. (?) I dont know. Her numbers have been puzzling to me for a while now. She's on a new pen, no fur shots, eating her normal FF classic... I dont know. :YMSIGH: I guess Ill just keep raising according to the protocol until those numbers start to come down
Condo 1/19
QUESTION: I have been doing the one in the middle (always been nervous to do the third one) But should I go ahead and start raising her dose by .5 every 3 days if these numbers continue? Instead of .25 every 6 days?
Increasing the dose:
* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
* After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
* After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
:shock: And just now re-reading this quote (after all the times ive read it before), I just realized its every 3 days, 6 "CYCLES", not 6 days... Dang, Ive been doing it wrong