1/30 Atlas +11 112, PMPS 99, +3 68, +4 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

LOL...what should have been a nice easy day yesterday turned into an afternoon of client and dog visits. ohmygod_smile That is one of the huge drawbacks of being in this business.... :? . You love the animals so much ...you have a hard time carving out time for oneself.

Attie looks to have been fairly flat yesterday and all those afternoon tests...well they went to the dogs! He might have a busy day today and I have an "easy week" of just dog walks. So, we'll see if we can get a mini-curve done today - Weds. It does appear he is spending less and less time in those pinks I am thinking of just holding his dose for several weeks, like I did the last time which ended up getting him to settle down and start hitting consistent greens. Now...he does have to maintain an appetite and general health of good for it to work. :roll:

The hip is getting better. I am down to taking just a couple tylenol every 4-6 hours, but it still lets me know it is there.

The training session with Buddy went well. It was windy and very cold, but a few things happened that I wanted to know. As I handed the leash over to the owner, I had to stop her from winding the leash up and pulling it tight. :o I explained that a constant pressure on the training harness is not going to teach Buddy to stop pulling, it is going to encourage him to pull even harder. The winding up of the leash in her hands was to get to a 4ft. length which is a common training length, but you have got to let the tension be loose. If he is pulling then stop the walk. The walk doesn't continue until he stops pulling, leading, and returns to the heel position. This is done as either a life reward or if needed a food lure and food reward. I had to stop her several times from 'winding' the leash. We visited one of the quiet streets and worked on heel and loose leash walking. Heading back to the genereal walk...she wound that darn leash right back up! So once back on the street I took the leash away from her and demonstrated that the techniques we just used, can be used as part of live situational training. I walked Buddy back home showing that he could be allowed to act like a dog and sniff, investigate etc. and still loose leash walk. When he pulled we simply stopped walking until he returned to the sit and heel position. He knows what to do, but being a lab you have to get him to want to do it. Pulling and tugging him into position won't train him.

To our benefit Buddy did get exactly the challange I wanted him to have...a distraction that makes him anxious. This was the perfect time to really touch base with the owner as to the "why does Buddy do that?" And how to handle it. I think she quickly understood her kids were in no way ready to walk the dog at this time.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289

Wow on the Buddy training. I hope she will get there - it sounds like she has habits that will be hard to break. Good luck on it all.

It is good to read that you are starting to feel better. That must be a relief.

Good luck with the curve today - and holding the dose. I find that that approach can work well with Mannie. It gives him time to settle into a dose, and I am more apt to get blues, and those greens. Hope all goes well for Attie. I believe you said too previously that he was feeling better as far as the sneezes etc? Hope so.

Have a good day today.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241

Well with that reading I am out the door to visit Buddy, and Penny & Lexie today. Neighbor just stopped by and her babysitter had an emergency, so we'll be watching her little one later this afternoon until Daddy gets home. ....

LOL...Good Morning Michele, Linda and Lisa...hope you have a great day too!


Brrr....here at 18F and sunny.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241

Hi guys .. ok attie, nice slow drop for you today .. think you might see some blue before the day is over? Sounds like training buddy is going well .. for you .. seems like "mom" is going to have a hard time .. at least she recognizes her kids aren't ready yet either .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99

Well, watching the "baby" wasn't too bad this afternoon. Sort felt funny dealing with a toddler I can't understand, but...such is the life of an old maid from time to time. :lol:

Looks like Attie is sliding into green this evening for a spell, but ....


you guessed it....FOOD FIT night. :roll: So we have tried the rabbit cold, warm, with extra au jus and a few licks and ...nada! I've got some raw chicken yet and we'll see what happen in the next hour or so if I'll pull it and nuke it.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99

ATTIE! Eat your fuds! one has to love food fit night when you have an amps of 99. Wonderful number - but Attie - you gotta eat your fuds, OK?
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99

Michelle and Mannie said:
ATTIE! Eat your fuds! one has to love food fit night when you have an amps of 99. Wonderful number - but Attie - you gotta eat your fuds, OK?


This is really getting old with him. He hits decent numbers and then won't eat. He is here now pestering me for food...and a bowl full of food waits for him in the kitchen! :evil:
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289

Michelle and Mannie said:
Wow on the Buddy training. I hope she will get there - it sounds like she has habits that will be hard to break. Good luck on it all.
Sounds like the parents have habits that will be hard to break too :lol:

Nice work tonight Attie, did you decide on green because everyone was asking to see some blue :mrgreen: :lol:
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99

He wants good food, not that kind. ohmygod_smile

I love your condos Beth. So educational. I was thinking, when I retire, it would be cool to be a dog trainer.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289

[quote="Vyktors Mum]
Sounds like the parents have habits that will be hard to break too :lol:

Nice work tonight Attie, did you decide on green because everyone was asking to see some blue :mrgreen: :lol:[/quote]


We often say there are no bad dogs...just bad owners. While I do not think these people are bad owners, they have picked-up some bad habits. Buddy won't pull if he isn't being pulled around. ohmygod_smile . He may get to tugging on occassion, but he isn't and won't be a constant puller.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99

Dyana said:
He wants good food, not that kind. ohmygod_smile

I love your condos Beth. So educational. I was thinking, when I retire, it would be cool to be a dog trainer.

I have seriously thought about getting some certification training, but it runs about $8-$10,000. While I do know some of the best trainers have taught themselves.

Working with the dog(s) is the best part, but you have to be able to work with the owners too! You are teaching and training both of them.

Yesterday there was a whole muskateer bar laying on the ground. Buddy went to check it out and the owner went to grab it up ....I had taught Buddy to "leave it," on command and turn away and just keep walking. The owner was totally blown away. She had no idea Buddy even knew that command. She said when they try to get things away from him ...he starts playing chase me etc. I told her to just tell him to come, sit, and drop it or just say leave it and he should follow the command. If he doesn't don't go after him, show him a HVT and help him decide the HVT is better that the pencil in his mouth.

This morning the husband said Buddy had a greeting card in his mouth when they got up this morning. He tried the leave it command and Buddy just dropped it and walked away. :-D

Train the owners first in order to train the dog.
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99, +3 68

Glad your hip is recovering...
and ATLAS!! EAT YOUR FOOD!!

I love reading about your work with behavior, Beth...
wonderfully educational!

and I like the toddler comment as well...

funny-dog-pictures-law-leash.jpg
 
Re: 1/30 Atlas AMPS 289, +4 241, +11 112, PMPS 99, +3 68

Well, Attie wouldn't eat his fuds. So I offered him some contraband...and he turned his nose up!

Hmmm....well I guess those coupons for FF came in handy. I went and picked up a case of the FF and 4 Appetizers. Well....that Alaskan Salmon t'izer with the shrimp garnish was the cat's meow! I gave Attie half and Gary the other half. Well Gary didn't eat his fast enough! And Attie muscled himself in on the bowl.

So ...there is an appy...just doesn't want his regular fuds. confused_cat

We'll set the feeder up with a can of FF for tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top