2/3 Terra AMPS 369 +4 329 PMPS 200 +3 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarenAmelia

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62679&p=678584#p678584

Not a good morning for the old Terra. She feels bad: threw up (clear liquid), won't eat, is sitting off to herself now. I could see in her eyes that she felt bad. I hope it was not a bad idea to give the shot anyway. Hoping she'll be tempted to eat soon. Is there any rule of thumb regarding eating and shooting? I reasoned that , since her blood sugar is so high, not eating isn't as critical as it would be if her pre shot number were below 150. But fasting could still cause a big drop that would lead to more bouncing, right? There have been several causes for delayed shots lately and I hated to postpone the shot.

Threw up again an hour and a half after shot. Lots of liquid. I used the ketone test strip on the liquid from her stomach (?) and it showed a trace ketones. Don't know if that is a meaningful way to test.
 
Re: 2/3 Terra AMPS 369

Hi guys .. awww poor terra .. it isn't fun seeing our kitties not feeling well .. I think the general rule is to make sure kitties have food in their bellies, before the insulin really kicks in .. I don't have much experience with non eating kitties as both my girls love their fuds .. I'm not sure about the ketone from the stomach liquid either .. is there a way you can catch it in her urine? You do not want to have ketones present and a non eating kitty .. I hope others stop by soon with better info .. maybe if you put a ketone question in your title?
 
Re: 2/3 Terra AMPS 369

oh poor little girl - yuck on not feeling good.

i'm trying to remember, did she have the specific test run for pancreatitis?

it's an individual thing - in general, you want the cat to be eating when you give the shot. you have a couple of hours before the lantus onsets, though, so they don't have to eat the moment you give the shot. mainly it's because you want to be able to get them to eat high carb food if they go too low.

however, with the numbers really high like terra is this morning, you also don't want to skip the insulin. sometimes people give a reduced dose.

it is important for terra to be eating. will she eat any other food? the high carb stuff with gravy even? better to have her eating and high than not eating.

i don't know the answer about testing the stomach fluid for ketones.

edited to add:
btw, here is your link for yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62679&p=679371#p679371

your links aren't "live" - you need to click the URL icon at the top of the posting box, then paste the website address in between the brackets like this [color=#FF0000]paste the address here[/color]
 
Re: 2/3 Terra AMPS 369

sorry for another post, but i'm still thinking about terra. have we given you ideas on getting her food to appeal more? warming it up often helps, sprinkle a little parmesan cheese on top, some cats like oregano (it's related to catnip) sprinkled on, pouring tuna water over the top . . .

you can take some food on your finger and wipe it on her front paws and see if she'll lick it off just to clean up. sometimes that will get them started. or get some into her mouth and hopefully that will perk her up.
 
Re: 2/3 Terra AMPS 369 +4 329

Thanks for the appetite suggestions. She has eaten a little - really little. And I tried the tricks for getting her to eat.

I did not have pancreatitis test though I should. She gets kinda funky about every other day, alternating with a decent day.
 
Re: 2/3 Terra AMPS 369 +4 329

I'm sorry to hear Terra is not feeling well today. Did you talk to your vet the other day like you had planned?

Be careful using tuna water. Check the can; many of the cans say "tuna in spring water" but when you read the label it has vegetable broth and soy. Cats should not have the soy. So unless it has nothing but tuna and water,
I wouldn't give it to her. Same thing with canned vegetable or chicken broth...they sometimes have ingredients like onion or soy that cats should not have.

It does not do any good to test the vomit for ketones. The test strips are for urine only so you'll have to try and get the strip under her when she pees or catch it in a little foil tray or something similar.
 
Cats (or just mine?) are the princesses of the pet world, arent' they? Terra refuses to eat food that's been sitting in the bowl for a half day, even the kind of food that she preferred yesterday over all others. So I opened a new can of the food she refused to eat yesterday, and you'd think it was her favorite thing ever, the way she chows down. Go figure...
 
Hooray! Terra is finally hungry and eating away! She's polished off a half a can so far this evening. And the dogs gets the leftovers from this morning.
 
Glad to hear Terra is eating. Nice PMPS!! Who knows ...maybe she'll see blue.

If she stays flat yellow tonight, then be prepared tomorrow that she "might" come back down. Flat yellows usually mean sumpins gonna happen....but ECID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top