2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74, PMPS 72, +2 64, +3 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica and Atticus (GA)

Member Since 2011
OK, he's 83 at what should be his AMPS. Calling it +11 on his SS, because I'm going to try stalling a bit. Got some decisions to make as I have to go in to work this morning and I probably won't be able to even come back at lunch to check on him. If I do shoot this morning, it's going to be the 0.25 we did last night.

If you missed the excitement, here's yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63562&p=689121
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 83

Good Morning Miranda!

You did an awesome job last night! Last night you shot what we call a BCS dose. It was not the typical earned reduction, but Atticus appears to be surfing right along.

Just like it takes a few days for the shed to build ...the shed is slowly draining at the reduced dose. Typically we don't see these kinds of reductions holding, but I do understand you concerns today about not being able to check him.

I would again say to not skip the shot, some consistency is better than none.

You have the option of the 0.5 or 0.25 or 0.5skinny. I don't think there is a necessarily right or wrong dose this morning. If you shoot reduced again this morning and he rises tonight or breaks for a bounce this evening you will need to go right back up to the 0.5 for sure.

What do you think?
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 83

He's 90 now. Since I have to leave for work in 45 minutes, I'm going to do the 0.25. We'll see where he is tonight, and if he's going higher I have no problem going back to the 0.5. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 83

BOS is Balls of Steel, a term we use when we find the courage to shoot low to stay low...

BCS is Big Chicken Shot, a term we use when we know we need to shoot, but we're using extra caution because of low numbers, not being able to there to monitor, or somehow out of routine for keeping kitty safe. We want to be able to feed and shoot consistently without delays.


Shooting BCS drains the shed and it is important to understand that fidgeting with the dose too much can cause a loss of sufficient insulin in the shed. Generally it can take 2-3 days to gain that momentum back if it is lost.
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90

Oh what an exciting time you have had the last 24 hours. I agree with Beth that I would give a reduced shot, but it depends on what you are most comfortable with. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90

Hi Monica & Atticus,

I just got caught up on your yesterday. You did fine! Good luck with whatever you decided to shoot this morning. Atticus is looking really good.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but wow, what a run atticus is having! I hope he can hold it, he's looking so good ! have a great day!
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74

I worried all day since I wasn't able to come home at lunch, but just came home to a happy Atticus with a 74 at +10.

Question: Let's assume in two more hours, he's still generally surfing and not going much higher. Since I'll mostly be around to monitor tonight, should I go back to the 0.5, or stick with the 0.25 until he starts to go up significantly?
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74: Dosing question

I would shoot his full dose. Sometimes, you don't see the effect of a reduced dose during the current cycle. It can have an effect on the next cycle due to the influence of the insulin depot/shed on the dose.
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74: Dosing question

Good job!!! He's looking fabulous!!

Hope you and Atticus have a happy Valentine's Day Monica!!
meheart.gif
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74: Dosing question

WOWZA!!!!!!!!!!

ATTICUS HAS BEEN KEEPING YOU ON YOUR TOES!!!!!!

:thumbup

celi & binks
 
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74, PMPS 72

Celi, I saw this pic today and thought of you:
 

Attachments

  • dating-fails-the-truest-display-of-love.jpg
    dating-fails-the-truest-display-of-love.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 460
Re: 2/14 Atticus, AMPS 90, +10 74, PMPS 72

Monica, wow and very impressive cycle and shooting with Atticus.
Happy Valentine's Day to you and Atticus.
 
Yay Atticus, talk about showing mamabean the love, hope he keeps surfing along like this for you - forever!

Love the litter box valentine :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top