2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PM 63/52/62 +7/177

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236

Read your post last night about Mikey. I'm glad he loves his bed and likes to knead his pillow. Sweet boy.

Well, Jenn, I can't imagine that he could NOT be happy with you....the alternative is being in the shelter where you know they will not treat his diabetes as you are doing. He is a very lucky boy. I'm glad the dental helped
him and the poos are better....it might have been the ABs. Maybe the 4% food will help bring his numbers down.

Happy Valentine's Day to you, Marc, Mikey, and the whole gang!!
meheart.gif
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236

I just went back and read Mikey's condo from yesterday. I wouldn't be concerned about him being unhappy. He's the shy kitty at the party, watching from the toilet sidelines. He may not want to be the one dancing on the table, but he's enjoying the show and feeling the love.

Happy Valentine's to you and yours.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285

Thank you all for reading his condo. I appreciate you looking out for us!
Happy Heart Day to you all!!!
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

just walked in to shoot Mikey BG is 63 is it ok to shoot? I think so but i don't think i've shot this low?
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

we left at 6pm and had tested before we left. we left food in the timer he did not eat. Thinking I was going to shoot and him being so hungry I did just feed him about 1/8 can.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

Jenn....do you have lots of strips, hc food/gravy and honey/syrup/karo? How comfy are you that you can handle low numbers alone.....I'm headed for bed....not sure who might be up to help you. Have you fed? You have some options

1. Shoot full dose now but you will be shooting a dropping number. That's ok as long as you can stay up and monitor.....I'd start with a +.5.

2. Don't feed; Stall and check every 20 minutes and shoot full dose as soon as you get a rising number; you'Ll have to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight and gradually get back on schedule.

3. Shoot a reduced dose now

4. Skip
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

1- I have everything here but can't guarantee I can stay awake even through alarms. but I will be up for another 2 hours at least.

2-i think this is out as I already fed him?

3&4 How will that effect him long term? And what would be the "reduced dose"

What is the best option for him?
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

You have to be able to test him until he is safely up past his nadir. He might need extra food to keep his numbers up.

If you fed him, you will want to wait at least an hour without feeding him more; once you shoot you still need to monitor as you would if you do option 1.

Option 3 also requires that you check him often because of the shed; he might stay low or go up.

option 4... He'll get back on track within a few cycles. He may go up into pinks before you shoot tomorrow. You would just shoot regular dose on time tomorrow or if you want to change his shot time, it would be a good time to do it.

Has to be your decision.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

If it were your cat what would you do? I'm thinking of skipping only because I already fed him 30minutes ago
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

I think if you are worried about being able to stay up or get up, then you need to skip to keep him safe.

:lol: ...not fai r to ask me what I'd do.....I have Mike here to help me and we can get up all night if we have to.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

hi jenn, i'm up for another hour and a half if you need support . . . will check back.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PMPS 63

hi jenn - just responding to your pm.

so he's down to 52 after you've fed him and you're already stalled at +13. you're worried you might not be able to wake up - personally, i'd probably skip. i haven't shot a 50's number and if you did shoot, you would absolutely have to stay up and monitor until past his nadir.

your choice, of course. if you do shoot now, tomorrow morning's shot is 12 hours from now. if it were me, i'd skip.
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PM 63/52

Yeah, I was thinking to shoot but now that he went down I'm not sure it's a good idea. Especially AFTER I fed him, I thought for sure it would go up. Ok I will shoot at regular time tomorrow 11am and shoot 2.5u the dose he was at last. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/14 Mikey AMPS 236 +2/285 +4.5/259 +6.5/176 PM 63/52

it's not great to skip, but safety is always first and he'll get back on track soon. have a nice worry-free night, jenn!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top