2/17 Mikey AMPS 112PMPS 59 +3/38 +4/51 +5/48 +6/64 +8/128

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46

I am very concerned. Mikey went down to 46 at 4pm which means another dose reduction? (from 2.25 to 2) The dose reductions are happening rather quickly and it's making me a little scared. I fed him some HC because he will not eat the other food ( I bought friskies special diet because it's 4 carbs, i had been feeding him other friskies that were 7 carbs prior to his dental)
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46

Are you afraid the reductions won't hold?
I don't think this is shed action from the last 2.5u dose 3 cycles ago. . .
Mikey may be on a mission. . .

Sometimes, particularly after a dental a kitty will start flying down the dosing ladder.
It happened to us - twice :mrgreen:

I'm sure others will stop by and comment.

In the meantime, please continue to test every 30 mins. and guide the numbers with food if needed, until he gets above 50.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46

Ummm...I gotta tell ya- when Binks got busy toward the end of his journey...
he boogied right down the dosing scale!

may Mikey do the same!!! (anti-jinx)

celi
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46

No need for the jitters. Some kitties just decide to fly down the dose ladder. Just hang on to your pants and follow Mikey's lead!!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46

Ok, thanks for the reassurance. I had no idea a dental could create such a turn around!

But, Yes, I am afraid the reductions won't hold. In the beginning they did not and the other night when I skipped a shot he was 356 the next AMPS!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46

but even when he was 356 after the skipped shot, he was already back down to the 40s that night. Mikey is looking GREAT! And even if he doesn't hold the reduction and the numbers start to go back up, lots of times all it takes is increasing the dose a little bit and they get their momentum right back again.

Woo-hoo!!!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43

Mikey is doing great!
23_30_104.gif
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43

I agree!!! He's looking fantastic!!!!!!

Great job and congrats on the reduction!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

Mikey's +11 was 63. I don't "expect" it to go that much higher at shot time, 11pm. I am supposed to give him a dose reduction from 2.25u to 2u but that still seems like a lot? Can any one advise?
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

It's really not a big decrease -- it's standard for the protocol. For now, I'd take the full reduction. If it doesn't hold, then we'll have the data to know that shaving the dose may be the option to go with.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

Good suggestion from Sienne....I would also take the .25u decrease to 2u and see how he does.

Fabulous! Go Mikey"
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

Wow, now I am getting excited about Vytktor's dental next week!

Looks like Mikey will be keeping you on your toes tonight too - go Mikey :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

will be going with the reduction and shoot 2u. I hope he's hungry! This morning he barely wanted to eat for shot time and he is snoring right now!

I hope Vyktor's dental helps him. If this is what turned Mikey around I'm just sorry I didn't get it done sooner. Not knowing his history is hard to know what he really needed. He did have a tooth extracted so obviously it was more serious than even I (or the vet) thought. I also switched his food from a carb 7 (friskies supreme supper and other regular flavors) to a carb 4 (friskies special diet flavors) I'm thinking that might have helped a little too. A little extra might have been the new bed we got him and now he comes out of the bathroom into the hallway-progress!!!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

Vyktor does need at least one extraction (FORL) I have been thinking about putting it off because I am nervous and his numbers are finally starting to look quite good but I must bite the bullet and do it. He also eats heaps less when he is in lower numbers but I have been able to tempt him with the HC junk food when it has been necessary. Actually no tempting necessary he wolfs it down. When they get that low they will usually eat. I assume you have some syrup there just in case.

Is Mikey new to you or has he been hiding in the bathroom because he doesn't feel well? When Meg rabbit came to me she spent two weeks hiding behind the toilet! Rabbits take a long time to come around and it was a year before I could give her a little pat without her flinching and bouncing away and two years before I could pat her when she's outside!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +2/97 +5/46 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63

Good luck with the new dose. I hope the reduction holds. I think it will. Mikey is doing so well.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +6.5/46 +8.5/43 +11/63 PMPS 59

some serious shootin' goin' on over here :mrgreen:

Best to get a +1, you still may see some action from the previous shot. . .
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38

MIkey is at 38 now. Never been this low before! Help!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38

I was able to get him to eat some HC, finally! All night he's been so difficult. I have 5 different varieties to choose from, I was just about to get some cooked chicken but he ate a little HC mixed with LC
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38

OK, good that he's hungry now! We'll be looking for your next # :-D

Mikey is definitely on a mission!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38

He is acting fine other than really tired. I had to pick him up to eat. He has been not even wanting to get up to eat but I made him so I could see him walk-no wobbling. He was just in the litter box but tipped it over, I don't think he was able to jump out? This is the second time it's happened but I never thought the first time.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38

Jenn. ... Once you give him the gravy or karo, retest in 20 mins. I'll wait up too in case Melissa needs to get to bed.

You want to lather rinse repeat until he's up. So test,feed, repeat. If he comes up right away with the hc/karo or gravy, to above 50 in the next 20 mins then give him some LC food if he'll eat it and then retest in 30.

Remember karo and HC wear off in 1-2 hours so you have to keep testing him every 30 mins until he's up and has not had food or karo for a couple hours. So two rising numbers without food before you can let up to a couple hours in the tests.

Eta: you can take the 911 off now since you have eyes on. Thx!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51

Sorry was a bit of a disaster. He dumped his litter box everywhere and with the other cats wanting to play in it I had to clean it up. His BG is 51 and he wanted to eat some more. I gave him 1/8can of LC.

Will he get another dose reduction tomorrow morning? From 2u tonight to 1.75 in the morning?
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51

Great! So pls stay on top of the numbers...read back through the posts and also the one in my signature on handling low numbers for after Melissa goes to bed. If she's going to be up I'll hit the sack. Busy day today.

Good luck! Thanks Melissa.

BTW....I think you are still seeing she'd from the higher dose this morning so I would not reduce again in the morning. Let's see what he does tomorrow...if he comes down low again we may have to reduce tomorrow night to drain the shed a bit more.

Ni ni..great job...hope you get some rest.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112 +11/63 PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51

Great, he has come up a little bit! And he still wants to eat which is good too. See you in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51 +5/48

His BG @ +5 is 48 this is usually his low time and he's very hungry!!!. I will keep retesting!
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51 +5/48

Go ahead and feed him some more, you can give him some more HC if you want. And yeah, retest in 20-30 min and post your #.
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51 +5/48

BG at 5:30am was 64. Fed 2/8 can

BG at 8am was 128 didn't want to eat
 
Re: 2/17 Mikey AMPS 112PMPS 59 +2/53 +3/38 +4/51 +5/48

I was wondering how you were going, glad to hear eveything is ok :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top