2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51, PMPS 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64275

Good morning LL!

Well, Bailey is bouncing today as you can see, and I need to vent a little bit. My DH is a wonderful man, and he helps out with testing which is fabulous. But he tested her last night, got a 42, gave her a spoonful of gravy and then went on about his evening and did not retest. cat(2)_steam He just does not take these low numbers seriously. She's had low numbers before and I ask him to retest in 30 mins and he's like "Oh, come on! What is that going to tell us?" He will give her gravy and retest in an hour or two - or never, like last night! So now I have no idea how low she really went. And luckily Mr L is here to keep her safe. :evil: We had an, ahem, discussion about it last night and hopefully I got through to him this time.

OK, now that's done, I feel better! Hopefully she will clear this bounce quickly and get back to business. We are going to switch to giving reductions after 3 times below 50 to hold her doses as long as possible and support her pancreas. She obviously still needs insulin... just not very much! A skinny 0.25 is like a pretend shot! I am always amazed at what a little drop can do.

Have a great Wednesday everyone!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266

I am so with you on that score, Melissa! My DH is the same way, and we've had several 'discussions' about it too. At this point our agreement is that he either wakes me or calls me 24/7 when he's testing and Mookie's number is below 100. It's not ideal, but at least I always know when Mookie's number is low, and I can be certain he's being monitored.

I'll be interested to see how your modified protocol of giving reductions and holding doses works for Bailey. All fingers crossed!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266

I have one word -- lie.

The next time you ask him to test in 30 min., tell him you tested and Bailey was at 28 and looked spacey. (And then tell him about the cat here who's oldtimer bean didn't test the way she needed to and came home one day to find that her cat could not be saved.) What DH probably doesn't fully appreciate is that if a cat sits in low numbers long enough, even with emergency care including IV dextrose, the numbers may not rise and stabilize and with each minute that the numbers remain very low, brain cells die. Enough brain cell death, and vital functions stop. If you comb through some of the posts on Community, you'll see some of the very grim stories.

Of course, a somewhat kinder option would be to not feed DH. When he starts getting crabby due to mild hypoglycemia, let him know that's how Bailey is feeling when he doesn't test and feed.

If all of that doesn't work, I'm sure we can figure out something that will get DH's attention.
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: --Love Sienne's suggestions!! Dont feed DH!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
:lol: I dont let DH do much to Moonie though he says he wants to so I can go away!--To me Men have
ADHD, and cant really focus on the tasks at hand most of the time...Mine always asks me the same questions
like what's Moonie's number and comments that's good right? Or You testing her again?? :roll:
Geez, he's a diabetic himself(pills only) you'd think something sunk in after 4 yrs!!!!! ohmygod_smile :shock: :shock:
Well Bailey is none the less for the event & looks like she is doing fine--A 42 is low there Z& absolutely needs attention.. We are all in this together..Some DH's are really good like Marje & Mike, & few others..
Hope you have a good evening--Hugs & Lubs from us!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217

If we need to assemble a DH intervention team, I nominate Sienne to head it! :lol:

As bounces go, not bad, and clearing already! Bailey knows her business.
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217

Sienne! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Operant conditioning, of course! If withholding food doesn't work, you can try an electric shock. :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217

Love the suggestion Sienne - don't feed DH, that cracks me up! And I'm all for lying for the greater good too! :cool:
If these mid to low yellows are the bounce, it's not all that bad. Bailey will sort it out before you know it!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217

I often wish that my DH could test (he's legally blind), but then I think about it and am happy to keep things as they are! As it is, we often test together: DH holds Rusty and warms his ear and I do the test. 2 beans aren't necessary, but it is part of Rusty's routine and "the boys" both are comfortable with it. Then DH makes observations about the number--sometimes accurate, sometimes not. It's a learning experience!!

We try to do the 3x below 50 also. It's good to hold the doses rather than trying to reduce too quickly. I just learned this recently.

Have a great evening, and do give your DH some dinner!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36

:lol: :lol: :lol: You guys rock, thanks for all the support/suggestions. DH is getting another chance tonight because this kitty just won't stay above 50!

He got a 45, fed gravy, didn't retest for an hour, and got the 36. Hopefully this was a learning experience. He is retesting in 30 min.

I try to keep on top of what's happening, but he doesn't always text me the numbers and my job is CRAZY so I can't always keep after him to test. Oh well, at least she gets tested while I'm at work - I don't know what I would do without that!

So... since she dropped below 40 is that still an automatic reduction?
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

Another question - does it look like I need to start front-loading her with food? Right now I let her free-feed and she snacks in little bits all day, at least when she's awake. These crazy drops into the 40s are just nutty.
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

Wow, Bailey, that is some action. Are you trying to teach your daddy bean a little lesson about testing?
Liz
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

A drop below 40 is an automatic reduction. I want to suggest that with the next go round, you consider using the three drops below 50 in order to give a dose reduction. I'd like to see more green on Bailey's SS. I don't think she's ready for an OTJ trial yet and if it's at all possible to slow her down and give her pancreas support for a bit longer seems warranted.

Feeding schedules are largely a matter of trial and error. I would try front loading the cycle and see how it goes. Just keep good notes on your SS so you dont forget what it is you're doing. A change in feeding schedule can take a couple of weeks to see results.
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

:lol: :lol: :lol: Sienne :lol: :lol: :lol:

Go Bailey you work your dosecrease well we want to see lots of lovely greens but keep it above 50 for a while ok
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

Love Sienne's suggestions ESP the not feeding :lol: But the bottom line is serious....too low and the damage could be permanent. I hope the 36 scared him a bit.

I also think some front loading would be good to try and slow those drops. You might need to feed a little higher (not high) carb food to help flatten it a bit. For instance, if she's eating 2%, try 4 or 5%.

Congrats on the reduction!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry, I'm still laughing about not feeding DH!

I just tell my DH, do what we do everyday, but if Daphne is below 60, wake me. Short and simple, seems to work best for us :-D
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

Geez, Marje -- it took me a minute to put together that you were referring to Melissa not feeding her DH and not Bailey! That 36 was staring me in the face!!!
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

Ok...it's either the iPad or else I got too much sun today :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 Bailey AMPS 266, +1.5 217, +6 45, +7 36, +7.5 51

oh gosh melissa - what a day you've had!

i'm also laughing about not feeding DH - Sienne - too funny!

but seriously, if he read posts on the Grief forum . . . well, there are stories that break your heart. insulin is really nothing to be casual about - it's a powerful hormone.

glad you've got things moving forward. i feel like my son doesn't take this as seriously as i want him to, or lacks the judgment or something to understand the importance. i'm not sure just what it is, but he'll test - he just doesn't get it that if the +3 is 100 i want another test soon. maybe if i made a flow chart that would get it through. in the absence of him quite getting it, i have him call me if he sees less than 100 so i can tell him when i want punkin retested or what to do.

let's see, someone else today was talking about husband training, i don't recall who it was. perhaps we can form a group for the DH's! :lol:

i hope tomorrow is nice and quiet for you! cat_pet_icon
 
Well, we have a lovely PMPS today. :cool: I imagine a bounce will be along shortly, but for now I will be getting a +1 & +2.

Julie... a flow chart is actually a brilliant idea! I think I'm going to work on that! :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top