02/23 Rupert PMPS (-30mins) 441, +3 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64347
recap of all of today: AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441


Kerboing. drat. completely expected though.

Rupert seems fine, I did leave quite a bit of food out last night because he was so low, hopefully it's a combination of too much snacking and a bit of a bounce. fingers crossed he surfs down SLOWER today.
He's had his breakfast, about 1/3 can of Merrick, had his shot and has gone back outside.
He's quite cat(2)_steam because I had to poke him three times to get a good enough drop to test. poor guy!
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468

Did someone tell Rupert that there was a special award for the cat with the lowest AND highest numbers during one day?!

I gave him a 1.5u dose this morning as suggested, since he had those coupld of 40's yesterday. Come on Rupert..... let me know the dose that works soon!
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468

rainbow_cat_by_herookamiraretm-d4e5u85.jpg
Yo! Rupert! DUDE! Really?
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468

Hi guys .. lets hope rupert clears this bounce quickly and comes down .. nice and slow though! Good luck with the new dose .. hope you see some nice flat numbers .. have a great day!
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 421

hoping for a gentle glide into pale yellow, dark blue today methinks.. fingers crossed!
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 421, +5 486 ?????

Don't feel alone, there's a lot of "don't get it" going around. Don't worry, what bounces up, bounces back down.
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468, +2 421, +5 486 ?????

I guess I get totally freaked because I think that the longer he's in these high numbers the greater the organ damage that is going on, and the less likely his pancreas will fix itself. surely having these huge numbers is doing irreversible damage? on the other hand, I'm rationalizing, that maybe the numbers are so high because his body is panicking because perhaps he doesn't actually need very much insulin at all.........
tested for ketones at lunchtime.. none. he's never shown any at any time. glucose was high in the urine, understandably.

trying to work the different angles here and still learning! hoping people will chime in with their experience. Rupie is not showing any neuropathy or any other signs (drinks fairly frequently but prefers to wait to go outside twice a day to drink from bowl outside rather than freely available in the house), not ravenously hungry, eating what i would consider normally. not dehydrated, coat good, attitude cat(2)_steam , tee hee. playing with toys, etc.etc. just still find it so so hard to believe he could be feeling so good, and looking so good, with these insane numbers. Wondering if I should get him back in to the vet (and then he'll be terrible for a few days - he INSTANTLY becomes so depressed, gets dehydrated and refuses to eat there).. to get his teeth rechecked and possibly get the extraction done. He looks so healthy right now, thinking maybe it would be better to do now whilst his body seems to be hanging in there, rather than waiting for these high numbers to ravage him and THEN try to find the cause.

or am I just panicking (I know I am!) too soon, expecting massive results instantly. as usual. !
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/ 421 +5/ 486 should i be worrie

heading home from work now, will test him just before I head out for my thursday night riding lesson. hubby will monitor him after his shot. very curious to see what the heck number he throw at me tonight.
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/ 421 +5/ 486 should i be worrie

I feel for you Pip. I'm there every night lately. I hope you get some answers I can use. :-D

Oops, I mean you and Rupert can use. *grin* :-D
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441 worriedd?

This is a bounce. A day or so in these numbers isn't going to cause irreversible organ damage. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. If you are going to panic, you're going to feel lousy for a while. If you're going to panic every time this happens, I'd recommend that you buy stock in the pharmaceutical company that manufactures the anti-anxiety medication of your choice!
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441 worriedd?

Hi Pip,
Rupert is bouncing off the greens he had last night. This is not unusual. His body was not used to the low (green) numbers and panicked, thus the high numbers you are seeing today. It can take up to 72 hours to clear a bounce, but he may clear sooner (ECID). The only thing you should do now is: nothing! Hold the new dose and give it a chance to settle in. If, after 72 hours, you see no improvement in his numbers, post and ask for experienced eyes on his SS.
Lantus likes an orderly approach. Every time you change the dose or skip a shot, or shoot a BCS shot it has an effect on the Lantus shed. Then you have to have patience while the shed readjusts. You took the mandatory reduction (because of the 49 last night) to your new dose of 1.5 units. But the shed is still at the fat 1.5 or skinny 1.75 level and needs a few cycles to get itself in order. In general, it is not advisable to jump around in dose just because numbers seem wonky. Hold each dose for the required amount of time (as per the protocol) unless it seems that Rupert is going dangerously low. If that happens, post and ask for help.

At this point in your Lantus adventure you really ought not to worry about the "permanent" damage that FD may or may not be doing to Rupert's body. Don't rush to conclusions. Just try your best to be consistent. He has just started on this journey, which, as everyone says, is a marathon, not a sprint.

Hang in there.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I see that in the time I struggled to write this Sienne has said the same thing, much more concisely. :smile:
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441 worriedd?

an excellent money making idea methinks! as it is my hubby had to go back on his super low dose anti depressant since his horse died. I'm not normally this fragile, usually the tough grin and bear it type (british upbringing you know!)... but lately it seems like the slightest thing throws me off. Speaking of which, I now have to get Harvey (horse) ready for his lesson, will be doing Rupies shot just before I leave in half an hour (6:30)....
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441 worriedd?

I think we need a new emoticon for people like me.. not sure where to find it, but in a horsie forum I"m on, when people are being demanding or silly or just plain daft,.. they have the 'frying pan to the head' THWACK! emoticon. methinks you guys seem to think I need that.
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441

heehee! you mean this one? ohmygod_smile

nope - we all get it because we all went through it too. makes no sense that they should go high like that, but they do. it's a protective mechanism that saves a cat's life if he truly does become hypoglycemic. unfortunately, the body doesn't seem to recognize that these aren't life-threatening numbers and it can let loose with a bounce from any number range. kooky kitties!

you're doing just fine, pip. if you watch the numbers on people's subject lines, once you start recognizing names you'll see patterns of one day of low numbers and then a day or two of higher numbers. i haven't opened a condo for punkin today, but yesterday he was in the nice 80's and this morning he was 386 and all afternoon he was 282. i'm waiting for those sweet little 80's to show up again - might be tomorrow or saturday.

cats are just hard to regulate, but the bouncing high numbers don't seem to be as big of a deal as sustained high. there's nothing we can do to speed up the resolution of the bounce anyway, so we just wait.

marje has some awesome sweet patience pants that she loans out. the sisterhood of the traveling patience pants, you know! :lol: she's gracie's bean - you can post on gracie's condo and ask her for a beautiful pair! :-D
 
Re: 02/23 Rupert AMPS 468,+2/421+5/486+11/441

PMPS of 1.5, his+11 reading was more like a +11.5 so 441 pretty close to right before shot.

now, +3 we are at 154. hm. be interesting to see what we get tomorrow morning! I don't want to stick him anymore tonight. his ears aren't bleeding as easily and he's getting pretty annoyed. I can poke him fairly easily the first time, but if it doesn't bleed well and I have to go for another stick he's not too impressed! thanx to everyone listening to me whine today!
 
we all get discouraged, no worries.

can't remember if you have the neosporin ointment with pain relief - if not, that will be something that rupert will appreciate!
 
Holy cow, what a drop, Rupert!
My Mookie is in the major league of bouncers, so much so that I freaked out this evening when he didn't bounce at his usual time and stayed green. :lol: Hang in there, Pip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top