02/25 Rupert AMP 248, +2.5,356+5, 372, PMPS448, +2.5/324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64539

very bright furry dude this morning. chased his littersister up the stairs and under the bed with a furious attitude. She was bugging him and he can only take so much! had about 1/4 cup of Merrick, his shot, and has gone outside to check out the puddles from the rainstorm.

yesterday someone told me that perhaps I should 'preload (feed) Rupert to prevent the massive dives).. so I did that a bit (food about an hour before the shot and then made sure he snacked a bit each hour after for the first couple) and it seemed to help(I tested BEFORE the food) . but then at the end of the day yesterday someone said to never feed for two hours before the shot (which is essentially what happens AMPS anyway), so now I"m a bit confused.

anyway.. happy with a yellow start and hoping for a slow slide downwards. Data shows that yellow start days tend to stay that way and then creep upwards to pink, so hoping today breaks the trend and starts a new downward path.
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248 and a question

Hi Pip,

The reason we don't feed two hours before AMPS and PMPS is so that the food will not skew the bg number. The reason we always get tests at AMPS and PMPS is to see if it is safe to give the shot. If food is on board, you cannot be sure how much it has influenced the number (the actual number--without the food influence-- might be much lower and might even be an indication that you should stall, shoot a lesser amount, or skip the shot altogether). So it is important to know exactly where you stand before you give a shot. Does this make sense to you?

I don't really understand "pre-loading", so I'll leave that for someone else to comment on.

In any event, you are doing a fine job with Rupert. Have a terrific weekend.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248 and a question

~O) ~O) ~O)

withholding food after +10 is done so that your PS will not be a food influenced number.

I believe "front loading" is a strategy of feeding mostly during the first half of a cycle, used by folks who have kitties that dive early in the cycle.
For example you would test/feed/shoot at PS time and then feed small meals at +1, +2 and +3.

early dives,or dives of any type where not part of Black Kittys dance, so I'm not speaking from personal experience with front loading.
I'm sure others with experience will be along
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248 and a question

I can speak from personal experience. Gabby is a diving diva and has an early nadir. As a result, the best way we've found to offset the early drops is to provide her food spread out over the early part of the cycle. She gets her food concentrated in meals at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3.
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248 and a question

ah, when i said that about not feeding Rupert in the 2 hours before his shot, i didn't understand why you were. just figured you didn't know - there is a ton to learn here, as you've no doubt noticed!! :-D

glad that you asked & everyone gave you an explanation - so you'd be giving most of his food with the shot and in the first 3 hours after. when we say "pre-shot" we mean with the shot. does that make sense now?
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248 and a question

ha ha! yes, makes sense now, although you have to admit 'pre shot'.. does sound rather like PRE shot! tee hee. anyway, I have been making sure he's eating after his shot, dribs and drabs over the next few hours. he's not a massive eater, likes to nibble now and then. Slowly gaining tons of info thru this process. Thanks!
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356

drat. back to pink so quickly. I guess he missed hanging out with Checkers! he did have a more food when he came in, Merrick Surf and Turf, probably has had a total of half a can of food so far since his shot. Sigh. was hoping he'd surf just yellow today. looking at the data I keep trying to pick out patterns, but I'm just not seeing them. sigh. Probably won't get to do a +6 today, we have to go out. will be interesting to see what happens PMPS. have a good day everyone.
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356, +5, 372

sort of holding steady in the pinks at +5. better than a massive dive and not too fast a climb I guess. he's had a lunchtime snack. hopefully PMPS will be back to a nice pale yellow. I'm off to the mall, going shopping for my birthday (tomorrow!)
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356, +5, 372

i think he's still bouncing from those blue numbers yesterday morning, or whatever he might have hit lower during the night right before that. once they start bouncing it can last 3 days before you see lower numbers again. no rhyme or reason to high numbers in the meantime - i don't think you're missing a pattern, i don't think it's there. just high.

in the meantime, just wait til you start seeing blue numbers again and then you'll know the bounce has cleared.

have fun shopping!
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356, +5, 372, PMPS 448

back to the reds with a 448, sigh. this is the 8th round of dosing at fat 1.5. Thoughts? he had fat 1.5 tonight as per usual. Tomorrow should we sneak to 1.75 or??
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356, +5, 372, PMPS 448

When a cat is bouncing, you don't want to increase the dose until the bounce clears. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear so I would wait.
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMPS 248, +2.5,356, +5, 372, PMPS 448

+2.5, 324

how can you tell when a bounce clears??? do you wait for three days of numbers in the yellows, pinks and scary reds to say that it's cleared ?
 
Re: 02/25 Rupert AMP 248, +2.5,356+5, 372, PMPS448, +2.5/32

If you start seeing blue and green numbers, then the bounce has cleared. If, after six cycles, you are still seeing high numbers, then you can increase the dose by .25 u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top