Kelly & Logan
Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6481
Logan ate well this morning. He had almost a whole can of FF. He also had a can of FF around 4 am. He definitely seems to feel better. I think he's just so happy to not have anything hanging out of him! We are, too. It's nice to see him w/o tubes and w/o his shirt...even if he looks pretty naked w/o his fur! Between ultra sounds and two surgeries, he's missing more than half of his fur! It'll grow back, though.
Jill, she didn't want me to go right back up to the 5.25 right away. She wanted to see how he did on the 3 units for a couple of days after cutting back on the pred and getting rid of most of his infection. I was going to see how he did today and this evening. I haven't gotten a ketone test since we got him home. If he has trace ketones, I'll go up right away. His pred dose was too high over the weekend.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6481
Logan ate well this morning. He had almost a whole can of FF. He also had a can of FF around 4 am. He definitely seems to feel better. I think he's just so happy to not have anything hanging out of him! We are, too. It's nice to see him w/o tubes and w/o his shirt...even if he looks pretty naked w/o his fur! Between ultra sounds and two surgeries, he's missing more than half of his fur! It'll grow back, though.
Jill & Alex said:hi kelly. i'm also concerned about logan's dose. has your vet told you to increase in increments of 0.5u and hold the dose for 3 days?
protocol suggests holding for as little as 2 days when nadirs are over 200 (0.25u increase) or 300 (0.5u increase), but i really have to wonder if "protocol" is even relevant here. has your vet said anything about going back up to 5.25u? his nadirs were still in the high 200s on that dose.
just wondering...
Jill, she didn't want me to go right back up to the 5.25 right away. She wanted to see how he did on the 3 units for a couple of days after cutting back on the pred and getting rid of most of his infection. I was going to see how he did today and this evening. I haven't gotten a ketone test since we got him home. If he has trace ketones, I'll go up right away. His pred dose was too high over the weekend.