Sasha&Tara
Member Since 2012
Hi Everyone, My 7 year old cat Sasha was diagnosed with diabetes in 5/2011. I have been giving him Lantus 2 Units twice daily. 6 AM and 6 PM are his shot times. I use a One Touch Ultra Glucometer to test his BG's.I always test preshot, and do curves during my days off of work. His normal preshot BG is usually around 350- he usually peaks between 100-200. I feed him all low carb, gluten free canned food...Merricks, Wellness and Fancy Feast Classics.
He was hospitalized February 26th because of ketones. 5 days later, my Sasha came home to me. The vet said the ketones were gone, and sent me home with Baytril antibiotics and a new bottle of Lantus.
Yesterday at 2:30 AM, his blood sugar skyrocketed. It was 485 at 12am. 412 at 2 am. I didnt know what to do. Thankfully, I found this website and the wonderful folks advised me to get ketone strips. Sasha tested positive for moderate Ketones. I do not have the money to hospitalize him again. The 5000 dollars I spent to hospitalize him last week was LITERALLY my savings. I took him to a vet that allowed me to post date a check until I get my next paycheck. He gave me SubQ fluids to take home and told me to raise his insulin to 3 units twice daily.
His ideal weight is about 12 pounds, right now he is 9 pounds.
Sasha is eating, but very HC canned food. Very thirsty and lethargic. Very hungry but will only eat HC FF with Gravy. About 4 cans in 3 hours. I gave him 100mls of the subq's at 6AM. He had another round of SubQ's at 5PM. I gave him his 3 units of Lantus at 6 PM. He was at 424 at 10:30 PM, and 443 at 12:30 AM.
I was able to get the R insulin as suggested to me. Am just waiting to hear back on what I should do with it.. I will be off of work to take care of him tomorrow. I'm going to catch a few hours sleep now but will be up early this morning. Thank you so much for reading this!!!
He was hospitalized February 26th because of ketones. 5 days later, my Sasha came home to me. The vet said the ketones were gone, and sent me home with Baytril antibiotics and a new bottle of Lantus.
Yesterday at 2:30 AM, his blood sugar skyrocketed. It was 485 at 12am. 412 at 2 am. I didnt know what to do. Thankfully, I found this website and the wonderful folks advised me to get ketone strips. Sasha tested positive for moderate Ketones. I do not have the money to hospitalize him again. The 5000 dollars I spent to hospitalize him last week was LITERALLY my savings. I took him to a vet that allowed me to post date a check until I get my next paycheck. He gave me SubQ fluids to take home and told me to raise his insulin to 3 units twice daily.
His ideal weight is about 12 pounds, right now he is 9 pounds.
Sasha is eating, but very HC canned food. Very thirsty and lethargic. Very hungry but will only eat HC FF with Gravy. About 4 cans in 3 hours. I gave him 100mls of the subq's at 6AM. He had another round of SubQ's at 5PM. I gave him his 3 units of Lantus at 6 PM. He was at 424 at 10:30 PM, and 443 at 12:30 AM.
I was able to get the R insulin as suggested to me. Am just waiting to hear back on what I should do with it.. I will be off of work to take care of him tomorrow. I'm going to catch a few hours sleep now but will be up early this morning. Thank you so much for reading this!!!