3/10 Sasha +12 600 PMPS 442 L+2/R+2 391 L+3/R+3 342 L+5 317

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Hi Sasha,
I don't have any experience with R. I will pm Dyana for you as she's usually up early. How is Sasha feeling?

Edit: Oops! I meant to say "Tara"! :-D I pm'd Dyana. Hang in there Sasha. Did you get some rest?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Ann, thank you.. he looks ok, is thirsty... I have never seen this before...
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Tara, do you have a back-up meter that you can test again and compare with your main meter. Most of us have a second meter as a back-up.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Yes, I just vtested him again with it..It reads no number..Just "HIGH". I have never seen this.... have you?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Hi Tara, it has happened before with someone. I also pm'd Linda & Weezer. How soon do you shoot?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Tara, I'm here. Let me take a look at your ss, and grab a ~O)
I'll be right back. You shoot in 15 minutes, right?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Dyana yes...and thank you!

Ann thank you so much too! oh man, this really is a roller coaster....

I did just test him again and he's still ketone negative..
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Tara, was the last R at AM +9? I'm still looking at your ss. And I have just woke up, so I haven't looked at your condo from last night yet.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Okay, I'm still trying to figure this out. Go ahead and get your R out and start to measure 0.75.
It will be between the first 1/2 unit mark and the first 1 unit mark.
Let me know when you have given that to her.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Tara, there was some discussion about whether to increase the R or the Lantus, and I think the concensious sp? last night was to increase the R and leave the Lantus as is, but that 600 is a suprise.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

ok,I just did.. he's fighting me today...do i stay with the 3 Lantus?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

I'm trying to make a decision. Bear with me.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Go ahead and give 3.25 of Lantus.
I will not be around later as I have to work today until midnight, so you may be asked to change the dose of Lantus again tonight.

ETA: To newbies and lurkers, this dose was raised like this to combat high bg numbers in a cat that just had moderate to large ketones. Please do not copy this for your cat.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

No problem, THANK YOU!!!!!!!! And do I still give him HC food? I doubt he'll touch his Wellness... I am so sorry to be hitting you with all this...
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

It's okay. I would just try to lower carb food first, and then if he turns up his nose, then try to add some LC food with some HC (1/4 LC to 3/4 HC) and see if he'll eat that.

Test at +1 +2 +3 and +4, of course, but I'm going to go back to sleep after I hear from you that he's eating, and I will set an alarm to wake up and check on you at +2.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Have you thought about the daylight savings time and changing your shot schedule to be one hour earlier?

If not, and you start shooting at 7:00am and 7:00pm, then I will not be here most days, as I have to log off at 7:00am to get ready for work and leave the house by 7:30am.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

If he doesn't like the mix, then just stay with the HC, for now.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Honestly, I forgot all about it! But yes, I have to shoot at 6AM, I leave for work at 7 too... okay, he's eating Wellness because I spruced it up.. Thank you so much, Dyana!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha plse help with R + 11/600+BG??

Like I said, I'm going to set an alarm and check on you at +2, so please post your numbers. There may be others on board, by then, anyway.

I'm guessing that some of your time change options would be:

1 hour early (if he's high enough, like over 300)
Shoot at 5:00pm tonight

30 minute changes
5:30pm Sat.
6:30am Sun. (which was the old 5:30am)
6:00pm Sun. (which was the old 5:00am)
6:00am Mon.

15 minute increments
5:45pm Sat.
6:30am Sun. (the old 5:30am)
6:15pm Sun. (the old 5:15am)
6:00am Mon. (the old 5:00am)

Someone will help you with this later.

Test for ketones when you get a chance.

He's eating, right? Seems okay?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +11 600+

Yes, he's eating a litle at a time, but thats ok... .. I'll be awake...lol. He's wearing me out. See you at +2, thanks again!!!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495

Good morning!!

Those black patches on a SS ca be disconcerting. It happens.

Please monitor carefully. You're already seeing a good sized drop at +1. (If you look at the "ideal" curve in the New to the Group sticky, you'll see that a +1 usually reflects a food spike. The +2 is usually about the same as your pre-shot. When either of these are lower than the pre-shot, it could mean you've got a busy cycle ahead. It's also why many of us like to get a +2 test since it can give you a clue as to how the cycle may go.)
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495

I couldn't go back to sleep. I tried. I kept thinking I had to add this
ETA: To newbies and lurkers, this dose was raised like this to combat high bg numbers in a cat that just had moderate to large ketones. Please do not copy this for your cat. to one of your posts, so I did to a previous one.

How is Sasha? Is he eating okay?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

Thanks Sienne & Gabby! I am going to check out that link!!!

Dyana, he's coming down nicely!

He's using the litter box a lot. But he's purring and grooming himself. Still keytone negative though. He's eating only LC Wellness, but hasnt gone through a whole can. If it was the Fancy Feast with Gravy, he wouldve ate 3 cans by now. I'm sprucing his food up, and he takes a couple of bites here and there.... but I'm definitely glad to see his numbers coming down. That was a shocker to me this morning! I never saw that! I am taking him to the vets at 12 for a littlel check up-I want to get more subq fluids from him to take home because they really came in handy this week!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

Geez Linda...it sure did! That R stuff is crazy, it is completely hidden away in my fridge.... but yes, thankfully it's working...and I'm so glad Dyana was up. I FREAKED when I saw that number. I am just so worried about going back to work, what's going to happen...gotta figure that out. I wish I could come home at lunch to check on him, but I work 20 minutes away in Manhattan and usually take the train. If I was supposed to work today I dont know what I would've done.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

those black numbers are ugly to look at, but they do happen. You did a good job getting the number down. ((((Tara))))

One reason we haven't pushed you to change Sasha's food to low carb is that all the extra insulin (higher Lantus dose plus lots of R) is one of the things that is helping keep the ketones down. For the moment, the carbs are actually a *good* thing because it is giving us the wiggle room to use extra insulin. It's very counterintuitive. It also requires a ton of monitoring on your part. You are doing *GREAT* work! Soon, as long as the ketones stay negative, it will be smart to try to get the food switched. It might not be easy, because Sasha is getting spoiled by having yummy gravy food every day. :mrgreen: I do think that whole combination of things, the yummy food, the fluids, the extra insulin, and your hard work is what is helping Sasha pull through this.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

Tara, It's so nice to hear how much better Sasha is doing now, and glad for Dyana being an early bird! Yes, the R good stuff! :lol: Good luck at the Vetty later.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

Thank you Libby and Ann! Im just so scared of whats going to happen when I go back to work! He usually doesnt eat this much, I feed in him in the AM and leave out frozen food during the day so he and my other cat Ruby can nibble on it during the day. And then when I get home its time for his shot again. I tried the timed feeder once, Sasha was knocking it around trying to get into it, and Ruby was scared of it. LOL, I'm thinking about calling in a vacation day for Monday...I'm really burning my V days up.. but thats all I can do for now. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417

We don't get lunch hours at work, but I work 25 minutes from home and on rare occasions, I used to beg my boss to let me race home for a test.
That 10 minutes at home is enough time for a test, to see if he's eating, and throw out some extra carb food if needed.
And, it gives peace of mind.
Maybe, you could do something like that, on occasion. Just a thought.
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401

Dyana my boss is a monster...but I'm thinking I'll be driving in on days like these, if I drive, I'll have that extra 10 minutes with him. It's a good idea, and the only way!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401

Cheering you on from the sidelines :-D

Sometimes all it takes is that little extra juice increase to get them to finally start coming down. Good luck today!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401 L+4/R+4 365

Thank you Violet and Angela! :-D

He's coming down nicely, vet appointment at 12... He only would only eat one can of Low carb FF so far today as opposed to the 4 cans of HC I've been giving him.. should I wait til after the vet to give him a mix of hc and lc food?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+1/R+1 495 L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401

~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)
Good morning - interesting morning today. . .
Happy to see the numbers coming down and most of all thrilled to see negative ketones :-D :-D :-D

Tara please make sure that each morning you check your previous days condo for late night posts from night owls ;-)

I 'm scratching my head a bit about that 600 - and wondering where Sasha may have gone during the bottom half of the pm cycle.
Did he have any food after PM+5?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401 L+4/R+4 365

Good morning Sandy! lol, I feel like its 5 PM right now...wasnt expecting that 600. He ate at +5 and then we called it a night. No food after that. I know, I saw your post after I was screaming for R help this AM, I really freaked... thank you for posting that. I have been in this apt for 3 days watching everything I DVR'D, lol...minimal human contact and forgot about the hour change tonight!!!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+2/R+2 417 L+3/R+3 401 L+4/R+4 365

Hi, we just came back from the vets. The check up was pretty minimal, he did confirm that Sasha doesnt have a Kidney infection when looking over the ER paperwork. I have a copy of all his paperwork now. Just fed him half wellness and half ff gravy mix, as he wants nothing to do with just wellness on its own.
Sandy I"m in for the night. May step out for a half hour around 8 PM, but other than that I'm in again...lol
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+3/R+3 401 L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 3

hi tara - just wanted to give you a little encouragement. we had sweet Gus on here who had HI as his numbers nearly daily for the first several months. it's disconcerting, but it happens and fortunately, they do come down.

also about work - you're having a crazy rollercoaster right now, but it won't stay this way. as he gets better things will be SO much easier for you and you won't have to worry quite as much.

great job handling him this morning! i'm so glad dyana is up early and able to check in on you - you've got quite the A Team in all the folks who've been posting above and helping you with sasha!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+3/R+3 401 L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 3

Julie, I am confident his numbers are going to go down with all of the support I'm recieving! I wish I had known about this board sooner!!!!Thank you for cheering me on, you just brought a smile to my face!!! :-D :-D :-D Hugs to you and Punkin!!!!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

Well, I am waiting for him to pee and take a ketone test...fingers crossed. He's creeping up again now..he's very sleepy today.

PS: Just got a test...still negative!!! :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

I'm pretty sure he's going to be in high numbers at 5, so I am going to shoot him at 5 PM instead of 6 if thats okay because of the time change I completely forgot about. Just wondering if I should stick with the 3.25 units?
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

Tara....glad things went "well" ;-) I know he's just a so-so vet but glad you got more fluids.

Speaking of fluids....why don't we try just giving him 100 mls once a day at a time that will not interfere with his "R". Please continue to check ketones 2-3 times a day and if we see ANY trace of ketones at all, we want to up the fluids again to 75mls bid (twice/day). Does that sound ok? That will minimize his pokes for fluids. As usual, please do the full body check before you give him fluids. As he feels better and does better, he may not absorb the fluids as fast if he doesn't need them. He should pee them out but I just want to be certain we don't overwhelm his system.

We're talking about the dose for tonight; right now I am assuming we will keep him at 3.25u lantus but if there's a change, one of us will let you know.

Great work there!!!!

PS....and even though I've never had the good fortune of hugging Punkin, I've seen him in videos and he DOES look incredibly huggable!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

Okay Marge, sounds like a plan! If need be I can give him the R again tonight. I'm going to step out for under an hour to my aunts to pick up the supplies around 8 PM... and then I will be home again! :smile:
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

Hi Sandy, I would say about 9 oz...he's being pickier because it's half hc half low carb!!!

Yes...24 hours ketone free!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!! :-D
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

OMG Sandy I just saw Black Kitty's video!That is soooo cool! Had to watch it twice....amazing!!! Black Kitty is a handsome boy!!!!The paper towels and toilet paper had me rolling!
 
Re: 3/10 Sasha +12 600+ L+4/R+4 365 +6 373 +8 386 +9 417

:-D BK is totally off the hook. . .

In light of todays higher numbers go ahead and shoot 1 hour early
Stick with the 3.25u Lantus.
I'd like to see the PMPS number and then make a call on possible R.

Have you officially begun the transition from HC to LC?
I think you can, however I think you must be very consistent and do it very slowly.
I think someone mentioned to start with 1/4 LC 3/4 HC. That sounds good to me. The important thing is Sasha get enough calories, so keep track of the total amount he eats per 24 hours.

I'll see you at PMPS, which is 5pm eastern, correct?

house keeping note - please put that last ketone test result on ss. . .thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top