3/11 Checkers/ pmbg 51 +.5/94 +1.25/167(kibble?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/11 Checkers amps 271

Morning Barb - I hear you on the time thing.... Nice that checkers has given you that permission slip to get some extra shut eye, get a nap in. :-D

Quite the day yesterday for Checkers. What a morning! Here's hoping he has good, safe Numbers today, Right Checkers?

Enjoy your day Barb!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers amps 271

Hi guys .. yes, yesterday was exciting and with all that excitement I have to say I'm very impressed with checks amps! Enjoy the rest while you can get it .. I think checks has plans in store for today .. we just have to wait and see what they are!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers amps 271

Nice day indeed for Checks yesterday, maybe a little bounce goin on this morning?

I hope you had a nice BTB Barb and have a great day!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+2/229+4/66+5/33+5.5/46

Oops, I thought I had time after the +4, for the yummies to work, Yikes! Didn't expect a drop like that!

271.....amps .5u Lev..FF lc
229 +2.....more lc
66 +4.....gravy/food to keep the surf...stop the drop
33 +5.....more gravy food with couple drops Karo
47 +5.5...chicken snack...all that gravy's gotta raise now..
80 +6......no food. napping
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+2/229+4/66+5/33+5.5/46

Looks like Checkers still likes to zoom up and down, just on a smaller track! Congrats on the reducie!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

This is not fun anymore!!


71.....amps .5u Lev..FF lc
229 +2.....more lc
66 +4.....gravy/food to keep the surf...stop the drop
33 +5.....more gravy food with couple drops Karo
47 +5.5...chicken snack...all that gravy's gotta raise now..
80 +6......no food. napping
47 +7.......MC
38 +7.5...plain gravy

What is going on here, please?? I really don't know today's from last night's shot. :YMSIGH:
Will update SS now.

eta: he is hurting. The Duralactin hasn't helped so far, it seems. Maybe he overdid it yesterday. I'll need to give bupe, and don't know if it affects bg.
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

Hi Barb

You are doing superb and you know how to control it....with food. And that's what you are doing. I have found that with Gracie, when her lev shed gets really full if she is clearing a bounce and is ready for a reduction, she does this exact same thing. It's the only time anymore that she dives like this. So...it's ok...you know how to deal with dives and you know how to deal with low numbers. He came back down because he onset. You are used to an early onset but with lev, you are getting a late nadir and then on top of that, an onset a little later in the cycle PLUS the HC is wearing off.

When kitties like Checkers and Gracie get such great overlap and they are really low going into that onset time, you gotta be sure they come up a bit. As we discussed yesterday, it looks like Checkers onsets around +6; today he was 80 because he'd been given all the gravy to get him up (good job!!) but as soon as it wore off....then you are seeing his onset numbers (47 at +7). As hard as it is to do, you probably would have wanted to feed that 80. It's a learning curve and you are doing GREAT!!!!!!!!

You'll get used to his patterns I promise. It's just all new and different and bizarre right now.

Good luck on the reduction!!! Way to go Checkers!!!!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

:shock: :shock: oh wow.... keep the gravy coming, karo too if you have too. He did earn a reduction - congrats on that. What is up with these diving kitties today. Hang in there Barb. You are doing what you should be doing to control the numbers.

I am sorry that he is hurting... No clue on how bupe affects BG.
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

71.....amps .5u Lev..FF lc
229 +2.....more lc
66 +4.....gravy/food to keep the surf...stop the drop
33 +5.....more gravy food with couple drops Karo
47 +5.5...chicken snack...all that gravy's gotta raise now..
80 +6......no food. napping
47 +7.......MC
38 +7.5...plain gravy
57+8....waited half hour for gravy to kick in.

Thank you Michelle and Marje. Boy I really needed the support today. This lev stuff is complicated. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

Boy, I wish he'd settle into a nice routine. This hourly testing is gonna have me eating PB&J sammiches all next month. :lol:
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

((((((barb)))))

this sounds stressful! just remind yourself that you are in control. gravy is your friend.

if checkers is feeling pain that can elevate his BG numbers. the bupe relieves the pain and it could bring the numbers down. nothing like having another factor to try to figure things in.

we're with you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

wow! what a ride. Still stunned at the difference between lantus and lev for Checkers.. ...

hang in there, it certainly seems like you are on the right track!!!!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.5/46+6/80+7/47+7.5 38

Checkers does get a reduction for the 30s and for how hard Barb is working!!!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+5.Need food advice !

This question is probably too late, but it's +11 .....and he is asking for food....he is at 45 at +11.
Oh heck, it's too late....I gave him a little mc. He was so pathetic.

71.....amps .5u Lev..FF lc
229 +2.....more lc
66 +4.....gravy/food to keep the surf...stop the drop
33 +5.....more gravy food with couple drops Karo
47 +5.5...chicken snack...all that gravy's gotta raise now..
80 +6......no food. napping
47 +7.......MC
38 +7.5...plain gravy
57+8....waited half hour for gravy to kick in.
67 +9
45 +11....gave about a teas mc...normally don't feed after +10, but this is low for him and he asked for food.
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/amps 271+4/66+5/33+11/45

Thank you Sienne. I apologize for being so much trouble this week.

Now I don't know what to do about tonight' shot. He is at 51 and that might be food related a little....
is this a case of wait and see? I don't have BOS today. I have anxiety about all these low numbers.
Waiting to see if he is dropping .
Uh oh, he got some kibble behind my back, he changed places with Clancy. He couldn't have grabbed much, but anything could raise his bg.

. Shot time was 7:30 DST
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 Waiting

Oh my gracious sakes - I take off for a couple of hours and look what he does. Barb - omg... well, no expert here by any means, but yes, I would stall and see if you get rising Numbers. The bottom line is that you have to be comfortable with what you are shooting. If the BOS aren't there, well then they aren't ... You have to be comfortable with shooting low, plus be able to stay up and monitor. You could shoot a reduced dose, or skip. I wish you luck. UP CHECKERS! :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 Waiting

I've made a decision. I am skipping shot tonight.

We are already one half hour past shot time. He is at 94, but that may be food related....I still don't understand lev action.
If I shoot, I'll be a wreck tonight, not knowing where his numbers are going. I can't test all night.
He is already upset at all the poking today, and ran and hid, when he saw the meter in my hand.

. I have to take a reduction tonight, bringing his dose down to .25. It won't hurt him to pretend it was a fur shot.

Michelle, we were posting at the same time.
What I forgot to say is, with the decrease I have to take tonight anyway, a reduced dose would be extremely difficult.
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 Waiting

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! :thumbup flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat
LOOK AT CHECKERS GOOOOO!
A 30'S NUMBER IS ALWAYS A DOSE REDUCTION!
Congratulations to you & Checkers!!!!! Great Job--you will get used to the new lev. schedule, just add data & you'll see how it goes!! Standing behind your decision, as you need to think of safety first!
Big Hugs & Love--Proud of you both!! From us!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

At this rate, you may not be on lev long enough to get used to the curve! Decision made, take a deep breath, make that a couple of deep breaths, and get a good night's sleep. :-D
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

Hi Barb,

Just got to see Checkers' day. Wow! Congrats on the dose reduction. I'm sorry I wasn't on the board today to add some support, but you did so well. Great job! I can well understand how tired you must be and skipping tonight was OK. It will drain the shed, but you might get a bounce tomorrow. I think it is pretty clear that he needs a lower dose. Don't worry about how strange the Lev cycle seems after being so used to Lantus. You will learn as you go along.

Get a good night's sleep and tomorrow will be easier!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

Barb --

Can you get a couple of tests to see when Checkers' numbers start heading up? It will give you a clue as to the Lev duration.
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

Yowza...what a day for you guys!!! Congrats on the reducie, and I hope you're able to catch up on some sleep tonight. Have a great night!!
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

I think you made the right decision, Checkers will recover quickly (I almost said 'bounce back' :lol: ) and you can get some worry-free rest. His shed needs to drain a bit anyway. I am still just dumbstruck by Checks' transformation!!! :shock:
 
Re: 3/11 Checkers/ pmps 51 skipped shot

Hi Barb - I think it is a good decision for you. It's been one long day.... And I know Checkers will recover quickly, they usually do. I like Sienne's comment - and I think it is a good idea: get some tests tonight so you can see when he starts to come up. It will help alot with your Lev data.

Rest well - you certainly deserve it! You did well today. I know how stressed you were.

and gotcha on the reduced dose. I should have known...
 
Thanks everyone.
This would be easier to figure out, if I hadn't let him get in kibble..twice. :oops: Guess I should get some sleep :roll:
I'm sorry I can't get to condos tonight. Checkers is buped, and I'm medicated also, so we both are going to sleep.

Thank you all for the encouragement.
Oh goody, I wonder what tomorrow will bring. :-D
 
AWESOME!!!!!!!!

funny-pictures-choreographer-cat-teaches-thriller-dance.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top