3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46,+6 68,+6.5 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67456&p=734292#p734292

yesterday recap:

AMPS 424
+2.5 322
+6.5 241
PMPS 234
+4 304.2

Pretty flat day yesterday for Rupie, and today back up into that Red for the morning. Was happy to see yellow for PMPS last night though.. hopeful for more action today. WCR: Was outside on the deck when I cam down this morning, BEBT, vocal, sleek, shiny, healthy happy cat, so the red number doesn't bother him one bit. He had his steak treats for poke this morning and gobbled them up. Noticed most definite reduction in the amount he's drinking (he looks totally hydrated so I'm taking this as a good thing). Will weigh him again, think he's gained a little.. hopefully not too much. I'm hoping that the high reds in the morning are partially a 'sunshine' effect although he could still be clearing a bounce from that 68 a couple of days ago.

Hope everyone is well in LL , hugs and thoughts to BigMac and everyone else that needs a happy day.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460 grrrr

Hi guys .. I think these high numbers bother us more then they do our kitties .. sounds like overall he's doing much better, which is what we need to focus on .. numbers will come down in time .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362

ok. +2.5 and back to pink....so.. seen this pattern before so I predict (HA HA HA cos we know how well that always works!) yellow at lunchtime again.. at least he is getting a consistent dip at nadir now instead of a rise..... this could still be bounce clearing too. don't want to raise the dose just yet but if he gives me a few more days in this red/pink/yellow/pink/red curve we'll talk!

LOLCAT__psychic_by_Mjag.jpg
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362

Definitely keep the whole cat in mind, not just the numbers. Nice action, let's see some yellow and maybe blue, Rupert.
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362,+6 302

+6 and 302.. not quite into the yellow as predicted. darn! hoping he stays here and doesn't have another big fat red at PMPS.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362,+6 302

Rupert!!!!!!!! sending you a numbers coach...please listen to da goggie!!!!!!!

a4779256-9357-4afc-a160-7b12d8fda5e7.jpg
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362,+6 302

The threat of an increase has been issued, Rupie, so heed the warning and come down for your mama bean! Hope you're having a good day, Pip.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS 460,+2.5 362,+6 302,PMPS 295

just snuck into the yellow for PMPS, so three nights in a row for yellow PMPS. Slowly making progress. will hold to the 2.5 for tonight's shot.. give him another couple of cycles and see what happens. Last night we were going out so he got quite a large dinner and a follow up snack as I left the house (just didn't want him to dive whilst we were out, so I think the pink last night and red this morning may have been the result of that. Tonight he's back on 'rations' (!) so fingers crossed. For some reason I have a feeling we'll see some action tonight... again... I should know better.... trying to predict things is ridiculous!

sykikcat.JPG
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139

well well! I kinda had a feeling he'd do something this evening. serious zoom down to the blue floor at +2. He was sitting on the back of the couch in his usual spot and we were eating dinner and watching Top Gear on tv, when he got up and came and sat right next to me, swatted me a couple of times and then started cleaning. Interesting. He gave me a bit of a swat to get my attention. Decided to test him at +2 instead of the usual +2.5... and BAZINGA! lower than I expected! He had some steak treats for his poke, and then got up and had about a tablespoon of SurfNTurf. He's now gone out for a pee. Looks good, sleek, active, happy. Hope the quick dive doesn't make him bounce too much tomorrow. Silly boy....but I AM glad to see a return to the blues for a little while!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139

Pip,
What are your thoughts on feeding him @ +1 and testing @ +2, especially when you have a feeling he may take a heavy drop?
Steep drops contribute to producing those high numbers you detest (and Im sure Rupert does not like much either). It is possible (but not guaranteed) you can help prevent these swings a bit, if you choose.

Glad he seems to be feeling well the last few days or so!

ETA: Feed at shot time and +1, test +2 (you are good at getting those +2 tests!)
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3-57!!

he had a snack at+1, I gave him a snack at +2 as well (surfnturf about a tablespoon each time).. he's had some more steak pieces but I"m gonna give him a little Friskies now. He seems quite happy, I can't imagine what it must feel to drop that fast though? You'd think it would feel very odd. I know when I scarf a chocolate bar in the afternoon at work, I get that sugar low about an hour later and feel quite dopey!. He seems alert. Hungry.. gonna feed him now. Looks like I might be up for another few hours! Don't begrudge it, hope he doesn't bounce too high from this one... guess it's all Liver training at this stage!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3-57!!

Nope, does not feel to good (from what I have witnessed in my cat).

I'm thinking a higher carb content @ +1, maybe +2 at times could prevent the dive/bounce. What do you think?

Try not to over carb him quite yet. He may be asking for a reduction. But do monitor, since nadir may be in a few hours.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57!!

Wow, Rupert, you are a wild thang tonight!! How come your bean didn't give you a :mrgreen: icon?
Liz
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57!!

Hi Pip...Rupie is keeping you busy again! Id be sure and recheck him 30 mins from when you fed ...this is early in the cycle to be this low.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57!!

it's interesting. he seems to hit low earlier than you'd think. seems to be his pattern lately. Surely +2 is too early for the insulin to truly be kicking in? all very interesting anyway. and yes, I'll be testing him again shortly. Right now he's sitting here telling me that it's time to go feed the horses so I'd better get to it!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57!!

Pip

As fast as he is coming down, I think you should put off feeding the horses until you know he is safe. If he was at or past his nadir, you might have more time but you need to test him ...probably pretty close to now and make sure you got the drop slowed down or stopped. K?

Eta: if you look at a typical lantus curve, the +2 should be close to or the same as your PS. If it is not, you should be prepared for an active cycle. I think if you get a +2 this much lower than the PS, you should have fed some LC to slow him down and retested at +2.5. Yes...the insulin can onset that early. ECiD.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert AMPS PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57!!

He comes with me when I feed the horses so I have eyes on him all the time, it's a 5 minute job, he actually 'shows' me the way down to the barn, sits outside the door, waits for me to throw hay at the horses and then 'shows' me the way back to the house by jogging up the path (it's his exercise for the evening!). He's looking good. The bit of Friskies at +3 seems to have slowed him down for now.....he's had a bit more SurfNTurf, some more steak bits (hmm. is this his cunning way to get extra raw steak?!!) and is now sitting under the dining room table looking a bit grumpy because he figures it's bedtime now and why the heck is mum still up pestering me!

so surfing the green for a little while at 75 at +3.75ish.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57, +3.75= 75

Super...nice job of stopping that fast drop. I'd be sure and keep an eye on his numbers as he could come back down if the carbs wear off....or that steep dive could send him right back up. Hope not!

Have a great night.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57, +3.75= 75

Rupert's condo is interesting tonight. Glad to see the 75! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57, +3.75= 75

Thanx everyone! the last few times he's done this I've panicked a little and gone straight to the HC, but this time, with your support, I stuck to the LC/MC stuff and didn't go overboard and hopefully it was just enough to slow him down and let him surf a bit and not bounce too far back up.. guess we'll see. I'm learning that he seems to be a pretty carb sensitive boy which hopefully will stand us in good stead in 'future' episodes (nudge nudge wink wink).....

I'll check him again at 11pm (another 30 mins) which will be +5 and that will give me an idea if I can head to bed or not. The little bit of food he had should be wearing off by then (??? does anyone have stats on how soon the food kicks in and how long it lasts??)

Sure is interesting lately! And I can see how incredibly useful it is to have the various spreadsheets and charts to be able to see 'history' and 'patterns' start to emerge. Not that they don't always keep us guessing!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, +2 139,+3 57, +3.75= 75

As in everything , it depends on the cat but about two hours is a typical time.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46!!

yes ma'am! He's sitting on the couch looking like he won the lottery.. yummy fancy feast turkey and gravy! nom nom. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46!!

Looks like you had similar numbers four nights ago, so you do have some experience with this scenario. :-D I'll be around for a while and will keep an eye on you and Rupie.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57

so, +5.5 (well really 5 and 20 mins) and he's snuck up to 57 again.. although all these numbers are within the variance allowable so seems like he's fairly flat at the moment. He's reclining somewhat regally against a pillow on the couch, watching "My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding" with me... probably as shocked as I am!

thanx for sticking around! I think I have this sort of under control! I think this little rise is due to the carbs kicking in??? I'll check him again at midnight (30 mins from now) and see what's going on there. Just made myself some toast and marmalade and trying to stay awake!!!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57

Yes, it's carbs kicking in, which is what we want. Because it's a number influenced by carbs, we try to get at least two rising numbers before we stop testing.

I'm up with Mookie because I skipped a reduction and went with the full dose, so I have to monitor at least through +6.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57, +

+6 and 68... still surfing.. wheeeeeeeeeeeee. He's looking just fine. had a bit more steak bits for his ear poke, has finished off about a tablespoon of HC stuff in total over the past hour I guess. Nothing in the past half an hour. Trying to see a rising number without too much food influence. He's on the dining room chair now which is where he usually sleeps at night. Polly has stolen the Primo spot on the couch, Sophie and Bumley have each end of the cushions on the couch and Oliver has the big leather chair.. which leaves me... yeah. .. the floor! ha ha. Hubby has gone to bed, hoping I can go soon too! not that I want to ruin Rupies fun surfing time though!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57, +

good job! it does get easier over time. rupie's numbers are soooo much better than a while back; it's great to see. i'd still get at least a +6.5 to make sure he's on the rise, if you can stay awake. have a good sleep, pip.
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57, +

HOping to get a 6.5, he's getting pretty miffed at all the ear pokes tonight! Then I'm hoping it's time for nighty night!! Thanx for hanging with us!

119434ae-71c6-43a1-bdaa-81e75a0f5dfb.jpg
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46, 5.5 57, +

+6.5 and we have a 91. Okay, I think I"m okay to get a nap! Thanx for sticking around!!!!! Fingers and paws crossed he doesn't bounce too high for his AMPS#!!
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46,+6 68,+6.5

Way to earn a reduction Rupie :mrgreen:

Vyktor has had some very low numbers very early in the cycle lately, maybe Rupert has been taking lessons...
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46,+6 68,+6.5

Hey Pip, I just got caught up and "re-lived" your day and evening. GREAT JOB!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Now, Rupert, don't bounce too high today!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/30 Rupert PMPS 295, ,+3 57, +3.75 75,+5 46,+6 68,+6.5

Lovely job of steering Rupert's curve!!

Surely +2 is too early for the insulin to truly be kicking in?
A lot depends on the cat -- as in all things, ECID. If you look at Gabby's SS, her onset is at about +2. Remember, not all cats have their nadir at +6. If a cat tends to have an early nadir, it's very likely that onset will be earlier, as well. It's a matter of knowing your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top