4/19 Orange AMPS 365, +5 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68928

Hi everyone!

Dose question: Asking again - should I raise him up to 0.75 units tonight? Last time I asked was Sunday and Marjorie and Gracie said:

So the next time he comes down into low yellow or blue for his PS, then please post and ask for help OR if, after six cycles, he's still high, then increase by .25u.

It's been 7 cycles since then, although we did have an incident with hamburger buns in cycle 2. We're still seeing about the same numbers as last week. That means its time to go up, right?

Other stuff:

Orange tried some other food yesterday! Wellness core Chicken, Turkey, and Chicken Liver. Ok, it was just a few bites, but I'm super excited because it was a much different consistency than his normal Turducken so I might actually be able to get him to eat some low carb pate style foods down the road!

On the other hand, there's my civie Charlie. She was all sorts of happy the first day I brought wet food home (Purina DM) and scarfed it down. Then continuted to eat all of Orange's reject flavors when I was trying to find something that he would like. Then she slowly started deciding that she didn't want any more wet food - even the ones she scarfed down at the begining and even with chicken/treats/fortiflora mixed in. I tried one of the gravy flavors with her and she seems to like that at the moment - so now I'm feeding her some of that, a little of her old dry food, and still trying to get some Orange kitty approved food in the mix. And I thought Orange was going to be the difficult one! Sigh, it would be so much easier if I could just feed them together. I'll keep working at her.
 
Re: 4/19 Orange AMPS 365, +5 149 - Dose Increase?

i think that was fine. here's the part of the protocol that you're looking at in this phase:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

orange had a nadir today of 149, and that's pretty good. you want to move him towards the under 100 numbers, and hopefully that little bit extra of insulin will do the trick. you're doing a great job catching a mid-cycle number in each cycle. don't worry too much about the high preshot numbers - the nadirs are the most important part.

it can be educational to see numbers at different times in the cycle, so maybe sometimes catch a different time. they tell us different things.
 
Re: 4/19 Orange AMPS 365, +5 149 - Dose Increase?

Ive got cans of the Wellness Core Chicken for my Rosy too, but havent give her. I found on the ingredient: dried ground potatoes, cranberries.... Have you notice any change in Orange bg after have it?
 
Re: 4/19 Orange AMPS 365, +5 149 - Dose Increase?

Thanks Julie.

Tortie - I haven't noticed a change with Orange's numbers with Wellness core, but he didn't have that much of it. Also, its pretty close in carbs to his normal food (9%) which also has some less than ideal ingredients: sweet potatoes, carrots, snow peas, apples, cranberry. So, its probably pretty similar to what he's eating now anyway. But hey, I've got to go right now with what he's willing to eat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top