4/19 Morlei AMPS 275 +2 262 +3 211 +4 220 +5 173 +6 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69035

I have the DH texting me Morlei's numbers every hour. I'm trying to get those +2's so we can see how much she spikes from the food...today she actually didn't though. I've been wondering if the two FF flavors I feed her have different effects on her +1's and +2's because of the slightly different carb %. We use classic chopped grill (2%) and classic chicken (4%). Never thought she was really that carb sensitive so silly me hasn't been writing down what she gets at each meal/snack...and she usually gets a combo of the two when the rest of a can gets carried over into the next meal. I'll start noting it so I can see if there's a trend.
 
Re: 4/19 Morlei AMPS 275 +2 262 +3 211

You will learn her sensitivity only by testing it.
Try one food for a few days and then switch to the other for a few days.
It is very important for you to know her carb sensitivity level because you can use it in your favor.
 
Re: 4/19 Morlei AMPS 275 +2 262 +3 211 +4 220 +5 173

Some of the kitties do seem to be that sensitive but I think the 'normal lantus curve' would have kitty about the same at +2 as they were at PS so looks like Morlei is being 'normal' today.

Your link to yesterday isn't working - did you forget the ?

I think you didn't have one yesterday either I meant to let you know but I got very absorbed in the dose discussion and had forgotten to mention it by the time I finished reading. I don't know why someone thought to decrease :?: but the rest of it was very interesting - sometimes there is a lot of art involved in the science of treating this thing!
 
Re: 4/19 Morlei AMPS 275 +2 262 +3 211 +4 220 +5 173

Vyktors Mum said:
Some of the kitties do seem to be that sensitive but I think the 'normal lantus curve' would have kitty about the same at +2 as they were at PS so looks like Morlei is being 'normal' today.

Your link to yesterday isn't working - did you forget the ?

I think you didn't have one yesterday either I meant to let you know but I got very absorbed in the dose discussion and had forgotten to mention it by the time I finished reading. I don't know why someone thought to decrease :?: but the rest of it was very interesting - sometimes there is a lot of art involved in the science of treating this thing!

Yep, I forgot it, it's all fixed now.
There is definitely a lot of art involved, almost too much haha. I'm just glad I have all of you to help me through it :smile:
 
If she does not get a food spike and comes down like today, then you should be prepared for an active cycle...like today :-D :-D :-D Very nice!
 
so . . . 6 cycles checked off - if you're around to test/monitor, and want to press on, tomorrow morning you can increase by .25u. if you want to wait another 4 cycles and see if it settles farther, you could.

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

make sure you're getting at least one pm cycle check also. can't assume anything, and cats are often lower at night than in the day cycle.
 
I would only be able to get a +1 and a +7.5 tomorrow so I'll wait until Saturday when I'm home all day. Also with her dental now two weeks away I want to be careful with how much we increase...just in case she ends up like Shadoe and only needs a fraction of her pre-dental dose afterwards. Should this be the last increase before the dental?
 
i wouldn't even consider that plan. two weeks away is an eternity. you can drop her dose the morning of, or even the night before if you're extra worried, but i don't think now is the time to worry about it. for the next 2 weeks, take your cues from her numbers, follow the protocol and keep on.

if she needs a dose adjustment afterwards, then she should have it then, not before. you'll know by her numbers if she needs it then.

saturday sounds like a great plan. i'm happy to see her responding and getting into the 100's. wahoo!
 
I'm with Julie in respect of the dosing and the dental. You want to give her as much insulin as she needs for now, after the dental will take care of itself and you can reduce if/as required. Most likely your vet will have you reduce and/or skip right before the dental (mine had me give Vyktor a half dose the night before and no shot on the morning of and I was also not to give him a full dose the evening afterwards if he wasn't eating but he was so he got that dose) so chances are Morlei will be quite high after all that and her shed will drain then too.

Nice to see some blue on her :-D
 
We have never stopped by to welcome you yet. Nice sunny yellow and pretty blues there today. Looks like a beautiful lantus curve going on. Welcome to LL! Hope you have a great day Becky!
 
i should clarify about what i said regarding her dose the pm before and am of her dental - your vet will tell you what to do in regards to dose. i sorta just tossed that out casually as an example and don't want you to take it as clear advice. i think we gave punkin 1/2 doses the morning of each of his anesthesias at CSU (4 mornings in a row) and the regular dose at night. when he had his dental i think the vet said to skip the shot in the morning and i was so concerned about that that i negotiated a 1/2 dose. something like that.

but your vet will know how to proceed with how they do it - you should express your concerns at the time. if she drops too low, they will start her on a glucose drip. they'll get her stabilized before they release her to you.

but as i said, let the worries about the dental wait until then. for now, just remaining focused on each day's BG is the way to go, in my opinion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top