04/22 Lucy PMPS 110 +2 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Happy Sunday all!

Here is yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69205

Due to Miss Lucy hitting that 49 the other night, her dose is being reduced to 0.75u as of today...crossing fingers that the reduction goes well! We have to relocate the auto feeder as I have underestimated Ethel's (our overweight civvie) ability to get on the counter where I thought she couldn't get to! I went into the 'car room' this morning and found her munching away on Lucy's left over breffis ohmygod_smile '

Also, someone's tummy is not feeling well today :sad: I went downstairs and found several small liquipoo deposits near the boxes, and a large one on the the way to the box (someone just didn't make it in time) Miss Lucy hasn't been scarfing her food as much, so I wonder if it is becuase her tummy isn't well...she is still eating, just not as much all at once and not as ravenous as before. I haven't changed their food since I have switched them to a diet of 100% canned.

We're off to see my mom and my sis' family today to celebrate my mom's birthday with sushi! Yay!

Hope everyone has a good day!
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76

Sorry about the liquipoo. You might want to add a probiotic to your cats' food. It shouldn't be a problem for whichever cat isn't having tummy problems but it would be better if you could figure out who's got the diarrhea. FortiFlora is available on-line.

Just a thought. I know others have mentioned that shooting different doses at AM and PM tends to not be the best strategy for Lantus. Frankly, I'm not sure how you're figuring to reduce the dose. You might want to figure out what your total daily dose is and then divide it in half and shoot that amount twice a day.
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76

nice. :smile:

How long before you leave? Can you get another spot check or two before you go? Or if not, please leave out some higher carb food.

Lantus has a cumulative action, so even though you reduced the dose this morning, there is still some effect of last night's 1 unit shot in this cycle. Make sure she is surfing, not dropping, before you leave.
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76

Libby and Lucy said:
Your Lucy is doing great! The 49 last night also earned her a dose reduction. 0.75 units BID would be the new dose. Good luck with the reduction!

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Ok, now I'm really confused :? should I have not reduced her dosing?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just a thought. I know others have mentioned that shooting different doses at AM and PM tends to not be the best strategy for Lantus. Frankly, I'm not sure how you're figuring to reduce the dose. You might want to figure out what your total daily dose is and then divide it in half and shoot that amount twice a day.

That is how I got to the 1u dosing...I was shooting 2u and then buy the next shot time, she was at a level that didn't require insulin. It made sense to me to dived the 2u into a dose that I could shoot twice instead of making her work overtime. The 1u seemed to be working well.

Val
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76 +4 65

Libby and Lucy said:
nice. :smile:

How long before you leave? Can you get another spot check or two before you go? Or if not, please leave out some higher carb food.

Lantus has a cumulative action, so even though you reduced the dose this morning, there is still some effect of last night's 1 unit shot in this cycle. Make sure she is surfing, not dropping, before you leave.

Just tested her at +4 and she is 65. We are leaving in about an hour...I will test just before we leave. I have some HC wet that I can leave out if needed
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76 +4 65

I recommended a reduction because she got a 49 off of the 1 unit dose, so you're good. ;-) I realize that you only shot 0.5 unit in the cycle when she actually got the 49, but there was still some effect from the previous cycle's 1u dose in play there.

It's not easy to explain when you're not used to studying spreadsheets, but we get used to thinking of dosing in "waves" of several cycles instead of each shot by itself. The 1u dose left her lower than you were comfortable shooting, so you shot less and she still kept going low. Normally the reduction would be taken right away the next cycle unless the cat bounced high. Since you didn't know to reduce then, you reduced as soon as you found out you should. You'll just want to keep an eye on her numbers for the next cycle or two, until the effects of the 1u dose are gone from her system.
 
Re: 04/22 Lucy AMPS 83 +2 76 +4 65

Libby and Lucy said:
I recommended a reduction because she got a 49 off of the 1 unit dose, so you're good. ;-) I realize that you only shot 0.5 unit in the cycle when she actually got the 49, but there was still some effect from the previous cycle's 1u dose in play there.

It's not easy to explain when you're not used to studying spreadsheets, but we get used to thinking of dosing in "waves" of several cycles instead of each shot by itself. The 1u dose left her lower than you were comfortable shooting, so you shot less and she still kept going low. Normally the reduction would be taken right away the next cycle unless the cat bounced high. Since you didn't know to reduce then, you reduced as soon as you found out you should. You'll just want to keep an eye on her numbers for the next cycle or two, until the effects of the 1u dose are gone from her system.

Thanks Libby & Lucy! I am beginning to understand more and more as we continue on this journey! I am confident that the reduction will be successful (fingers and paws crossed) I am learning to think in cycles, but your explanation definatley makes sense.

Over the next few cycles I will try and get as many tests as possible! I wish she had started a reduction on a weekend so we could be home rather than at the beginning of the work week...then again that seems to be par for the course with my little Lucy!
 
Miss Lucy has had a green day, with a couple blues thrown in for fun! She doesn't seem to be inhaling her food as much anymore...that seems like a good thing? She doesn't play the 'starving kitty' role anymore! I guess she just likes to save some food for later...glad we have the feeder available for her!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top