4/22 Sasha AMPS 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
Hi my FDMB Fam!! It's been a crazy few days, my aunt wasnt feeling well, my boss had me working overtime, I caught a cold... but everything is good now and we are back! I hope everyone has been well!
I've updated Sasha's SS, he's had some crazy numbers...last night he went down to the greens, today we went blue and yellow....

He's been eating less, but maintaining his weight. I am open for any suggestions on dosing/feeding, it's always appreciated! :-D :-D :-D I've had him at 5.00 units for a while now, I'm wondering if it's time for an increase?

Feedings are a little tougher. I feed him at PS always, but during the week while I work my neighbor cant get here til +6 to feed him. She took his blood once last week, but lost the nerve when she tried again. (Sasha wasnt cooperative with her) :roll: When he's feeling well, he can be a bit bratty.

Hope everyone's having a wonderful weekend!
HUGS!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Tara,
Welcome back!!! Glad you are feeling better (I've been battling the cold or allergies as well this week).

Has anyone suggested getting a timed feeder for Sasha before? You can get one's with 2-6 compartments. Most folks will freeze ice cube sized portions of food and plug them into the feeder to open at certain times during the day. That might be an option both during the day and overnight.

Great job on the greens Sasha! Glad to see he surfed that so nicely.
Just a tip, when you get numbers like that...feeding smaller bits would be better than a full can. If he had gone lower, you would want him to still have a good appy to bring the numbers up! :mrgreen:

I hope this week is much more 'normal' for you (is there such thing as normal??? :lol: )

Take some time to relax today!
 
hi tara! great to see a sasha condo today! ;-) :lol:

sasha's ss is looking pretty good, but yes, there's a little tweaking you could do that might help things.

you want the bulk of the carbs to be there before the nadir, and little to be given after that point. i wonder if you wouldn't see a better, more predictable curve if you were to give most of the food in the first 3-4ish hours with and after the shot. still would be great to have your neighbor check his BG at +6 if she can.

if you can't get a timed feeder, i think i'd try one of a couple of options. you could make frozen food pucks and leave them out when you leave in the morning. mix a can of food with some water, freeze in something like a muffin tin or baggie, then put it out to thaw each morning before you go. you could set it out with the unfrozen food on top of the puck - then both would stay fresh.

that's one option, another might be to just put all the food out for the day when you leave and let sasha graze.

a key part of this is to figure out how much total volume of food you think he should have to eat in the day, then get most of it out there in the first hours. i think some of the wonkiness is from varying quantities of food being eaten at various times in the cycle.

until last night's cycle, i would've also commented to follow the TR protocol more tightly on how long you hold a dose before increasing - but cats always make fools of us when we think we know what we're talking about! :lol: overall though, you don't want to hold a dose longer than the 6-10 cycles in the protocol if you're not seeing better numbers so the cat's body doesn't get accustomed to the higher range of numbers. then you need even more insulin to bring them down.

last night's cycle was awesome! how about having a little chat with sasha and telling him to do that again! :mrgreen: with last night's 59 i would not increase the dose. that's just about right. what do you think about holding the dose and seeing what changing the feeding plan will do?

so glad the ketones are staying away. you're doing a fabulous job, tara! he's lucky to have you. most people wouldn't have done what you have to save him - kudos to you. :YMHUG:
 
anyway! Great to see a Sasha condo and such terrific numbers.

Julie gave great info....nothing to add on that!

Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top