04/23 Lucy AMPS 153 PMPS 92 +2 67 +3 47 - dose question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 04/23 Lucy AMPS 153

Hi guys .. we love the monday blues! Lucy, how about switching things up and showing off some greens? Good luck with the winter storm, I think that should be completely done with by now! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 04/23 Lucy AMPS 153 PMPS 92

PeterDevonMocha said:
Lucy, how about switching things up and showing off some greens?

Wow! She listened to you for sure! A nice green 92 tonight! :mrgreen:

Had a phone check in with the vet...I had dropped Lucy's SS off on the weekend (which the vet loves and thinks it's awesome that everything is so detailled) for her to check out. She had nothing bad to say! Said I was doing everything right, and she would be doing exactly what I am doing if it were her cat! Yay! Made my day! Big thanks to all here who have given advice and support! :-D

So far no snow here...just gross slushy rain! It seems like it is curving around us...fingers crossed that we don't wake up to a snowy surprise tomorrow!
 
I managed to get +2 and +3 numbers after shooting the low # tonight. Miss Lucy is currently curled up on my lap purrring away! I offered some food (FF regular - not HC) at +3 and she was not interested.

I will continue to monitor her closely and make sure her numbers start coming back up!

Question about dosing:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

So if I am reading correctly..since she hit under 50 again tonight, her dose can be reduced again, but not until she has passed 7 days since her last reduction with normal numbers?

Please let me know if I am reading that correctly?!?

Thanks, Val & Lucy
 
SugarFreeLucy said:
So if I am reading correctly..since she hit under 50 again tonight, her dose can be reduced again, but not until she has passed 7 days since her last reduction with normal numbers?
Not quite... it's an either/or situation. Let's say for example that Lucy was surfing along in the 80s or 90s all the time, but never dropped below 50. In that case, after about a week of mostly green surfing you could try a dose reduction to see if she will keep surfing in green on a lower dose. But, if she drops below 50, then you want to take a reduction right away on the next cycle. Hitting below 50, especially for a newly diagnosed cat, is a sign that she needs less insulin.

Every now and then we might have reasons to suggest holding onto a dose a little longer even if the cat hits below 50, but for Lucy I don't see any reason to not go ahead and reduce by 0.25 units. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top