4/23 Rusty PMPS 104, +4.5 96. pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69298

Good Monday Morning, Everyone,

We have WET SNOW/SLEET, about 2 inches on the ground. The storm is a Nor'easter. Some areas got up to a foot of snow. I put out extra food for the birds. The White-throated sparrows are singing up a storm. We have a robin in the tree outside our guest -room window who is "crazed" and trying to fly in the window: he keeps hitting the storm window. I have hung all sorts of stuff inside the window to discourage him, but he persists. Rusty doesn't like to come upstairs during the day, so he is missing out on this drama!

Rusty has bounced again. I expected it after the 61 at +4.5 last night. This recent bouncing makes me wonder if I am doing the right thing by feeding more FF T&G in order to make sure that he eats enough (because of the recent pancreatitis). I have raised his dose to a skinny 1.75 (it might actually be a "straight" 1.75; difficult to measure). Maybe it should be raised again. I'll see what happens today. I expect him to clear the bounce quickly, but these days I never know what he's going to do.
We had a good test, shot, breakfast (2 sittings of Wellness and FF), a good game with the tinsel wand, a good game with the bell ball. Rusty wanted to go outside, so I opened the door for him. He saw the snow and changed his mind.

Rusty's vet called this morning: the results of his titre show that he is fully protected. So he will not need any vaccinations this year. I will pick up the results of the tests later this week.

Below is the picture of Rusty sleeping in his basket underneath his newly hung portrait. There's a lot of other "stuff" in the picture, too (the toy basket; the kindling/newspaper basket/ other toys and boxes strewn all over the floor. But it's kind of a neat pic!

Wishing you all a good start to the week. All the kitties got home safely from Vyktor's party. We continue to send good thoughts and healing vines to kitties and beans in need of them.

Ella & Rusty
 

Attachments

  • Rusty & portrait.jpg
    Rusty & portrait.jpg
    706.9 KB · Views: 486
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163 pic

Hi guys .. I heard about that winter storm that rolled through there .. glad you only got a few inches .. I love the picture! To bad about the poor robin .. I used to work in a place with walls of windows and we had so many bird's crashing into them .. it was awful to see and hear :sad: Ok Rusty, you got all day to bring this down or it's more juice for you :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163 pic

Hi Ella,

Love the picture! It's a bit of a "Can you find Rusty in this picture" photo. I love seeing him there, all cozy with his stuff. Brings back good memories of my trip.

We will be getting some snow today as well! Might be pretty on the tulips and daffodils. Right now the rains and winds out of the north have started. It's a great day to clean out Pinkerton's room and try to prepare an office space for myself.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163 pic

Haha! I thought the same thing as Linda... only I was thinking "Where's Waldo?"
Love the photo!

I hope he is feeling better now after the pancreatitis. (((Rusty)))
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163 pic

HI Ella - I too love the photo. Where's Rusty!?! - found him :-D - it is such a prefect photo of all that makes up Rusty's world. Very cool!

wow on the snow.... but it's spring already! that poor robin - hope he has that figured out by now. birds do the craziest things sometimes.

Good luck with the dosing. I look forward to seeing what you decide. And I hear you on measuring those darn .25 units, skinny or fat. Sure is not my forte....

have a great day - hope you guys will be able to make it our for a few.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

Awww what a sweet picture!!!!

I asked the wild bird care centre why the birds still flew into my window. They said the stuff has to be on the outside of the window. Putting stuff on the inside of the window doesn't work but I forget the explanation they gave me. So something to think about.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

What a great picture.

I hope all that weather stays east of us! I like my tulips without snow, thanks!
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

:-D :-D :-D Great pic! And Rusty is clearing that bounce already!

If it's a male he might be defending his territory from an invader, his reflection. We had to put towels over the rear view mirrors on the cars because this towhee (I think, LBB anyway) kept attacking them!

CA girl not sayin' nuttin' about the weather! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

More than 7 hours later and the Robin is still here. If we could reach the window, I would put something over it. But it's on the 2nd floor, right under the roof line. I was also thinking that he was defending his territory. But now I wonder if he might not be the spirit of a TB patient who had that room!!

Rusty had some very active games this morning, cleaned up his lunch (By Nature Turkey and turkey liver) and is now asleep in his basket.

bbl,
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

I think the bird sees its reflection and thinks it is another bird. Can you put up some cardboard or paper inside that might interfere with reflectivity? You can also print out a falcon silhouette and put it in the window.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

I see why you call it Rusty's "little" bed by the radiator. :lol: :lol: He must think it's the perfect, cozy size. What a great picture, and the portrait is perfect in that spot. We should ask our vet about doing a titre for our kitties. Hope the storm passes quickly so you can get back out for hiking and biking.
Liz
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

Really sweet pic of Rusty and his stuff!

We didn't get snow, but we sure got rain down here in NJ last night, and probably more tonight. I'm so glad, we sure needed it. I like snow, but I think I would be done with it by now :-D

We have the same bird issues here, but I never heard of putting stuff on the outside, thanks Karrie for that info.

Good luck on the dose decision Ella!
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

Sweet pic of Rusty in the basket bed; I see you Rusty. I saw on the Weather Channel that Western PA also had some of that wet snow, my Mom and sisters' homes. Not a bad bounce though! Is the robin still banging up against the window? Hope he doesn't get hurt.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142 pic

You can try inside but I'm sure the lady at the bird rescue centre said only outside worked. I dropped off a bird that hit our patio door.

I just did a google search and most sites are saying outside the glass if you can. From the cornell lab or ornithology:

http://www.allaboutbirds.org/Page.aspx?pid=1184

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&...dwwWrU&sig=AHIEtbSpHQGGmb2LWi1npeoFpWooCjTTOw

There are tons of other sites also.

I've heard in the US there are big birds that go after their reflections on cars!
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142, +9 116 pic

Thank you, Karrie. This is just what I needed to know. "Our" Robin is defending his territory from himself. I can't get up there to put something on the window until we get a longer ladder, but maybe I can rig something by using a long extension pole. He is gone this afternoon. The light probably changed. We've never had this problem before, but we just had new storm windows installed and they might reflect the light much differently than the old, weathered, ones did. Pulling the inside shade didn't work at all, nor did the 5 shopping bags I hung inside the window. I'll report tomorrow on this developing situation! nailbite_smile

Ella

p.s. I spoke too soon: he's back! But not attacking, just sitting in the tree.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142, +9 116 pic

Awe:) What a cute picture of Rusty all curled up in his basket! I bet he loves sitting by a roaring fire:)
Hope he continues to feel better :-D
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142, +9 116 pic

Hahaha, I had to find Rusty in the basket, too. :-D
I love the picture Ella. It just fits perfectly in Rusty's corner. :smile:

I also had a bird attacking my car mirror. I put a plastic grocery bag over it.
My living room has north and south windows directly across from each other, and during certain times of day, the birds think they can fly straight thru. I have to close curtains on one window.
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty AMPS 163, +5.5 142, +9 116 pic

What a great picture!!! So sweet in his little bed. The littler the better Tarragon says! Hope the snow / sleet melts quick. Glad you didn't get a foot. Have a great night Ella!
 
Re: 4/23 Rusty PMPS 104, pic

Ella, I remember that, but thought it was Ann, when Tess had the UTI. I spent ages going thru her posts this afternoon, back to 3/3 when Tess was sick, wondering why I couldn't find the post where she explained about the bupe vial. :lol:
thank you for explaining in our condo. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top