4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 +6.5=61

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by tpr, Apr 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Well Ella sky rocketed.

    yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69431

    I hope she can come down today. I was able to get some sleep although I woke up a few times just to see how she was doing :D
    She didn't sleep with us on the bed last night and didn't give up any good night kisses and purrs. I did a +3.5 and she was at 82 and for a moment I thought she might be ok. I guess her pancreas still needs a lot of work.
    Thanks again for all of your support:) Even though I'm disappointed by the turn of events I have to admit that I learned a lot in the past two days. I now feel pretty comfortable in dealing with those lower numbers and I have faith that Ella will return to the green lagoon as she certainly liked it:) I hope her liver allows her to get there as soon as catanly possible:)

    Have a good day everyone!

    Tamara & Ella
     
  2. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Good Morning Tamara & Ella,

    I am very glad that you were able to get some well deserved and much needed sleep last night. It looks like Ella's liver is working just fine this morning! She will be happy to get fewer pokies today and to be able to catch up on her cat naps. You did great yesterday. I hope that Ella's dose reduction will work out well for you both.

    Have a good day at school and try not to worry about Ella. She'll be fine.

    :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

    Ella & Rusty
     
  3. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Great to hear that you got some much deserved sleep last night. Ella will be fine and you are a great bean. Hang in there. Have a wonderful day! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
     
  4. Barb & Checkers (GA)

    Barb & Checkers (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Good Morning Tamara. That was quite a day, yesterday nailbite_smile
    I am still amazed at the wonderful helpers on this board. :D
    Although the number looks awful this morning, it's temporary, and isn't it nice to know Ella's liver is working as it should?
     
  5. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    these things happen. she'll recover and things will get back on track soon - no worries. :YMHUG:
     
  6. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Awe..thanks everyone:) Your kind words are definitely helping to improve my day.

    Barb, I too am amazed by the support and dedication of the people on this board. It makes me teary eyed just thinking about it.
     
  7. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Hi guys .. yep, no worries on this number .. Ella found the green floor .. she knows how to get back down there .. we just have to wait for her next appearance on it! have a great day guys!
     
  8. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Tamar's...so glad you got some rest!

    I also think she'll come back down. It might take a cycle or so because she didn't totally deplete her shed....but then she'll be back at it :D

    Have a great day.
     
  9. Daphne#5 GA

    Daphne#5 GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    Tamara, I'm sure Ella will get back to the green soon. This AM number will go away soon, and hopefully you will never see it again. :D

    Great job for the last two days, It can be so exhausting, I know.

    Think Green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  10. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405

    I was following your condo yesterday but didn't want to make it longer while you were getting help. You've done a great job with Ella with the assistance of some great helpers. She will get back to those pretty green Ella numbers. You both needed some well deserved rest.
     
  11. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295

    Thanks for visiting Ann:) I believe she will get back to the greens as well. She just gave me a bit of yellow at 295 which looks so much better on her than the red:)

    I think she nadirs late. When I tested her at 10.5 she was 331. I gave her a tsp of food at 'forbidden' snack time because I figured she was high and I don't think the lc spikes her that much. She often dips down before preshots.

    Will test at +2.

    Thanks for your positive thinking Barb. I will definitely think green!
     
  12. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    Oh boy...just tested Ella and she dropped massively to 124!!!
    Am I in trouble tonight?

    How can this be happening? I thought her shed was draining?!
     
  13. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    i think the answer is that she's back on track. that didn't take her long - so yes, you're on duty tonight to monitor her. when we see a 300 at pmps and a 124 at +2 . . . that says that you need to check again in probably 30 minutes. in fact, nothing wrong with giving her some low carb food now and seeing if she'll slow down a little bit.
     
  14. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    I just gave her some lc...she is nervous about how fast she dropped. I was editing my post as you posted. How could this be happening if her shed was draining?
     
  15. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    Wow...I missed some action last night! And, wow...look at that drop this evening. Slow it down there a bit, Miss Ella!!!
     
  16. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    Sometimes it only takes a cycle for the shed. However, you skipped a shot and then reduced the dose. Ella's shed is drained!
     
  17. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    +3 64....I was a bit off on my timing and by the time she finished her food it was +3... she is dropping fast..she's eaten about 3/8 less today so that could be the contributing factor. Should I feed her some mc?
     
  18. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    perhaps i don't understand...if it is drained then shouldn't it need to fill before using so much?

    maybe i dosed her in a vein or muscle?
     
  19. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    Hi Tamara,
    Your +3 just popped up on your SS as I was reading it. 64 is another big drop. I think you have to get out the Karo and put a drop into her LC. Hopefully she'll stay in the 60s and surf. Did Ella eat her dinner?
     
  20. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    yes she just ate dinner..but she's eaten about 3/8 less today..should i give her a tsp with maple syrup?
     
  21. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 (huge drop!

    :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

    Looks like Ella may be telling you she is ready for even less insulin! :mrgreen:

    Glad you got some sleep last night! :?
     
  22. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    Yes, I think you should give her a teaspoon of LC with a drop of maple syrup. It's important to have food on board to counteract the action of the insulin.
     
  23. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    ok just gave her a tsp lc with drop of good old canadian maple syrup.
     
  24. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    Can you get another test in 20 minutes ?
    If you do not catch another drop, it will give you good info on how the syrup spikes her.
     
  25. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    It's been half an hour since i last tested her but she needs another 10 minutes until it's been 20 min after I gave her the syrup. Does that make sense?
     
  26. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    yes, test when you feel is best...another 5 or 1o minutes.
    So it would be something like +3.75 (15-20 min after administering karo/syrup)
     
  27. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64!

    she's 46! and it's been 20 minutes after i gave her the maple syrup.
     
  28. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

    another spoon of LC + drop of syrup. Test in 15
     
  29. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

    OR HC gravy. Which ever you prefer
     
  30. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

    ok gave her lc with another drop of syrup...if she doesn't rise I will give her hc
     
  31. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella amps 405 +10.5=331 pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=

    34 please help!
     
  32. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    HC, like you said you would + test in 15.
     
  33. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Yes, at these low numbers, give her maple syrup/gravy/HC and test every 15-20 min until she's >50.

    MJ
     
  34. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Most important thing right now is to get her up to the 50's...however it needs to be done, ok!

    :YMHUG: You are doing GREAT!!!
     
  35. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    ok...got 1 tsp of gravy out off the ff can...had to syringe it in 4 doses as she won't eat the flakes. time is ticking by as this happens but i'm assuming i test from when i fed her last?
     
  36. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    I would be apt to test 15 minutes after last test. Ella means business. You really don't want her lower than this.

    keep repeating this until she is 2-3 tests OVER 50 and past nadir (I know...bad because you say nadir is +8 :YMSIGH: )
     
  37. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    At these numbers just keep testing every 15-20 min and get whatever high-carb stuff she'll eat into her. Don't worry about coordinating the feeding/pokeys now; just keep in mind that the carbs probably won't show up in her BGs for a bit.

    I'm here for at least a few hours, so I'll be watching.

    MJ
     
  38. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    MJ, did i need to add ms to the hc? the last tsp I gave was hc and the two before that were lc with a drop of ms.

    maybe 1 drop of ms isn't enough?!
     
  39. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Let's see what the next BG is. If it still isn't budging, add more maple syrup.

    I assume she is otherwise acting normal?

    MJ
     
  40. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    You're doing fine. Take a breath or two.

    The big picture is test, feed HC and repeat (or, "lather, rinse, repeat") until Ella is in the 50s or above.

    FWIW, one drop of syrup when you're seeing this kind of drop isn't enough. You need to give at least 2 - 3 drops until you see the numbers leveling off. When you are feeding HC/gravy, you only want to feed the gravy -- not the solids. Basically, you don't want Ella to get full on what you're feeding.

    I use honey or Karo with Gabby. I give her about 1/2 teaspoon of LC with syrup.

    Just so you have it handy, here's the post on handling low numbers.
     
  41. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    ok just tested and she is 46. we`re a bit off in the timing of it all. we just finished giving her 1 tsp hc gravy about 10 minutes before we just tested her. do i give her more now or wait 15 and see what happens?
     
  42. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    I guess she earns another reduction...this is nuts!

    mj: no other synptoms..she's just sleepy
     
  43. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    If she is not above 50 when you take the test, feed immediately and test again in 15 min.
     
  44. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    When I was trying to raise numbers I had a mixture ready + syringes (in case), right next to the testing stuff. This way you dont have to go back and forth to the kitchen (or where ever).
     
  45. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Carb/test every 15-20 min, not necessarily at the same time. Whatever works for you and Miss Ella.

    Can you do me a favor and list the most recent BGs when you post so I don't have to refresh your spreadsheet? My poor old PC is easily constipated :?

    So far I see PMPS 295
    +2 124
    +3 64
    +3.8 46
    +4 34
    ? 46

    correct?

    MJ
     
  46. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    +5 48, i gave her a tsp of hc gravy. this is going to be tough as the insulin is going to be taking effect until morning.
     
  47. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    yes correct...i will post it this way for you.

    So far I see PMPS 295
    +2 124
    +3 64
    +3.8 46
    +4 34
    +4.5=46
    +5=48

    times are kind of approximate now.
     
  48. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    poop! :razz:
    Feel free to add some karo/syrup, as Sienne suggested to keep her above 50. And keep doing what you are doing. :YMHUG:
    I will check in another time or two before I have to get to bed. MJ is here and she is most awesome to hang out with! :mrgreen:
     
  49. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    48 at +5. You're getting close to 50, Tamara! Carolyn, MJ, and Sienne know just what to tell you to do. They have lots of experience. I'm going to be watching, too, but staying out of the way. It looks like Ella wants another reduction, all right!

    Ella & Rusty
     
  50. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    At least she's not still going lower. That's good. If it's easier on your brain right now, you can just post your times as, +5:20, for instance, and deal with the math in your SS later. Frankly it's simpler to think "Oh, it has been 20 minutes since the last BG" instead of 0.33 hours :cool:

    MJ
     
  51. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    +5.34 =41 going lower

    i'm having a tough time keeping her up as she is beginning to peak. just gave her another tsp of lc with 3 drops ms.
     
  52. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    It is time to forget about the lc food. Go with the gravies from hc food and karo/honey/syrup.
    Remember that all this hc items wear off fast so in 20min the numbers could start to drop again.
    When is nadir? You need to keep watching and keep her up until past that point.

    Do you have an ER near you? If she does not come up and stay up, and you are not yet to nadir, you may need to take her to the ER to bring her up. All of this hc gravies/karo can make her sick and result in diarrhea, and she may not want to keep eating.
    Can you post the time in the cycle for that 41?

    She was at 46, so the 41 is not that much of a change but it's still in the wrong direction.
     
  53. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Keep giving her little snacks with carbs, and hopefully it will keep her from getting lower as the insulin fully kicks in. Are you holding up OK?

    MJ
     
  54. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Hey Tamara? Is no news good news? Just checking in before I check out soon!
     
  55. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    sorry...did not realize there was a second page going! ohmygod_smile
     
  56. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Good night, Carolyn :cool:

    OK, so far we have:
    PMPS 295
    +2 124
    +3 64
    +3.8 46
    +4 34
    +4.5=46
    +5=48
    +5.34=41
     
  57. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Tamara, Just keep doing what you're doing. As long as Ella is behaving normally, you will be OK. I hate to see you have another sleepless night and hope that the maple syrup (Canadian) will do the trick. (New York maple syrup is good, too!! :smile: ). You know, of course, that Ella has earned another reduction and you should take it tomorrow (new dose would be 0.75 unit). If she is too low for your comfort to shoot your new dose tomorrow morning, you might consider giving a token dose (maybe a fat 0.25), just to make sure that she won't bounce too high. This is especially important if you will be going to work. I hope that Dyana, or someone else with experience in these matters will be around to help you decide what to do in the early morning.
    I must turn in now, since I am not as young as I once was(!), but you know what to do, and there will be West Coast people around to help you. Keep the "help" in your subject line to get eyes on Ella's numbers.
    I know that she will be fine. You are doing such a great job.

    Hugs to you and Ella,

    Ella & Rusty

    p.s. Happy to see MJ and Gayle here. Good night, Carolyn.
     
  58. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    ok i got her up to 61 but she's still not at nadir. still collecting data but she usually goes lower closer to 7 and 8 and sometimes will continue to drop until the next dose.
     
  59. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    The ss is showing a 61 at +6.... if that is correct, please keep watching and testing because when the gravy wears off, the numbers could drop again as you are not at nadir yet?
     
  60. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    How's she acting? She eating the gravy and stuff ok still?
    You want to see some nice rising numbers, and I bet she's going to have an upset stomach in the morn!
    Often, after big lows, cats are more sensitive to insulin, OK?

    She's going to bounce but if you even give her a shot in the morn, the most would be half dose.
    I would say .5u max but depends where she is in the morn.
     
  61. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Hi Tamara.....wow...Imjust got home from work and had dinner and look at Miss Ella! She is not wasting time. I want to look back through your condo really quick and see who is still up and who had to go to bed. If everyone is Ni Ni, I can easily stay with you. Brb
     
  62. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Thanks Ella!
    Will keep on doing what I'm doing. Not sure what I will shoot her by the morning as I will have to go to work and I don't want to worry about her. I don't understand how she can get two reductions within 2 days. Is that common?

    gayle, we do have an er about 10 minutes away.
    good night carolyn. thanks for your help tonight:)
    mj: i'll try and remember to post my numbers in here. i'm getting a bit sleepy.
     
  63. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Looks like I am officially saying goodnight! :mrgreen:

    Hang in there Tamara (and ella) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
     
  64. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Gayle,

    I have been switchng between the gravy and lc with drops of syrup. I've had to force feed a bit with the syringe.
    She's eaten less of her wet food today but it making up for the calories now. Will keep testing.
     
  65. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    I am glad to hear you have all your ER info handy because when you hit 30s way before nadir, you need to be ready, just in case. If a cat is firm on dropping, sometimes you can do only so much at home.

    As for the morn..... skip if you like and give the 2 of you a break. Let her recover from the hc and the low numbers, and then don't give more than the .5u in the pm because you have already seen how well the 1u went over after her string of low greens just the other day.
     
  66. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    she's just sleeping..even when she was at 34 she was sleeping. she is super snnoyed with the pokes...her ears must be sore:(
     
  67. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    Ok.....I think a big breath is needed here. It is important to keep her up at this point and we don't want her to get too full too soon so you are doing great. We're not going to worry about tomorrow and dose right now, ok? Lots of time to go and things can change so let's put that aside.

    Since she's at 61, why don't you test her 30 mins from the last test? If she comes back down, we can adjust the time but we don't want to wear her ears out when she's at a safe number...but since she nadirs later and HC wears off, we want to be vigilant.

    Are YOU doing ok Tamara?
     
  68. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    No problem with the numbers -- I wanted to repost them since we're now on Page 2.

    I'm here for at least another hour or so.

    Has Ella had any adverse reactions to gravy or maple syrup in the past? We don't want her to puke or get liquipoo. Some cats don't tolerate it well, but if her only complaint is she wants to nap and you keep waking her to squish carbs into her mouth, it's all good. Let's see some higher numbers now, Ok Ella? Then you can sleep.

    MJ
     
  69. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    I'm tired but ok. There's not much I can do at this point. It would be nice if she could go up a bit and then I could sneak in a nap but seeing as the insulin is kicking in it might not look good for me:(
     
  70. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    yesterday was the first time i had to give her hc and maple syrup. her poo was pretty good this morning..a little soft at the end.

    do you think that because she ate less of her canned food today that it had an effect on her bg?

    testing in 5 minutes as it will have been 30 minutes since the last one.
     
  71. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    I know the feeling when your cat is like go away! but you know that you need to keep watching the numbers.

    When a cat is on a mission, you have no choice but to go along with it. There is no rule that states every cat is going to go off insulin or decrease dose in a certain speed.
    If Ella does not need that much insulin well, she has let you know, hasn't she!

    You want to keep testing to ensure she is rising and a decent amount, and if she starts soaring before nadir, you would likely be safe to head to bed.
     
  72. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    When Donovan played these games with me as I was attempting to head to sleep, I'd lie down next to him and rest, setting my cellphone alarm in case I really dozed off. Here's hoping the extra carbs show up soon.

    MJ
     
  73. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    one more thing.... when you get your next test ( should be now?) can you change your subj to put the + and the BG so people are not scared by that 34.
     
  74. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/25 Ella pmps 295 +2=124 +3=64 +3.8=46+4=34 help!

    +6.5 =61

    she is the same from the last test but still not that high considering the insulin will be peaking for her. should i give her some mc?
     
  75. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How much solid food has she had so far? If not much, what about give her some of the hc food left over from the gravy? Were you draining some gravy off the hc before?
     
  76. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    That's fine. Just be sure she doesn't get too full.

    Eta. I would not give her HC at 61. Just try the MC. We want her to stay up but you don't want the carbs to gang up on her and cause a really high bounce. As long as you are testing every 30 mins right now, we can adjust carbs as needed.
     
  77. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If you look at the 24th, she was 69 and then dropped more to her nadir so you are in the same spot as that day, only earlier. That's why I thought maybe go with the hc solid and see if she can hang onto this 61 and not drop more in an hour or so
     
  78. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    she doesn't like the food with the gravy in it. she just transitioned to wet and is very picky. i usually have to assist her in eating it...spoon feeding but it has to be the perfect consistency. she has probably eaten 1 1/8 of a can of wellness today. (5.5 oz)
     
  79. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    or i can give her 1 tsp on gracy hc? what's better at this point mc or hc?
     
  80. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Do you remember what you did on the evening of the 23rd? She was clearing a bounce that day and night, too. You got her up nicely by +6. I still think MC and retest 30 mins after last test is reasonable.
     
  81. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    you see on her ss, how I am comparing the am cycle on the 24th to now?
    Ella's an hour ahead of schedule and on the 24th, she took a dive at +8 so what you want to do is try to manipulate the 61 she has right now.
    If you give just gravy, it will last 30min or so, but if you can get her to eat some mc or hc solid, she may hold onto the 61 for over an hour or more and pas her nadir.
     
  82. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    There was no bounce on the 23rd, and tonite is like the 24th am cycle.
    You need to watch for Ella doing another drop at the nadir point in this cycle.
    You want to raise that 61 a decent amount and help it to stay up
     
  83. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    I don't remeber what i did on the 23 marje:(
    i need to improve my recording skills. perhaps i just gave lc after the mc?!

    she won't eat the solids from the hc or mc...i only take the gravy and mix it with her lc...i can try tho
     
  84. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    so she's due for her 30 minute test in a few...should i skip that and feed her and then test 30 min after that or should i go ahead and test?
     
  85. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I would test. We don't want to go more than 30 without a test. iFnshe decides to drop, we need to catch it now.
     
  86. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    there is no reason why you can't do both..... test and then give some food.

    You want to see how well she is holding the numbers that resulted from her last feeding, and then if you test again in 30min, you will see the results from the food you give now.
     
  87. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If she'll eat the gravy/maple syrup mixed with wet food that she likes, give her that.
    You could wait another 15 min to test (so 45 min from the last one), but I hesitate to predict anything with this girl. She's doing her own thing!

    MJ
     
  88. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    ok just tested and she is 73...should i still feed her?
     
  89. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I would give her some LC or MC....keeping food in her will help keep her numbers up.
     
  90. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    ok going to mix some mc in with lc if she'll eat it. i don' t think i've fed her in over an hour.
     
  91. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    forget the lc; have you reached her nadir yet? Look at the 24th when she took a dip very late in the cycle.
    Go with the mc and then test in 30min to ensure she is still rising.
     
  92. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    gayle, she doesn't eat the solid mc. she only eats her lc so i have to mix in the gravy, it's either that or syrup or dry kibble. she's very finicky:(
     
  93. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    hi tamara! just got home from a night out with girl friends and it looks like you're having a little action.

    great job handling the evening so far! you doing ok?
     
  94. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    you mentioned mc with gravy earlier; what was that food?
    what foods are you calling lc mc and hc; maybe that will make it easier to understand
    you do want to be sure she does not go for another dip so more solid food will last longer to hold her numbers up.
     
  95. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Feed her whatever she'll eat, and lace it with whatever carbs you can (HC gravy, maple syrup, pixie stix... :razz:) Would like to see her a little higher for a little longer before we can relax and call it a night.

    Didn't someone here find out accidentally that baked ham was HC? Would she eat that?

    MJ
     
  96. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    +7.5=79

    lc-wellness 4% her main diet
    mc:friskies 12% she hates the shred but will eat the gravy
    hc ff grilled turkey 18%
     
  97. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Hi Julie:)

    A little action? :lol:

    I should make this some sort of fundraising event like jump rope for heart only it would be called 'all nighter for fd"
    Do you think I could raise money for the board?

    I'm exhausted....

    glad you had some fun times out with the gals:)
     
  98. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    you're doing fine - i hope you're sleeping in between these tests. if i were you, i wouldn't keep adding carbs. she's in a good range now.
     
  99. Blue

    Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's a great assortment of foods, very nice!
    OK for the me, maybe you can try a few diff kinds of the friskies gravy flavors... I know mine were picky but once I found one or two they liked, we were good to go.

    The 70s are getting good, so I hope her next BG is into the 80s which would be nice and safe.
     
  100. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi Julie (&Punkin :cool:)

    I think we're looking for at least one more rising number. This sneaky little girl had a crazy dip before PMPS yesterday, so who knows what else she has up her sleeve. I think we're almost there though.

    MJ
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page