5/3 Harley PMPS 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
It has been so long since I have posted that it took me a while to find the last one. I am looking for help/suggestions on Harley's dose. He has been running along on 3u when he took a nose dive. I lowered to 2.75 but am getting some erratic numbers. Since he has IAA - I am thinking of going back to the 3u to get better numbers.

FYI - I goofed yesterday and only shot 2.5 (big mistake)

Pattie


http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68952
 
Re: 5/3 Harley - looking for help/eyes

I guess, since you shot two doses of 2.50, that this 2.75 could act like a dose increase, and you may not want to increase again, to quickly. I'm not really sure.
Have you tried to send a PM to Sandy?
 
Re: 5/3 Harley - looking for help/eyes

Have not heard from Sandy in a while. Of course, I have not been around for a while either. I will give her a shout.

Pattie
 
Re: 5/3 Harley - looking for help/eyes

of course, i would weigh sandy's advice as the obviously most experienced with iaa, but if you can't track her down, the 2.75 looks like the lowest it's gotten him is in the 90's. even with the day cycle of 4/25 & pmps of 95, that kinda looks like it was clearing a bounce rather than rising from something lower. i wouldn't assume he'd gotten lower that day.

i'd be inclined to go back to up 3.0 units as well, or try to hit something in between 2.75 and 3.0. the protocol says if you have a failed reduction, go right back up to the last good dose. it looks like harley's last good dose was 3.0. like dyana, i'm not sure if the 2.5 dose in there messes things up or not, ie, if you need to wait longer at 2.75, but i'd probably go up to 3.0 and try to get back on top of harley's numbers again, personally.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

if sandy has another plan, go with it! and nice to see you pattie!
 
Re: 5/3 Harley - looking for help/eyes

I'd up the dose. Even the 44 on 3.0u isn't dose reduction territory since Harley is a longer term diabetic. You're good at monitoring so I'd increase and see if you can beat the antibodies into submission.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top