5/18 - Gem AMPS 265 First post here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone

At the urging of some very supportive friends over on health, I am posting here with the hope of getting some more eyes on Gem's SS.

I have filled out her profile, but just briefly, because she's a complicated kitty, here's her story.

Dx'd 3/6, started on 1u BID lantus, worked our way up to 3u BID
A few weeks later she was Dx'd with restrictive cardiomyopathy and some kidney problems (though not failure)
5/1 Cushing's Dx confirmed (something I'd long suspected), started on Trilostane.
Due to Cushing's, Gem's skin is extremely fragile and she has suffered many skin tears. This is our main medical concern right now, and I have to be super careful in handling her, plus she is on ABX to try and prevent infection.

Anyway, after a few weeks of not testing her at all, I've started again. I know I don't have a ton of data, but if you guys could take a peek and see if anything jumps out at you, I'd be so grateful. I honestly don't know what to think when I look at her numbers. I thought it might be time to lower her dose a bit, but that hasn't gone too well! But now I don't know if I should just go back to the 3u, or ride out the lower dose for a while.

Oh, this past Tuesday the vet ran a fructosamine and it was mid-300's. I know that's not the most reliable, but I wanted to share that as well. She also may have a UTI, waiting for urine culture.

Thanks so much to all who come here..it's been a difficult few months and everyone has been so helpful and supportive.
Thanks
Karen
 
Karen - I just want to say "welcome" to LantusLand! Gem is one lucky kitty to have you. I'm sure the collective knowledge of the generous souls here will get you on the best path possible for Sweet Gem!
 
Based on what you have there I don't think a reduction was called for but I will let the wiseones tell you whether to stick with the 2.5 for a few more cycles before increasing. A note on adjustments with Lantus though - Lantus is very sensitive so we usually only adjust in 0.25 increments.

Also, in respect of urine tests, if the urine is old when you test it the results won't be accurate :sad: I think you need to test it (or refrigerate for later testing) within an hour - it will say in the instrustions that come with the stix. Given some of those high numbers I would also change to using ketodiastix so you can test for ketones at the same time. You can make a note of those results in the comments section on your ss.

Welcome to Lantus Land Karen, Gem will be in very good hands here :smile:
 
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Karen - I just want to say "welcome" to LantusLand! Gem is one lucky kitty to have you. I'm sure the collective knowledge of the generous souls here will get you on the best path possible for Sweet Gem!

Thanks Amy…as my very wise 12yo daughter says, why does Gem have to be so special!?!? But we play the hand we are dealt!
 
Vyktors Mum said:
Based on what you have there I don't think a reduction was called for but I will let the wiseones tell you whether to stick with the 2.5 for a few more cycles before increasing. A note on adjustments with Lantus though - Lantus is very sensitive so we usually only adjust in 0.25 increments.

Also, in respect of urine tests, if the urine is old when you test it the results won't be accurate :sad: I think you need to test it (or refrigerate for later testing) within an hour - it will say in the instrustions that come with the stix. Given some of those high numbers I would also change to using ketodiastix so you can test for ketones at the same time. You can make a note of those results in the comments section on your ss.

Welcome to Lantus Land Karen, Gem will be in very good hands here :smile:

Thanks for your response
Yeah, I'm not sure why I was so set on lowering her dose - maybe wishful thinking :) But at this point, what's done is done, so yes, it would be great for some experienced folks to advise on whether to stick with it or now.

I do use the ketodiastix, I just never note it because Gem has always been negative for ketones (thank goodness for small blessings!). Good to know about the old urine - I figured it wasn't ideal, but it was the best I could do since I wasn't doing any BG testing at all. And rarely do I catch her mid-pee (though I just did, and it was high!).
 
Welcome, Karen.

Has anyone suggested testing on paw pads? There are some cats here that won't tolerate testing on their ears. An alternate location is the paw pads. That area may be less fragile. I don't know if Gem will tolerate it but it may be worth a try.

If you take a look at some of the posts today, you may want to stop using laxatone. It contains corn syrup and molasses -- not the best ingredients for a diabetic kitty.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Welcome, Karen.

Has anyone suggested testing on paw pads? There are some cats here that won't tolerate testing on their ears. An alternate location is the paw pads. That area may be less fragile. I don't know if Gem will tolerate it but it may be worth a try.

If you take a look at some of the posts today, you may want to stop using laxatone. It contains corn syrup and molasses -- not the best ingredients for a diabetic kitty.

Thanks Sienne, I replied about the paw pads on the other thread.

I do know that laxatone is not great for diabetics. I had stopped using it, based on reading here, but today I realized she hadn't pooped in a while, so I gave her a small amount. I will pick up some miralax for the future.
 
As long as Gem is pooping, Miralax is fine. If she's not moving her bowels at all, you need to see your vet. If you need something that's more of a lubricant, Vasoline (just the plain stuff) in small amounts is fine -- it's one of the major ingredients in Miralax. You can always add a little oil to Gem's food or give her a bit of unsalted butter.
 
Hi Karen and Gem, welcome to Lantus Land!

I have not been following your adventures with Gem, so apologies if someone has already suggested this... could you wrap her in a towel or blanket when you test? That might help reduce skin tears if she does struggle. Just a thought :smile:
 
Karen --

In the other thread, you said Gem isn't grooming. How is she feeling? Is the grooming a change or is this typical with Cushing's cats?
 
Gosh, I realize there is so much to Gem's story, I wouldn't even know where to put it all down somewhere where everyone could see it all!!

Melissa - I've gone back and forth with the vet on the pros and cons of covering vs not covering. Seems it's a lesser of 2 evils, as even the friction of her skin against the towel or blanket could tear it…well not start a new tear, but possibly enlarge one, which I did once, and spent an hour in tears over. That one has improved, so right now, there doesn't seem to be any danger spots where I might be rubbing against her. I managed to test her many times today without doing any damage (except for her hating me!) so hopefully we're ok for now.

Sienne - she's not not moving her bowels at all, just gets a little backed up every so often. It was better, but it seemed like she needed a little help today. I think I will lay off the laxatone. Maybe it's coincidence, as I really put very little in her bowl, but today was a wild ride!

As for the grooming, it's been like that for a while. In fact, the past week or so, she's started to groom a bit more so that's a positive sign. She's a pretty big kitty so she was never the most meticulous groomer. My civvie would help her out when she let him! But since last Sept or so, when all her troubles started, the grooming went downhill. Unfortunately, she's not grooming the back part of her body much, and so her legs and paws are not so tidy. That's why I wouldn't want to start having opening on her paw pads - she will just walk through a puddle of her pee, no problem.

I know all this sounds like very un-kitty like behavior, which leads to questions of QOL. Believe me, I wrestle with it all the time. But we as her family see small signs of improvement, in her energy and alertness, and the vets all agree that it's worth giving the Cushing's meds more time.

Is there somewhere that I could post more details about her story, that would be helpful to new people looking at her SS? I don't mind answering any questions, and I tried to put the basics in her profile, but anything I can do to help you guys help us, I'd be happy to do!
 
Thank you to all my new friends here in LLand!
I am off to sleep, need to spend most of tomorrow on the ballfield with my son, but will try to post her AMPS before I head out.

Took my last test of the day, happy to see Gem finish in the yellow at 287 - what a crazy day! I think for better or worse, I will ride out the 2.5 for a bit and see where we go, unless someone experienced has strong feelings against doing this.

Thanks so much to all who responded, or even just took a look at Gem's numbers!
Karen
 
Karen

I'm a little late in welcoming you and Gem to LL but welcome. What a great mom you are to be so devoted to Gem. She is a lucky girl.

I think you should just leave her dose where it is and move forward following the protocol provided you are able to test her without damaging her skin. I would watch her closely the next cycle as we often see an active cycle following flat yellow cycles.

We're here to help you all....welcome to the LL family.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Karen

I'm a little late in welcoming you and Gem to LL but welcome. What a great mom you are to be so devoted to Gem. She is a lucky girl.

I think you should just leave her dose where it is and move forward following the protocol provided you are able to test her without damaging her skin. I would watch her closely the next cycle as we often see an active cycle following flat yellow cycles.

We're here to help you all....welcome to the LL family.

Thanks Marjorie
I am certainly trying my best with her!

When you say leave her dose, do you mean the 2.5 or go back to the 3?
 
Welcome Gem and Karen:)

I was a newbie not so long ago and have to say that this is one amazing family. The people in LL are so generous and kind. It's an amazing and magical place:)

Tamara
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top