5/21 Wonton AMPS 92 PMPS 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
I was wondering since Wonton's numbers have been close to 100 in the mornings, so I don't give her a shot, that I should reduce her from 1.5 to 1.25 u/2x daily? She is now eating 100% FF Classic and no dry food at all.
My last post link:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71245
 
You definitely want to adjust your dosage so that you're comfortable giving shots twice a day. When you skip shots, the Lantus shed gets all wonky and Wonton's numbers will be all over the place, rather than settling down.

I do know that you'll really need some more of those mid-cycle tests to really make a good call on how much insulin to give, though. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, rather than the pre-shot values (although the pre-shot values are important, too, so you know whether or not it's safe to shoot!) It's definitely tricky to get extra tests in when you work so...advice I was given when I first joined up: try and grab a test here and there whenever you can - right before you leave teh house, as soon as you get home, if you get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, right before bed, etc. Before you know it, it does become a habit, and once you have more data, it's much easier - and much safer - to make dosing decisions.

Obviously Wonton is responding very nicely to insulin, so it's just a matter of getting things leveled off for her...you guys are on the right path! A few more test should do the trick.

Also...since you do have a dosing question, it's a good idea to use the little question mark icon, and note in your subject line that you have a question. That'll get you more attention. I'm sure others with a strong knowledge in dosing will be along soon!

Have a great night!!!

Amy
 
I really should post Wonton's picture, she looks alot like Trixie :-D
I will try to get more tests like you suggest, to test when I can. Just hope Wonton won't end up hating me. But I'm so glad she is responding.
Thank you, Amy, you've been so very helpful to me all along (((Hugs)))
 
We would love to see a picture of Wonton....it's practically a requirement!

She won't end up hating you...I guarantee it. She'll know you're helping her...it's a special bonding experience. It really is. Not to mention the treats...if you give her treats with every test, before you know it she'll come running at test time! I swear it's true...I didn't believe it at first, either, but it really is true!! When Trix hears me open the drawer where I keep supplies, she literally appears out of nowhere, then hops up on to the ottoman where we test her. I make a big fuss over her before and after the test, and follow up with treats...works every time!

LantusLand is a very special place...every one here helps eachother and leans on eachother. Keep asking questions...someone is almost always here!
 
I couldn't agree with Amy more!! Mid-cycle tests are hugely important. Are you home during the day to get any tests? You'll want to progressively start to shoot lower numbers BUT you've got to be able to test -- or at least get more than your pre-shot tests, even if it's a +1 so you have some idea of where the cycle is going.
 
I'm at work so unable to do mid-cycle unless it's a weekend. But I will try testing when I can, before bed,etc. I will aslo give more treats after testing so she associates something good with testing.
I also have a food question...Wonton was used to grazing on dry food whenever she wanted. What would be safe for her to graze on? I do put out frozen wet food during the day and at night, but how much is too much wet food? She currently weighs around 14 lbs. Is 2 cans of FF Classic a day too much?
I'm going to do a test now and head to bed.
Have a wonderful rest of the evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top