5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63, +4 60, PMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Hi guys. I've just been swamped with work lately, so its been a few days since our last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71332

Today's +3 for Mr. Orange is 46. He ate more after the test, and I'll get a +3.5 as soon as I'm done writing this - I think he'll come back up.

Hmmmmm.... based on his recent pre-shot numbers I don't think he's quite ready yet for another OTJ trial. I measure his current dose with the plunger in between the zero and .5 lines with one side of the plunger just touching each. I was just experimenting with some drop sizes for other doses. If I just squeeze the plunger in really tight while im inserting it into the pen then just release I get a drop about half the size of his current dose. I don't really see a difference in the drop size from that if I line the plunger up to edge of the zero line closest to the needle.

What do you guys think about the squeeze and release dose? Or should I keep him at his current dose? Or try the OTJ trial again? I'd prefer to keep giving him shots for a little while until I see some more consistent PSs in the normal range, but I'd like to hear what you guys think. :smile:

Thanks!
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46 - Dose Advice?

Julie

I do think he needs insulin longer. If you can draw that dose consistently, I would.

The only other option is to feed him a higher low carb food in the same amounts at the same time to try and bring up those mid cycle lows and flatten the curve so you can continue to give him the dose you are giving him now.
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63 - Dose Advice?

+3.5 = 63

Wow, I didn't expect him to come up quite that much! Maybe the reading was wrong at +3 and his current dose is ok?

I already feed him a 9% carb food, so I can't get much higher than that for LC :smile:

Also, he's more of a grazer so getting him to eat the same amount at the same time would probably be difficult. I put 1/2 can out with his shot and I make sure he eats 1/4 can right away. Then he picks on that for the next 1-3 hrs and I put the rest of the can out when hes done (or when I need to leave the house if its not gone by then). He usually finishes it by around +6, but once in a while I end up picking some up at +10 - never more than 1/4 can is left.
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63 - Dose Advice?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from us, but what nice numbers!! Maybe orange is not ready for another trial .. yet .. but he will be soon I'm sure! Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63 - Dose Advice?

You are a smart lady!!!! There's always been some thought that feeding a higher carb low carb food works really well for some kitties.

Hard to say on whether your test was right. Whenever I get an unexpected number, I immediately retest. If you think there was a strip issue, you could leave him at this dose but watch him closely. Or try to consistently draw the drop. You'll probably have to get there with him any way at some time.....
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63 - Dose Advice?

+4 = 60

Thanks Marjorie!

Yeah, it didn't surprise me too much to see a 46 at +3 - I was expecting the 50-65 range so that wasn't very much lower. Next time I see a <50 I'll remember to restest.

I *think* I'm going to try him at a drop tonight maybe? I have a some more time to think it over a little more before his PM shot.
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63, +4 60 - Dose Advic

Oh, and don't give me credit for the food - Orange picked it out! (and believe me, I tried a lot of them).

I've been trying out some lower carb foods as well - just a spoon every once in a while along with his regular meals. I think he's gotten more used to the wet food idea in general because he's shown some interest in EVO lately (which was a definite NO when we first started out). I don't think he'd be willing to eat that alone at this point, but I was thinking of incorporating more of it in his meal plan. I want to get him on a stable dose with stable numbers for a little while though before messing with his food.

I have heard that sometimes they do better on higher LC, so a switch would just be an experiment - not sure if it would end up making his numbers better or not!
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63, +4 60 - Dose Advic

I don't think I would switch if you are feeding 9%. That's almost at the top of the range of LC (10%). I'd try the reduction.
 
Re: 5/22 Orange AMPS 110, +3 46, +3.5 63, +4 60 - Dose Advic

I agree -- I don't think Orange is ready for OTJ. Keep in mind that you can use the "three times in the 40s" approach to warrant a reduction.

Also, if you're not already doing so, you could give Orange a small snack at +9. That may help his pancreas to kick in and lower your pre-shot numbers.
 
PMPS = 116

I went with giving him a drop.

If this doesn't work out then I'll go back up to 0.1 use the "three times in the 40s" approach. When do you usually switch kitties from once in the 40s = reduction to 3 times in the 40s = reduction? Since I can't always be home I'm really nervous about keeping him that low. I had to leave for a few hours today and I was worried sick about him the entire time!
 
It's not a matter of switching. It's an alternative strategy. We use a modified version of the TR protocol. The version that the German Lantus forum uses (aka the Tilly version) uses the 3 times below 40 principle for all of their dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top