5/26 Mr. Kink AMPS 168, ~172, ~204

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

So, I just woke up an hour late (WAH! @-)) and raced to get up and test him so I could feed and shoot, and just got an AMPS of 110! I tested twice to be sure, first was 119, then 110.

What do I do!?

I just read the protocol, but either a) I'm still asleep or b) I just don't get it.

If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100 mg/dl (2.8-5.6 mmol/L)

a. Feed cat and reduce the dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).


I just fed him, so should I just re-test in an hour? I know he's over 100, but not by much, so I'm scared to shoot!
 
Re: 5/26 Mr. Kink AMPS - 110 - to shoot or not to shoot!?

Okay, up to 168. I'm going to go ahead and shoot 1.25u, based on this option.

b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU (as above).
 
Re: 5/26 Mr. Kink AMPS - 110 - to shoot or not to shoot!?

Great shooting - woohoo! Be sure to get a +1 to see where he's going. You are going to be around to monitor and you have plenty of strips and high carb food? Your new shot time is 12 hours after this one, although you can move it up 30 mins per day (either 15 mins AM and PM or 30 mins either time).
Liz
 
Re: 5/26 Mr. Kink AMPS - 110, ~168, ~172

Anne & Zener said:
Great shooting - woohoo! Be sure to get a +1 to see where he's going. You are going to be around to monitor and you have plenty of strips and high carb food? Your new shot time is 12 hours after this one, although you can move it up 30 mins per day (either 15 mins AM and PM or 30 mins either time).

Thanks, Liz! Well, I wasn't PLANNING on being here today. I was actually supposed to drive an hour away and was planning to be back later, but Mr. Kink had other plans! I'm so happy to see blue numbers, I don't even caaaare. :mrgreen: So, does that mean I can move it up 1/2 hour tonight, or I should wait til tomorrow? Actually, I don't have any HC food - need to get some!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Actually, we really don't follow those guidelines. Splitting the dose can result in 2 nadirs. I'd refer you to Libby's post on dealing with low-preshots. (It's also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.)

GOTCHA. Thank you so much, Sienne. Figures those are the two stickies I hadn't read yet because I never expected to get a low AMPS so soon. But you said it - Mr. Kink is in charge, we're just along for the ride ;-)
 
Great shooting! I think you have also just experienced you first "Mr. Kink is reading his condo and don't want no stinking increase" phenomenon! It is amazing how you get to that 6 cycle point and, bam they suddenly start to respond. :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Ann & Tess said:
Great shooting! I think you have also just experienced you first "Mr. Kink is reading his condo and don't want no stinking increase" phenomenon! It is amazing how you get to that 6 cycle point and, bam they suddenly start to respond. :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

Thanks, Ann! LOL the "don't want no stinking increase" just cracked me up. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Looks like Mr. K may be starting a bounce from the lower numbers. Yay his liver is working! :roll:

You should have karo syrup and/or honey in your hypo kit. We tried feeding HC food (17%) for a while but then it was hard to get him back to his regular food (10%) so now we just add a drop of karo to his regular food when needed. It's good to try both and see what works for Mr. K.

You could move the shot up 1/2 hour tonight or wait until the morning. We stalled a few days ago and are in the process of moving the shot time up. We do it in the morning because the BG is higher then and an earlier shot is like a higher dose.

We have become totally unreliable since Zener was diagnosed. It's just too hard to make plans and then back out at the last minute, especially with my German heritage. :roll: :lol:
Liz
 
Good job, Caitlin.

I recommend you print off the stickys and keep them in a handy notebook....especially the "handling low numbers" and "dealing with low preshots"....I have both of them linked in my signature. That way, if you aren't already on the computer when you get a low number, you'll have them handy to refer to.

I agree...looks like Mr. Kink has decided to start a little bounce here.

Also...when you get a chance, if your questions are answered, can you please take of the "?". That way we know everything is ok :-D Thanks!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top