5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
[Saturday]

Happy Memorial Day weekend, LL!

Well, we've got another blue morning on our hands! And we even got a GREEN last night :mrgreen:

Just fed the babies, and going to test again in a few minutes, just to let his food kick in and then going to shoot. Still a bit nerve-wracking for me! But I bought some HC food, have Karo, have lancets, have strips, WILL TEST.

Mr. Kink and Angel celebrating his first green last night with a kitty kiss!
 

Attachments

  • kittykiss.JPG
    kittykiss.JPG
    107 KB · Views: 1,421
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS - 133 - it's another blue morning!

Congratulations for the green! Mr Kink & Angel's so sweet! He does look very gentle!
Have a nice weekend Caitlin!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS - 133 - it's another blue morning!

So, somehow he managed to get up to 244 in 45 minutes, so I just gave him his shot. And somehow I managed to prick myself with his needle. OUCH. :lol:

Do I update his SS with 244 as the AMPS now?
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS - 133 - it's another blue morning!

WOOT!! Welcome to the Green Addiction Club! the 113 is a great start to the day too! no bouncing yet! :-D

How long after the food and shot was the 244? It's probably a food spike. AMPS is the test just before the shot. Anything else is a +number, even if it is only half an hour , (then it would be +.5).
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS - 133/244

Thanks, Ann!

Wah, got some bounceage, though. Cmon Mr. Liver - work with me!!

The 244 was about 45 minutes AFTER food but BEFORE the shot. I was a little hesitant to shoot full dose at 133 without seeing a food spike. Maybe that was a bad idea, though. Since I know he spikes, I might as well have just tested, fed, and shot right away, and maybe avoided a bounce? Since the 244 was technically AMPS, I went ahead and updated my SS, even though we lost our blue start to the day. :roll:

Wondering where I should go from here doseage-wise? He was supposed to get a dose increase on Saturday, but that's right when we started seeing some action, so now I'm just wondering if we should stick with the 1.25u BID for another few days to see if the bounces level out?

Are there any strategies I can use to avoid bounces? I've started feeding him at +1, +2, and +3 and never after +4 on either end of the cycles.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Congratulations on your first GREEN!
And the kitty kiss picture is so cute :mrgreen: worthy of framing and hanging in your office, I think.

For the future, you don't want to feed in the last 2 hours before shooting your insulin. Otherwise you are shooting a food spike like you did today.
It could be dangerous. For instance; if his +12 is 110 and you feed him, and he goes up to 130 or 140 because you fed him, and then you shoot at +13, you won't know if you were really shooting a dropping number (which we don't advise newbies to do) because of the affect the food just had on his BGs. KWIM?

I think, since he got the green last night, that you can continue on this dose for a few more days. Let's see if anyone else has a differing opinion on that.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Hey Dyana! Thanks for the input.

I *think* I get what you're saying. So, this morning - it would have been a better idea not to shoot the 133 and just wait to see if it was a dropping number? I would have had to feed him this morning, though, anyway, right?

Sorry if I'm just turning the convo in circles - this whole under 200 AMPS thing is still very new for us!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

So, you stalled for about 45 minutes? I'd record the 133 at the actual + hours/minutes, also indicate in the preshot box that you stalled.

I usually get a +11 test and then the test for preshot is really about +11:45 since I have to get her food ready and draw the shot. I test first so I don't have the food (it's raw) and the syringe sitting around if I have to stall. Getting a +11 or a +10 test is a big help. then when you do your preshot you can see if the number is rising. If it is it is usually safe to shoot. I helps avoid that last minute panic if the number is low and gives you a chance to ask for advice too.

Take a look at Tess's SS on 3-8-12. I wanted to make sure she was surfing so I stalled for about half an hour. Three numbers that close together are basically the same so I felt safe to shoot.

What I want you to look at is how I showed all the tests. There are variations on how you do it, but try to get all the info on there. Also, anytime you have more than just a number in the cell you will have to manually color the box and text if it isn't black. There are 2 buttons marked "A" in the too bar, one is text color and one is background color. Select the cell, click the button and choose your color. :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Hi Caitlin....glad he got some nice numbers for you.

One thing I would caution you on is shooting a food spike. You should avoid feeding him between +10 and his shot unless he is below 50. If he's in the 40s at PS, we usually ask you to retest in 15 minutes to see if he's coming up and if he doesn't, then we would have you feed but then wait plenty of time after he's coming up so it is not food influenced. So remember...do not feed to bring a number up just so you can shoot it.

So...a better alternative today would have been to shoot the 133 if it was at +12. It's hard to tell from your SS but it sounds like you tested at +12, got a 133, fed, and then retested 45 mins later and shot? I know the 133 seemed low but he was not dropping...he nadired earlier so the 133 might have been a second dip. Also....you've shot a 168 at this dose and that is within meter variance of the 133. Once you shot, THEN you could feed to get the number up. See the difference?
We want you to learn to shoot lower numbers gradually so each time you get a number close to what you've shot before, you should shoot.....shoot low to stay low. If you are worried, post and let someone walk you through it. But do not feed in the interim.

The way to show you stalled (if that is what you did) is to go to the +11 column and put "133 @ 12" or whatever time you got the 133. Then in the AMPS, put "244 @ 12.75" or however late you shot.

I would leave him on the 1.25u right now and see what he does when he clears this bounce. He's shown he can get into green on it. We may decide later that he needs a dosecrease but I would hold the dose right now.

There's nothing wrong with bouncing....it shows that the liver is doing it's job. Things that cause bounces are fast drops and numbers lower than the kitty is used to. Fast drops can be controlled by feeding but you are already on a schedule that should help with the fast drops. Insofar as getting used to lower numbers....the liver just has to learn how to do it. Cats bounce until they don't and some cats won't quit bouncing.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Caitlin and Mr. Kink said:
it would have been a better idea not to shoot the 133 and just wait to see if it was a dropping number?

A dropping number is when you start at a higher number at PS and then it just keeps dropping all the way to the next PS. A second dip is when the kitty reaches nadir, comes up, and then goes back down close to PS but the number close to PS is usually not as low as the nadir. I think that is what you were seeing with the 133. So....the better idea would have been to shoot the 133 and then feed. See my above comments. I just saw your post and wanted to be sure one of us made sure you understand the concept.

On shooting dropping numbers.....this can work in your favor once you have data and if the dropping number is not too low. Let's say your data shows you that Mr. Kink gets a food spike at +1. Then you can typically shoot a dropping number before it gets too low too shoot because you know once you feed, he will come up. Again....we have to get you there gradually but that is the goal. Dropping numbers can give you some really nice overlap but you have to have the data and know when the number is dropping too fast or too low to shoot. We can help you with that, too, if you post.

One thing I notice is you need to get more +1 tests so you can see if he gets a food spike.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Information overload! (in the best way possible!) LOL. This is where my reading comprehension skills will come into play.

Ann - Yes. I tested at +12, got 133. Got nervous. Fed him ohmygod_smile, waited 45 minutes, and got 244 at +12:45, then I shot. Then he got fed at +1, +2.

Marjorie - Gotcha. I guess what is still confusing me is that I've always been holding fast to the test/feed/shoot routine. So, I think that's what confused me today. I always test, feed him right after, and then give him his shot right after he's done eating. So, if I'm following correctly - when it's a number >200, it's best to test, shoot, and then feed after waiting 30 minutes to test again? At that point in the AM, he hasn't had any food for close to 10 hours, so he's ravenous, but if that's what I'm supposed to do, I can definitely tune him out! LOL.

I'll definitely work on getting more +1's - I think it's time for a curve again, anyway, so I'll do one tomorrow! Trying to work on getting his other ear going, because I feel like his right one needs a break.

Thank you guys so much for your patience and explanations! Somehow it seemed easier when he was in pinks and yellows, but I need to step it up with these blues and greens!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

I used to get a lot of +11s in the morning. I don't know why I slacked off, I'll have to start doing that again.
Anyway, if you can get up and test at +11 or there abouts, then you can compare the +11 test to the +12 test and know whether he rising, dropping, or surfing along. When I have to be away all day at work, it helps me with any dosing decisions, and would help us to help you, too.

I always test, shoot, and then feed, but it's all within a few minutes. That's just my routine.

You can feed him more small meals throughout the day, if it works for your cat. I freeze 1/2 cans of FF in plastic containers and put them out to thaw in my cats bowls when I go to work, and I also have an automatic feeder set up to go off for another snack throughout the day. I'm just saying, then Mr. Kink wouldn't have to wait for 10 hours between meals.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Caitlin, thanks for stopping by Simon's condo today. Mr. Kink is such a cutie and the kiss picture is adorable. You are doing a fabulous job and you have lots of great advice today from the experts. I think giving this dose a few more days is a good idea.

Have a great evening from one Southerner to another!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Caitlin & Mr. Kink said:
...when it's a number >200, it's best to test, shoot, and then feed after waiting 30 minutes to test again

If you have a number that's higher than 200, I would not wait to feed. When I test, I'm shooting Gabby while she's eating. My entire test-feed-shoot takes less than 5 min. In fact, I think you should test, feed, shoot numbers that are 150 or above.

We try to have you work your way down to shooting green numbers. If you take a look at the subject lines on the Board, you'll see that many people are routinely shooting green. It takes a bit of confidence and we're happy to walk you through the process. (You always want to get a +1 and +2 when you're shooting your lowest number to date.)

Please remember that since you stalled for 45 min, you need to adjust your shot time tonight. You can shoot 15 min. early tonight and tomorrow at both AM and PM shot times.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Dyana said:
You can feed him more small meals throughout the day, if it works for your cat.

He gets 1/2 cans of FF at AMPS & PMPS and again at +1, +2 after both shots for a total of about 10.5oz/day. I got an automatic feeder, freeze cubes, etc. So that means he's going without food at night only.

Should I be trying to spread those oz out so he gets some at night? Like +7 and +9? That way he won't have eaten for 2 hours before I get up to test +11?

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you have a number that's higher than 200, I would not wait to feed.

Sorry - I meant LOWER than 200. Hit the wrong symbol. My usual routine is pretty much the same - takes about 5 minutes for the whole process, because he eats so quickly! So, rule of thumb - when over 200, test/feed/shoot as usual. When under 200, test, shoot...test again in 30 minutes, and then feed when the number is going down? Let me know if I got that right. Wouldn't I still feed him if the number went up? Or would that never happen?

Yep, got the adjustment down. I shot at 9am this morning, so I'll shoot tonight at 8:45pm.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Georgia and Simon said:
Caitlin, thanks for stopping by Simon's condo today. Mr. Kink is such a cutie and the kiss picture is adorable. You are doing a fabulous job and you have lots of great advice today from the experts. I think giving this dose a few more days is a good idea.

Have a great evening from one Southerner to another!

Thanks, Georgia! I feel so lucky to have all of this input. Don't know what I would do without ya'll. Hope you're stayin' cool today! Has to be just as sweltering down there as it is here. :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Caitlin & Mr. Kink said:
Sorry - I meant LOWER than 200. Hit the wrong symbol. My usual routine is pretty much the same - takes about 5 minutes for the whole process, because he eats so quickly! So, rule of thumb - when over 200, test/feed/shoot as usual. When under 200, test, shoot...test again in 30 minutes, and then feed when the number is going down? Let me know if I got that right. Wouldn't I still feed him if the number went up? Or would that never happen?
Umm, it should be more like "when over 200, feed and shoot as usual (you've already tested). When under 200, depending upon that number and your comfort level in shooting that number; either feed and shoot, or don't feed and post asking for advice and a hand to walk you through the process. Depending upon the PS number, you may want to test again in 30 minutes and feed her some more food. Again, you can ask for advice if her numbers are dropping".

I hope that helps.


Yep, got the adjustment down. I shot at 9am this morning, so I'll shoot tonight at 8:45pm.
Perfect!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

So, rule of thumb - when over 200, test/feed/shoot as usual. When under 200, test, shoot...test again in 30 minutes, and then feed when the number is going down? Let me know if I got that right. Wouldn't I still feed him if the number went up? Or would that never happen?

If you are shooting always feed. If you are going to stall the shot, don't feed until you test again and are ready to shoot. Unless the cat is under 50 and then just a little snack of LC to get back to the normal range. Usually for new members here we use 150, not 200 and even that isn't a no shot or stall number, it's a post now and get advice number. Just so there will be someone here to hold you hand through it a few times. That is why the +10/+11 test is so helpful. You know that even if the preshot is lower than you have shot before, if you see a rise you know that shooting is going to be safe. If you see a dropping number however, get more tests in and ask for help.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

GOT IT. I don't know why that took so long for me to wrap my head around, but I got it. Got it got it got it!

Thank you guys. So much.

Updated numbers for Mr. Kink tonight, and going to get a +1. Also, randomly, a girl I went to high school with saw a Facebook post I made with the photo I posted in this thread, and called me because her cat was just diagnosed! She's feeling very overwhelmed, and I'm bringing her to the board, so she can join this wonderful community :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Ann's post is right on target! The most important thing to remember is if you are stalling, DO NOT feed. Also, you may want to print out Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers. It's an excellent summary of your options and the pros and cons of each.

As for when to feed, we generally don't suggest feeding after nadir. If you feed late in the cycle (like at +8 or +9 -- you don't want to feed after +10), there's less insulin available to offset the effect of the food. This can result in higher pre-shot numbers.

Great job with helping out your HS friend. You know we're happy to lend a hand.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Caitlin, you're figuring this out very quickly. It took us a loooong time. :roll: :lol: Good for you for asking until it's clear. It's pretty nerve wracking the first few times you shoot lower numbers. Ok, it's always a little nerve wracking. :lol: You'll figure it out. Mr. Kink is a lucky guy.
Liz
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

I'm trying!! LOL

Alright, well, PM +2 and we're at 114 :) Looks like it's gonna be a blue/green night again tonight! If he's low again tomorrow morning, I won't stall again, but I will post back and let y'all know where his numbers are.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink AMPS 244, ~386, ~275 - where do I go from

Woohoo! Can you update the subject line of the original post to something like
5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114

Then everyone can quickly see whats going on with Mr. Kink this cycle. That's a big drop at +2. If that were Zener, we'd give him some extra carbs to slow that down and try to prevent a bounce. You'll have to try different things to see what works for you.
Liz
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114

Done, Liz!

I'm about to test him again in 15 min, so I'll update with that number and see where we are for +3.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Alright, we're at 84 at +3. Just gave him .75oz of Fancy Feast and I'll check him again in 30 min and update again. This is the lowest he's ever been!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Woohoo! And you get to use the Mr. Greenie icon since he's on the green floor! Don't over feed him because you want to keep him hungry in case he really goes low. Do you have karo or honey? You can put a drop or 2 on his food to give him extra carbs if needed. You'd really like him to surf now and stay about the same. I'm going to bed now but my partner Anne will be upon for awhile and can help you out. If you need help, be sure to put something in the subject line. Also, remember the sticky for handling low numbers in case no one is around. You're doing great!
Liz
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Caitlin...

Just checking in. That's a pretty big drop from PMPS to +3 so you want to stay on top of the testing. The goal is to give him a good amount of LC (two tsps) as soon as they hit green, test 30 mins later, and I'd he's still coming down, repeat. We call that lather, rinse, repeat.

You want to get him on a surfboard using LC ...save the HC and karo for low numbers. I'll be here for your next test so please post as soon as you get it, ok?

mr. kink is looking great! BTW...you might want to brew the coffee and get out the chocolate :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Thank you Marje! I'm glad you are on now. I'll be up for a bit but am no expert, other than cheerleading. :lol:

Mr Kink, you're lovely in your green suit. Now hop on your surfboard and don't scare your mamabean. :twisted:
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Thank you both!

Just tested at +3.50 and got a 99 after feeding him that LC. Good thing we didn't feed him too much! I fed him a 1/2 of a 1/2 of a can, just on instinct. So, I should be testing every 30 minutes?
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

Aaaarrggghhhhhh.... I guess I am trying to forget about the low number panic attacks. :lol:

Caitlin, you are doing great! Much better than we did the first time Zener got to green!
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84

It looks like his nadir might be around +5. I'd do another check in 30 mins just to see ifthe continues to go up, he surfs, or he comes back down . I'll check back in.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

amok...looks like he was just pulling your chain. I'd give him an hour, test, and if he's still coming up, you're probably ok to go to bed and maybe just get up after his normal nadir and make sure everything's ok?

Sound good? Great job...love how you did not get the normal newbie panic at first sight of low numbers :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

Little scamp. I'll check him in an hour - that would be his normal nadir, so if it's higher then, I guess we'll be in the clear!

LOL thanks. I had my panic moment this morning when I was wringing my hands over what to do. I definitely wouldn't be so calm right now if I was in this alone! Thanks so much for staying up with us. ~O) :thumbup
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

Nicely done, these first greens are always a rush. You did great! When is your nadir?
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

Thanks, Ann!

Honestly - I'm not really sure. I feel like his mid-cycle numbers are all over the place. I want to say +5, but sometimes it's +4 & +6. :?
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

It can change...that is hey I suggest you get up later...maybe +7 and be sure he is up Unless he's way up in an hour. If he is in the 200s in an hour, I believe you are safe.
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

Gotcha - I'll get his test in 30 min, go to bed, and set my alarm for +7.

My sister's definitely getting morning duty!

...unless, of course, we get another low AMPS. I suspect she'll come wake me up if that happens. :cool: @-)
 
Re: 5/28 Mr. Kink PMPS 306;+1 216;+2 114;+3 84;+3.5 99;+4.25

Got antsy and tested exactly at +5 - we're at 150 now. Whadda ya think? Go to bed and get up at +7?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top