2/23 Buster AMPS 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenben02

Member
I tested Buster a couple times last night and will do the same again this evening.

I tested Buster before he ate this morning and then an hour later for his AMPS. His level didn't jump in the hour that I waited. Not sure if that's normal or not. I was afraid to give him two units since the number was 121, so he only got one this morning.

Jennifer & Buster (meow)
 
Hi Jen


yesterday's thread:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7087&p=70833#p70833
please try to remember to link the previous day's thread, in case some of us have to backtrack to see what Buster did the previous day.



not sure if you have had the chance to read thru this stickie, from up above, New To The Group
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

but if u scroll down, you will find an example of a Typical Curve and what to expect during the cycle.
The +1 is normal, I've grab an excerpt and pasted it here for you (see +1 underlined)

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.


You'll want to be careful not to dose hop too much, there are good alternatives you can get help with when you're not certain what to shoot.

By the way, good job getting a few checks in last nite. You can also alternate some of those spotchecks, for example, a +3 would be your "onset" when insulin is kicking in, hope u can catch that one tonight.

If you need help with your AMPS and PMPS and are unsure what to shoot, just come on board and post for assistance, ok?
 
Welcome Jen and Buster! Loads to read around here!!!! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

P.S. Buster is gorgeous!
 
Usually there's not all that much of a change between +11 and your pre-shot tests.

It looks like you are gone for most of the AM cycle. Is there any way you can get a test in before you leave in the morning -- an 'out the door' test? It will give you some idea how the cycle is going. I'm hoping that you leave food out for Buster during the day.

I also noticed on your spreadsheet that your vet suggested you lower Buster's dose to 1.0u twice a day. It's also looking like you are getting AMPS numbers that you aren't comfortable with giving the 2.0u that you've been sticking with. Lantus works best if you stay at a consistent dose. I'm wondering whether it would be better if you decided on what was a dose you felt that you could shoot consistently. Let's see what others have to say.
 
Hi Jen! I don't know if I've said hello to you, so welcome!

We find that Lantus works much better if you give the same dose in the AM and PM cycles. I think you'll find that Buster's numbers will be more consistent if you pick a dose and stay with it for at least 3-5 days before changing it again. From your spreadsheet, it looks like 2 units is leaving Buster with numbers lower than you are comfortable shooting, so I would suggest going to 1 unit and holding that for at least 3 days to see what it can do.

Please read the stickies that Ronnie pointed out as soon as you can, it will help you understand what you're seeing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top