6/1 Champ PMPS 270, +2 210, +4 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Well, it's off to the vetty so Champ can get his pearly whites cleaned!! He started his day off really well. Because his AMPS was so low, I reduced his dose by more than half this morning to 0.5 (instead of 0.75) just to be on the safe side with the anesthesia. Keep Champ in your thoughts today please!!!
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Sending all kinds of good vetty vines your way! Good luck but I know he will do great.

Yes! on the sushi when I am there. Mason isn't a huge fan but plays along really well. :)
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Sending super good dental vetty vines for Champ today. Nice AMPS!!! Please let us know how he's doing!!

animal-graphics-cats-211899.gif
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Patty, thinking good thoughts and many positive Vetty vines for a good dental. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Thanks for visiting Maggie's condo last night and for your nice comments on her ss! :-D
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Hi guys .. great start to the day! Keeping you guys in my thoughts and prayers for an easy pain free stress free dental! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

I sent all the good thoughts i could today Patty and Champ! I hope everything went well and your boy is feeling ok.
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100, +7 449, +10.5 262

I'm finally able to sit down and give you all an update!! There was no wi-fi in the vet clinic so I couldn't use my laptop!!! Thank goodness I brought a good book because I couldn't do anything else. I hate trying to use my phone for getting online. Takes too long to type anything.

So, here's the info..... Champ came through his dental with flying colors!! He didn't need any extractions. He had a fair amount of tartar and a little gingivitis. One of his little bottom front teeth had apparently been broken off at some point in the past. The vet said the root is still there, but he carefully checked the x-rays and the gums surrounding that tooth and there was no reason at all to remove it. He said there was no reason to cause any trauma there when it's not causing any problems and hasn't started to decay in any way. I'm glad this is over and done with and there were no complications of any kind!!! I couldn't believe how many of the vet techs told me how much they love Champ, that's he's so easygoing and easy to deal with. He just lays there for them while they draw blood and do their thing!!! He makes me proud!!

When I got Champ home, he was like a drunken sailor on shore leave. He was still a bit unsteady on his feet, but he was full of energy and kept trying to jump up onto the coffee table or the sofa....and barely making it!!! So funny to watch. I was told to not give him any food and very little water until dinner and then to only feed him half of what he normally eats. Well, Champ was soooo hungry. Anytime I or Danielle would walk somewhere in the house, he would run to his dish, thinking we were going to feed him. I finally called the vet office and asked it I could please give him some food because he was so hungry (he only had a third of his morning meals) and I was told I could give him some food, but just a little bit at a time so he wouldn't make himself sick. He was one happy kitty!!! He does love his food. He's lost one ounce since his last visit at the vet's, but he still weighs a lot....18.6 pounds. His blood work is all good except his cholesterol is high at 312 (normal 82-218) and his triglycerides which are WAY high at 260 (normal 20-90). The vet said this is typical in diabetic cats and not to worry too much, just try to feed as low fat diet as I can. Champ's glucose was at 204 which, of course, is high, but not that bad when normal is 70-150. His AMPS was nice and low this morning and I'm pretty sure he would have bounced today into the high 200's even without the dental. At the vet's, his BG was in the mid 300's before the dental and in the 420's afterward. When I got him home, it was at 449. He had a small meal about 30 minutes ago, I just checked his BG, and it's already down to 262.

Thank you all for your thoughts and prayers today!!! When it comes to Champ, I worry so much when I probably don't need to, but he's my boy and I'd be lost without him!!!
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Wahoo...awesome report! I've been thinking about you guys all day!!! When Trix got home from her dental last year, I swear it was as if she'd been at Woodstock...she was sooo all about the luv :lol: !!!

Have a great night, guys!!
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

I kept checking, too, for an update and am so happy for you, Patty, that Champ did so well and no extractions! Do you brush his teeth. That is amazing! He sounds like an excellent patient, too, with the Vet Techs loving him. Wonderful news! Now you can relax tonight.
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

WOO HOO!!!! AND GO CHAMP! I just love successful dentals. I am so glad that all went well with Champ.What a relief huh.

Mannie says he is rounding up the KTSS and will be right over - gotta get that vetty smell off... a few a massages... a bowl of chicken soup.... and a chance to tell war stories. :lol:
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

That is great news!!! You only worry so much because you are a great bean and he is your main man. :-D Have a glass of wine and relax. You definitely deserve it. Big hugs to you Patty!
 
Re: 6/1 Champ 100

Hi Patty & Champ,
We are so glad that Champ's dental went well and are happy to hear that he is really enjoying his fuds this evening. Good boy, Champ! KTSS on the way!!

Enjoy the weekend, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/1 Champ PMPS 270

I'm glad that all went well.

Keep an eye on his numbers over the next few days. With the clean teeth, his numbers may drop!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top