6/1 Tidus Vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo link http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72182#p783067

Tidus is still at the vet. The good news is he did not have to go to 24 hour care and was responding well enough yesterday to stay over night at my vet's office. There is a question now of what is causing him to go from the extreme of being ok one minute and barely making it the next. This is the second episode he has had since last weekend that we know of.

My vet is questioning pancreatitis, IBD or triaditis syndrome. Venita is working diligently with my vet to figure out what the heck it is. There apparently was a question of testing his B12 in prior vet records but we don't know what the outcome of that was so my vet will be looking into that as well as other GI issues that can be causing his distress. At this point we are not even sure he is truly diabetic will all that is going on. Paws crossed that we get some answers today.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts and well wishes!
 
Sending more snowflakes and healing vines for Tidus, Jenn. I hope they figure it out soon.

animal-graphics-cats-848984.gif
 
Oh man I sure will keep you guys in my thoughts and prayers that you get the answers you are looking for today, and can get tidus back to feeling 100%!
 
So far no "conclusion". This morning he seemed fine, energetic and starving. By this afternoon he was projectile vomiting and had diarrhea again. So far test results don't tell much. With all the fluids he has received he's still somewhat dehydrated. His temp. is down to 100 (was 105). The vet ordered and abdominal ultrasound but won't be done until next thursday. He is staying overnight at the vet again :( will "maybe" come home tomorrow afternoon.

Can food be the cause? Venita and I were discussing what I should feed him when he gets back home. My vet was against 100% raw food for fear of "raw food related problems" (ie not prepared correctly) Is there another food anyone can recommend that would not aggravate his stomach? We were thinking with rice? His BG was in the 400's when he wasn't feeling well and went down to 189 as he started to feel better (no insulin has been given). We are thinking he might not even be diabetic.

Any other suggestions are welcome. I do believe my vet has IBD on the back burner.
 
Lots of healing vines to Tidus tonight. Perhaps you could try baby food? The kind that is just meat and broth (no onions in the list of ingredients). This would not be a balanced diet for a cat, but as a temporary measure it might help his stomach/digestive tract.

Thinking of you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Jenn,
My dad always used to make boiled rice and chopped beef for our dogs and cats when they were sick. They loved it and the rice is gentle and binding and when boiled the meat did not upset their tummies either. He boiled it together so the rice got the beef flavor. My dog ate it when I tried it but my cats are very fussy and wouldn't eat the rice. Tidus might like it though. Same as above - not a complete meal w/o taurine, etc but healthy and good for interim feeding.

I sure hope he feels better soon and the doctor figures out what's wrong and how to handle it.

Melanie & Racci
 
The US tech they use is away and will be in next on Thursday. I picked Tidus up about an hour ago and here is the protocol.

I have SubQ fluids to give everyday
metoclopromide 5mg 1/4 tab SID
metronidazole liquid 1ml BID
Clavamox liquid 1ml BID


He looks like when I first brought him home! What a turn around.


My vet still has no DX and says that if between now and thursday he declines then we are dealing with a much more serious issue.


He BG this morning was 90 and the past 2 days went only to 140ish. The first day he was there hie BG was in the 400's? So is he even diabetic?
 
A unique protein like rabbit is often recommended for food allergy issue, it could be that. Just sending more snowflakes and healing vines,

get-well-soon-friend.jpg
 
Sending lots of healing wishes to Tidus, and paws crossed he keeps going onward and upward - in his health, not his BGs. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • get well.gif
    get well.gif
    54.3 KB · Views: 607
miso00 said:
The US tech they use is away and will be in next on Thursday. I picked Tidus up about an hour ago and here is the protocol.

I have SubQ fluids to give everyday
metoclopromide 5mg 1/4 tab SID
metronidazole liquid 1ml BID
Clavamox liquid 1ml BID

Hi Jenn, Looking at your drug treatment list, Did the vet say why they prescribed the metoclopramide a.k.a. Reglan? This drug is often prescribed for nausea but it's only effectiveness is for nausea that is caused by poor gastric motility e.g. stomach emptying. Tidus has diarrhea and the Reglan could make it worse and still do nothing for the nausea. Reglan is very effective for nausea in dogs but not so much in cats.

If they want to treat for nausea, drugs like ondansetron (Zofran) and Anzemet are more effective.

Cerenia (maropitant) is highly effective at controlling vomiting and also has anti-inflamitory properties.

If the vets are looking to control vomiting - I'd suggest asking for Cerenia. If they are looking to control nausea, I'd suggest asking for ondansetron.
 
I do believe the "metoclopramide a.k.a. Reglan" was prescribed for nausea. I will ask the vet why he chose that. thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top