6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120,PMPS-156.+4-88

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72270
6/1-Racci-AMPS 122,+4-113,+6-123,PMPS-168

Today is the second day of Racci's decrease to 3U. She's starting out lower and I'm hoping she has lower bg's today. I may make it a fat dose if not and try that. She's been constipated but finally went this morning but on the wrong side of the box again even tho I cleaned it? Luckily she didn't step in it this time! I worry when she does things like this. It seems like she is forgetful sometimes. Her eyesight doesn't seem as good as it used to be either. The vet had said that was probably just age and she is about the age when they can start exhibiting those kind of behaviors.

Racci is eating great this morning and seems like she's trying to make up for the days she didn't want to eat. :smile: She had her 3 breakfasts this morning, but insisted I give them all to her. When DH gave her the early one, she walked away and came and woke me to 'fix' it! She wanted me to stir it, (it needed more water) and by that time it needed to be reheated! I was exhausted and took her back to bed with me but 2 hours later she woke me again for more food! I fed her, & again laid down for a little bit until my alarm rang. Would you believe she wanted to eat again? I gave her a tsp to hold her off till her meds and she ate after meds again! :lol: I guess the ab shot is working for her and the new decrease dose feels good.

Off to update the ss and feed the birds.
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,

Hi Melanie, I saw your comment in Gracie's condo about Racci's ears being sore. Have you tried neosporin with pain relief, ointment version? We often put that on Zener's ears after the last poke of the evening. It's amazing! He sometimes purrs through a poke and when we started, I NEVER thought that would happen.

Another suggestion is miralax for constipation. Start with 1/16 t morning and evening, mix with a little water then put on the food. Gradually increase until you get the desired results. :smile: Maybe you know all this but I just wanted to throw out these suggestions.
Liz
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,

Even with that hearty appetite, Racci is back to green! I wonder if she hit some green numbers last night, too?
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,

Hi Liz

Thanks for the good suggestions, but I already do both of those. :smile: I not only put the neosporin on afterwards, but first too. It sometimes helps, but sometimes she just seems to flinch no matter what I do. It makes me feel so bad.

As far as the constipation, it's chronic for Racci. She takes 1/4 tsp bid everyday but she has an infection now and is on ab's so I think that threw her off a bit. She also had blocked anal glands which might be the reason she wouldn't go. Hopefully the constipation has resolved itself now that her anal glands have been expressed at the vet's the other day. Every once in a while when she's sick she gets it despite the miralax. I have the same chronic problem so I can relate, poor baby! Having a bad back makes it hard sometimes.
Thanks!

Melanie
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,

Hi Sienne,

I was surprised to see a green also what with the way she was eating and the decrease, but that 2% Merrick BG doesn't seem to effect her glucose much at all! I wouldn't be surprised at all if she went green during the night. I really wanted to test her but I was having a really bad night. She didn't let me get any continuous sleep & my back & legs just had me crippled. I know she had to be green though or she probably wouldn't have been that hungry. I'm hoping tonight will be a better night but after no sleep last night I don't know.
I'd really like to see what she's doing at night with the new dose.
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120

Nice greens today! Great that she is eating well. Hope the Abs help. No one makes breffis like mama bean! Have a great night Melanie!
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120

I used to feel badly about the ear pokes too but finally decided that the pokes were well worth keeping Zener in better numbers and helping his internal organs. I also started giving him lots of petting and scritches so now he doesn't mind at all. He has anal gland issues too, including an impacted one last month. He sure felt better after that got cleaned out. Hope it helps Racci with the constipation.
Liz
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120

Great numebrs Racci, sorry for your other hurties--Hope it will be better tomorrow--But Look ZGREEN :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hugs & Love form us!
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120

Post by Melissa & Tarragon » Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:45 pm
Nice greens today! Great that she is eating well. Hope the Abs help. No one makes breffis like mama bean! Have a great night Melanie

Thanks, Melissa. The ab's are already starting to work. I can see the difference in her. She's been so nice and happy today. It's true that only momma has the touch for Racci. She's a real momma's girl and always has been. It's sweet but I wish she would let DH help more. :smile:

Post by Vyktors Mum » Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:49 pm
Go Racci what lovely numbers and yay for poos!!

Hey, Serynn, it's nice to see you. I've missed you. Thanks! Yay, Racci even made her poop after dinner tonight. She's finally getting back to normal! How's the little Vyktor boy doing?

Thank you all for coming to visit!

Hugs,
Melanie
 
Re: 6/2-Racci-AMPS-108,+3.5-88,+7-120

I used to feel badly about the ear pokes too but finally decided that the pokes were well worth keeping Zener in better numbers and helping his internal organs. I also started giving him lots of petting and scritches so now he doesn't mind at all. He has anal gland issues too, including an impacted one last month. He sure felt better after that got cleaned out. Hope it helps Racci with the constipation.
Liz

Liz, I'm sorry poor Zener goes through those anal gland issues too. It's so lousy for them. Poor Racci gets them blocked or impacted at least every 2-3 months. I saw a product advertised in one of the animal natural herbal online shops for anal glands in cats. Have you ever tried anything like that? I'm going to do some research on it and maybe try it.

I agree that it's a necessary evil to poke them. I always give Racci so many pets and so much loving that she doesn't find it a treat anymore. :lol: Since she's become an 'only' she's gotten very spoiled. It's a wonder that she's still so sweet. She does love when I sit and talk to her tho and tell her how wonderful and beautiful she is. ;-) She's really good for the whole testing and meds routine. It's so cute how she sits right next to me with her paws crossed and hanging over the edge like my little buddy. I don't know though, it's like everything bothers her more lately but today she felt good. The ab's have really started to work.

Hi Roni,

Yes, Racci actually got green on her new decrease dose right away! That was a surprise. Thanks for caring about all Racci's little hurties. They felt better today tho. She was a lot happier than she has been, Thanks!
Hugs,
Melanie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top